Book Notification

David Johnson Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Hope Books

Publication Order of Ransom Books

Publication Order of Tucker Books

An Unexpected Frost (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tucker's Way / For Tucker (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
April's Rain (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
March On (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Who Will Hear Me When I Cry (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Toby (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Woodcutter's Wife (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Last Patient (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Second Chance Love (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Navigating the Passages of Marriage (With: David R. Johnson) (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Where Is God When I Can't Find Him? (With: David R. Johnson) (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

David Johnson is an American author known for writing books with heart. His writing has earned praise for the strong, unforgettable characters in the lead. The characters come from humble backgrounds and the stories see them put into the unexpected turns of everyday life that test their mettle.

Johnson is best known as the author of the Tucker series of books. The series began in 2012 with the release of Tucker’s Way. The series follows a woman named Tucker who has been through an rough past who seeks refuge in her Tennessee home. Her life, and that of her new neighbor, is changed forever when Ella moves in next door. The series has been very successful with over 500,000 copies sold.

In addition to his work as a writer, Johnson is a full-time Marriage and Family Therapist. He also works as the director of a community chorus that performs all across the Southeast. The chorus performs fifteen shows a year with Johnson directing. David is married and his been with his wife for over forty years. The couple have two daughters and many grandchildren. When David is not writing or working, he enjoys camping with his wife and enjoying nature, spending time in the woods.

Tucker’s Way is the book that started it all. The book introduces us to Tucker who is seeking refuge in her rural Tennessee home. She had dealt with a rough childhood with horrific abuse and crushing poverty, but is now trying to make it through. She is raising her three grandchildren and the kids are her only connection to the outside world. She is purposefully rough in her demeanor because she has had to be throughout her life in order to get by. Everything will change when a new neighbor moves in named Ella.

Ella has just overcome cancer and is seeking solace on the country road. She is roughly the same age as Tucker, but her life couldn’t have been more different as she was raised in a world of privilege and opportunity. One part of her life was the same though and it’s one that neither would wish on anyone else, they both were the victims of abuse. Ella’s husband was the culprit in her abuse. He is a prominent judge who Tucker’s considers to be her enemy.

Now, Tucker is at risk of losing custody of her youngest grandchild and the child’s mother is murdered. Tucker is then able to draw strength and support from Ella. The two women come from different worlds, but they find themselves forming a strong bond which will carry them through life’s storms together.

An Unexpected Frost is the second book in the Tucker series. Tucker has finally started trusting others and formed a friendship with Ella, as well as Smiley Carter, another friend. The three one women support each other and care for Tucker’s grandchildren. Things are starting to go well in her personal life when Tucker’s grandson goes missing. Making matters worse, the bank is now threatening to foreclose on her farm. As if that wasn’t enough on her plate, Ella is then diagnosed with lung cancer. God has never seemed further away from Tucker, but she’ll need to find her faith if she hopes to get through this.

The Ransom series begins with Ransom’s Law. Roscoe Ransom makes his return home from World War I with a broken body and spirit. He now spends his days drowning his pain in a bottle of whiskey. The drinking can’t numb the agony of the loss of his wife and the fear of raising his son alone. He is given a job as town sheriff, mostly out of pity after returning from the war, and suddenly has a big case on his hands as a black man in their tiny community is murdered and castrated.

His son Junior is eleven years old and wants his father’s love and attention. Instead, he gets it from Willow Muscadine, a Cherokee Indian woman, who lives next door. The boy starts to look for the killer that his father can’t and Willow makes the decision to become his protector in his search. The boy soon realizes that the murder was not random, but as he asks questions, things get dangerous for him. The threat to his family could be the thing to get Roscoe out of his misery. If it doesn’t, it could cost him everything.

Hope’s Way is the first book in The Hope series. Hope Rodriguez has made some bad choices in her life and finds herself living with her parents in public housing in New York. Her life gets a whole lot worse when her parents are killed in the 9/11 terrorist attacks. Hope becomes worried that social services will take her child away and makes the decision to run as far away as she can. She ends up in Paducah, Kentucky and builds a new life. By the time her daughter is sixteen, Hope has her life together with a good job and boyfriend. Then a tragedy strikes when her daughter takes her life and she is rocked to her core. Her search for answers is the only thing that is keeping her going until she meets a man named Michael, a tortured soul in conflict with who he is and who he wants to be.

Second Chance Love is another book by David Johnson. Meghan and Cross each had their marriages go down in flames and blamed themselves for the failures. They have chosen to be single as punishment. However, their parents have different ideas about what the future holds for their children. The two meet on day and sparks fly between them, even as they try to throw water on the flame. Luckily, their parents are there to keep it going strong. Nothing will happen between the two until their parents, Grace and Harlon, resolve the wounds from their own failed love affair in the past.

Book Series In Order » Authors » David Johnson

Leave a Reply