Book Notification

David Hair Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Aotearoa Books

The Bone Tiki (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Taniwha's Tear (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lost Tohunga (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Moontide Quartet Books

Publication Order of Olympus Trilogy Books

with Cath Mayo
Athena's Champion (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Oracle's War (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sacred Bride (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Return of Ravana Books

Pyre of Queens / The Pyre (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Swayamvara / The Adversaries (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Souls in Exile / The Exile (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
King of Lanka / The King (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Sunsurge Quartet Books

Empress of the Fall (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Prince of the Spear (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hearts of Ice (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mother of Daemons (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Talmont Books

The Burning Land (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Tethered Citadel Books

David Hair is a New Zealand author who has penned several fictional novels in the fantasy genre. He was born in Hawke’s Bay, New Zealand and currently lives in Auckland. He is married to his loving wife Kerry and is the proud father of two children, two children, a boy and girl named Brendan and Melissa. His interests include folklore, writing, history, and football.

David once worked in financial services and also has a degree in History and Classical Studies. From 2007 to 2010, he lived in New Delhi, India, but his home is Wellington, New Zealand. He is the author of multiple fantasy series and won the Best First Novel in Young Adult Fiction at the 2010 NZ Post Children’s Book Awards for his novel The Bone Tiki.

The Bone Tiki is a fantasy novel that is set in New Zealand and is his first book. It was published in 2009. The sequel to The Bone Tiki was his second novel, The Taniwha’s Tear, also set in New Zealand. His most popular book is Mage’s Blood.

David Hair has penned a total of three fantasy series in all. They are titled Aotearoa, The Return of Ravana, and The Moontide Quartet.

Mage’s Blood is the first book in The Moontide Quartet series and is followed by its sequel, The Scarlet Tides. The third and fourth book are titled Unholy War and Ascendant’s Rite, respectively. Mage’s Blood was published in 2012.

Mage’s Blood

Mage’s Blood is the first of four books in The Moontide Quartet. In this book, the Moontide Bridge is hidden beneath the depths of the sea. However, ever twelve years the tides receded and the bridge is accessible. For the Magi, the opening of the bridge has been a chance to lead armies over, since their ultimate goal is to rule that world. With the Moontide due to arrive, the people of the East are readying themselves for a fight.

The Leviathan Bridge was not always a path to war. For years, this was a place of trade and of prosperity and culture. But the Third Crusade is getting ready and the chess board is set. However, the three main characters of this novel have yet a part to play. The failed mage, the tired mercenary, and the market girl are about to enter into the plot and what they do may just have the power to change the world. The mage is named Alaron, the mercenary named Elena, and the market girl named Ramita.

Mage’s Blood has a world with two continents, one on the west and one to the east. Yuros is the Western continent, while the Eastern continent is named Antiopia. They are divided by a sea and only a bridge links them. The moon tide lasts for two years, but the rest of the time the continents are not linked. Urte is the name of this world, and the moon here covers half the sky and when you look up at the sky you can see wind ships sailing up there while magi who are given their magic divinely rule the earth. East and West are not just different in locations; they have different languages and colors.

This whole place revolves around the planning and preparation of the Moontide. Here, Moontide truly rules all, and its appearance and disappearance affect politics, rules, magic, and more. Pure bloods have more magical power, and the more blood you have that is magical the more powerful you will be as opposed to a half or quarter blood. There are four types of magic in this world: Thaumaturgy, Hermetic, Theurgy, and Sorcery. Mages have an affinity for one or more of these types.

Alaron is a Mage in training who is attending the Academy. He is a quarter-blood which means that he is not only likely to pass his exams but to also help his family out with money when he is done there. He has two friends with magical abilities as well named Ramon and Cym. Ramon goes with him to the academy and Cym is a gypsy who is taught by Alaron. However, when something bad happens to disrupt the odds of becoming a mage and passing exams, he doesn’t know what to do.

Elena is a mercenary known to many who works for powerful and politically influential man Gurvon Gyle. Elena has power too, because she has been working for Gurvon by spying on the royal family. She is not only smart but strong and has a varied skill set. Her character is ruthless too, being not only a spy but a great fighter and assassin as well. She would never betray those she loves but she ends up having to make some tough choices when faced with impossible situations.

The third main character is Ramita. She is a market girl who lives with her family and is the daughter of a well-off family. She is engaged with a boy named Kazim, whom she is in love with. They have always been comfortable and happy together, but an evil man comes to her father with a tempting offer that means Ramita will have to leave her home on her own. From there she must become more than just the sweet girl; she must become resourceful too.

The Scarlet Tides

The second book in the Moontide Quartet is called The Scarlet Tides. This book is set in the same world as Mage’s Blood and picks up where that book ended. Now the Moontide has arrived and Leviathan Bridge is open. The world is about to be at war as Rondian legions are flooding in a scarlet tide to the East, bolstered by the wind ships flying the Sacred Heart banner ahead of them and pillaging across Antiopia for Emperor Constant.

However, the Emperor has lost the Scytale of Corineus and the Inquisitors are searching both continents for this artifact that just so happens to be the source of all magical power. The failed mage Alaron, the gypsy Cymbellea, and Ramita the former market girl are working to fulfill their vow of restoring peace to Urte. The world has been at war before, but when different factions move from the shadows, everyone is about to discover what their secret weapon really is and how to save Urte.

Book Series In Order » Authors » David Hair

Leave a Reply