Book Notification

David L. Robbins Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of WWII Books

Publication Order of Mikhal Lammeck Books

The Assassins Gallery (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Betrayal Game (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of USAF Pararescue Books

The Devil's Waters (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Empty Quarter (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Devil's Horn (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of The Promised Wars Books

Isaac's Beacon (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Shortest Road (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

David Lea Robbins was born on March 10, 1954 in Richmond, Virginia. David is the son of Sam and Carol Robbins who were both veterans of World War II. This is likely the inspiration of his historical fiction novels he is so well known for. In 1976, David graduated from the College of William and Mary with his Bachelor’s of Arts Degree in Theater and Speech. He then continued his education and received his Juris Doctorate from the College of William and Mary in 1980, and in order to pay off his college debt to his father David practiced environmental law in Columbia South Carolina for just two weeks shy of a year. He then began his career as a freelance writer in 1981 and wrote his first novel, Souls to Keep, in 1990.

Since his first novel, David has written nine more novels as well as continuing his freelance writing career. His hobbies also include guitar playing, sailing, shooting sport clays, weightlifting and traveling for research. David is the founder of James River Writers in 2002, a non-profit organization set up to help aspiring writers in Richmond, Virginia. To help the high school students in Richmond, Virginia, David is also co-founding the area’s Podium Foundation. He is also an advanced creative writing instructor at the College of William and Mary in Richmond, Virginia where he currently resides.

Souls to Keep

Published June 1, 1998 by HarperCollins Publishers, Souls to Keep tells the story of Virgil and Bea, a soul who feels she was deprived a good life. Bea decides to take the body of Virgil’s wife, Ellen, to have the life she had always wanted. Ellen, however is not willing to give up her body or her husband without a fight.

War of the Rats

Published in June of 1999, War of the Rats tells the story of two highly-skilled snipers in a battle to the death. Taking place in the deep, dark trenches of a ruined city in 1942, this story depicts the epic battles of the Germans and the Russians during World War II.

The End of War

Published in May of 2001, The End of War takes place in the last few months of World War II. This story goes in depth on how life was like for those who lived it, from the innocent and struggling bystanders of the war to the giants among men who reshaped history.

Last Citadel

First published in August of 2003 and then in April of 2004 by Bantam, Last Citadel takes its readers back in time to World War II days. It tells the story of how the Berko family, Private Dimitri Berko a tank driver, Valya his son, a communist soldier who issues his father’s orders, and Katya his daughter, flying with the Night Witches, try to fight and survive Hitler’s forces. The family is torn apart just like their very home of Russia in this epic battle; The Battle of Kursk in 1954.

Scorched Earth

Published in March of 2003, Scorched Earth, tells the story of how when newborn Nora Carol dies in her mother’s arms at birth she is buried in the church graveyard. Appalled by her mixed race, the White deacons of the church have her body exhumed. That night the church is burned to the ground, and Nora’s father, Elijah, is blamed. After finding a body in the ashes of the church the town also accuses Elijah of murder and the only one who stands between him and death is his attorney, Nat Deeds.

Liberation Road

Published in October of 2005, Liberation Road, tells the story of how three very different men’s fates collide during World War II. Joe Amos Biggs is a “colored” truck driver battling to be seen as an equal amongst his fellow soldiers and determined to hit his mark. Rabbi Ben Kahn, is an older chaplain in the 90th Infantry searching for the truth about his son’s death. Chien Blanc, or White Dog, is an American traitor living off of the spoils of the black market.

The Assassins Gallery

This suspenseful novel was first published in January of 2006 and then again in June of 2007. It tells the story of Mikhal Lammeck, a professor who specializes in the history of weapons and assassins. Lammeck is recruited by the Secret Service to investigate a gruesome double murder and suicide and prevent the assassination of the United States’ President. His journey takes him to Massachusetts where he must stop this ruthless female assassin, who kills ease and accuracy.

The Betrayal Game

Published in January of 2008, The Betrayal Game continues the story of Mikhal Lammeck in Robbin’s first ever sequel novel. In this chapter, Lammeck finds himself caught between Cuban leader, Fidel Castro, and the American CIA plotting to kill him. Throughout his journey, Lammeck eventually becomes the mentor, though he would rather not be, of a young sharpshooter returning to Cuba and determined to become the “ultimate assassin.”

Broken Jewel

Published in November of 2009, Broken Jewel tells the ultimate tale of love in the harshest of environments. Tal and Filipina, both captives in a Japanese prison camp fight to stay alive and fall in love with each other from a distance. Tal, raised in the camp, is a nimble thief, and Filipina is a woman who is forced into sexual slavery to service the Imperial Japanese Army.

With the help of his father, Remy Tuck, Tal attempts to escape with his comrades and rescue Filipina from a life of sexual servitude.

The Devil’s Waters

Robbin’s most recent novel, published in November of 2012, takes its readers on a modern day pirate adventure. When Somali pirates, led by the ruthless Yusuf Raage, hijack a freighter in the Gulf of Aden that holds secrets capable of bringing down the governments of four nations, the United States Air Force Pararescue Unit, or PJ’s, is called into action. The team is guided by Sergeant LB DiNardo who is still aboard the freighter. Hiding in the shadows, DiNardo is tasked to provide information on the pirates to the PJ’s without getting caught. His life is in the hands of his fellow comrades who only have one hour to take down the pirates before the United States Air Force bombs the freighter with DiNardo on it.

Book Series In Order » Authors » David L. Robbins

Leave a Reply