Book Notification

David J. Walker Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Mal Foley Books

Fixed in His Folly (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Half the Truth (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Applaud the Hollow Ghost (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
No Show of Remorse (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Wild Onion Ltd. Books

A Ticket to Die For (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Beer at a Bawdy House (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
The End of Emerald Woods (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
All the Dead Fathers (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Too Many Clients (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Towman's Daughters (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

David J. Walker is an American author of crime, mystery and thriller novels. He is the author of the Wild Onion Ltd. Series and the Mal Foley series. His standalone books include Saving Paulo and Company Orders, published in 2008 and 2012 respectively. Company Orders features a priest as the protagonist who discovers the impossibility of living love rather than preaching it. The author was shortlisted for the Society of Midland Authors award for Best Novel category. He was also nominated for an Edgar Award and won several Lovie Awards, notably in 2012 for the Best Private Eye Series category. David is a member of the Private Eye Writers of America, served on the Board of Directors of Mystery Writers of America and has been a judge for both Shamus and Edgar awards.

David J. Walker lives in Chicago. He’s worked as an investigator with the Chicago PD, a parish priest, and an attorney. He’s currently a full-time writer living with his wife.

The Last Page is a novella collaboration between Libby Fischer Hellman and David J. Walker. Immediately the novel opens up, we learn of Barbara Adams death from a heart attack. She was the director of Windbrook Library. Her death didn’t stir much sorrow among her colleagues due to her distant and often harsh demeanor. Barbara wasn’t known for having many friends due to her blunt and rough personality.

Despite her usual solitary nature, Barbara did consider Mavis Fairbanks a friend. In the days leading up to her unexpected passing, Barbara had tried to reach Mavis by phone without success. She also wrote an email to Mavis, expressing the need for an urgent meeting. In the email, Barbara hinted at discussing a matter of great importance that she feared could have serious and negative consequences for her. This unfulfilled attempt to communicate and the nature of her message left a veil of mystery and potential implications behind. Sparking curiosity and questions among those who knew of it.

A bizarre email addressed to Mavis Fairbanks is discovered while Barbara Adams’ belongings are being sorted out at the library following her death. One IT staff forwards this email to Mavis, but it’s Julia, Mavis’s daughter and a law student, who becomes intensely interested in its contents.
Julia finds the tone and message of the email sufficiently mysterious to investigate the possibility of a link between the email and Barbara’s sudden death. As she delves deeper, Julia starts to suspect that Barbara’s death might not have been due to natural causes. However, she faces hurdles in her quest for the truth. Barbara’s colleagues, not being particularly close to her, offer little assistance, and the police have already concluded it was a natural death.

Determined to uncover the truth, Julia enlists the help of JJ, the library caretaker, who also suspects foul play in Barbara’s demise. Together, they embark on a mission to identify potential suspects and unravel the mystery. Their investigation, however, draws the attention of the killer. In a dramatic turn of events, Julia finds herself trapped in the library, alone and face-to-face with the murderer. This dangerous situation tests Julia’s courage and determination as she seeks to expose the truth behind Barbara Adams’ death.

In Too Many Clients, the fifth in the Wild Onion Ltd. Series, we are introduced to a unique and charming couple, both wise and witty in their ways. It’s a common belief that the marriage of characters in stories might lessen the excitement of their relationship, leading readers to look elsewhere for entertainment. But this couple proves to be an exception. Their marriage doesn’t diminish the intrigue or humor in their interactions; instead, it adds depth and relatability that keeps the readers engaged and interested in their journey together.
Kirsten, a private investigator, and her husband Dugan, an uber-relaxed lawyer, find themselves in a complicated situation. Kirsten takes on a new role as her husband’s client when a corrupt police officer is found dead. Dugan, known for his lack of caution, unknowingly gets involved in the case, making himself a suspect.

Dugan is an unusual character for a crime fiction novel. He isn’t the typical, intense lawyer one might expect. However, his quirks don’t make him any less central to the story. Then there’s Larry Candle, Dugan’s colleague. Larry is a partner in the law office, but he hardly seems like the ideal lawyer for serious legal matters, perhaps only suited for minor issues like parking tickets. Despite this, Larry has a knack for getting the job done, even though he annoys almost everyone around him. These unique characters bring a distinctive flavor to the story, making it a refreshing tale from typical crime fiction stories.

Soon, Dugan and Kirsten find themselves taking on more clients, all linked by a common request: to find the killer of the corrupt police officer. The couple starts to suspect these new clients might not be entirely innocent. Meanwhile, the police are steadily focusing on Dugan as their prime suspect. The deeper Kirsten delves into the investigation, the more complex the story becomes.

In Company Orders, David J. Walker draws from his experience as a former Catholic priest and sets the novel against a seminary backdrop. The story revolves around Father Paul Clark, whose life spirals into chaos after witnessing the murder of his friend. Father Clark’s world darkens further when a woman claiming to be from the government offers to help him. Clark spends much of the novel grappling with whether to trust her, a dilemma that leads him on a perilous journey to South America. Amidst this turmoil, a young man enters Clark’s life, challenging his beliefs and convictions.

Paul Clark’s character is portrayed with authenticity and depth, making him a relatable and convincing protagonist. Despite his unique position as a priest, Walker diffuses Clark with compassion, conscience, and moments of faith crisis, allowing readers to empathize with his struggles deeply. His portrayal of Chicago adds another layer to the novel. The city’s gritty and atmospheric streets serve as the backdrop for Clark’s desperate attempts to escape danger, bringing the story to life in the reader’s mind. Company Orders is a strong entry in the mystery genre, with its well-developed characters and vivid setting.

Book Series In Order » Authors » David J. Walker

Leave a Reply