David Mack Books In Order

Publication Order of Dark Arts Books

The Midnight Front (2018) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Iron Codex (2019) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Shadow Commission (2020) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Kabuki Books

Skin Deep (1999) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Metamorphis (2000) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Kabuki (2001) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Circle of Blood (2001) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Masks of the Noh (2001) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Dreams (2002) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Scarab (2002) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Alchemy (2009) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Daredevil Books

Parts of a Hole (2002) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Wake Up (2002) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Daredevil (2003) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Echo-Vision Quest (2004) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Star Trek: Discovery Books

Desperate Hours (2017) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Calling (2009) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Graphic Standalone Novels

Daredevil: End of Days (2013) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Dream Logic (2015) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Author David Mack is a science fiction, fantasy, and adventure author, and known for writing freelance “Star Trek” novels. His work spans different media; which include: film, comics, and television. Mack has also written some short stories as well.

He went to Tisch School of the Arts, which is at New York University, where he did his undergraduate work from the year 1987 until 1991. It was here that he majored in screenwriting, film and television production; he also wrote for The Plague, which is a comedy magazine that the students put together. He lives in New York City with his wife, who is named Kara.

He sent in spec scripts for “Star Trek: The Next Generation” and “Star Trek: Deep Space Nine”, and the early ones got rejected. After that, he teamed up with an editor working at Pocket Books (in their Star Trek department), his name was John J. Ordover.

They were able to combine Ordover’s ability to arrange a pitch meeting with the producers of the shows with Mack’s ability to write scripts. They were finally able to make a sale to “Star Trek: Voyager”, although the story was not produced. A script they pitched was bought, and this time used, for an episode of “Star Trek: Deep Space Nine”, which aired during its fourth season. During this meeting, an episode that they pitched was bought three years after the meeting. It served as the basis for an episode that aired during the seventh season; the pair got a story by credit.

Some of David’s influences include: T. S. Eliot, Richard Brautigan, Neil Peart, and Ray Bradbury.

“Gods of Night” is the first novel in the “Star Trek: Destiny” series and was released in the year 2008. Five years after the end of the Dominion War, and after Praetor’s rise and fall, and the galaxy’s largest scourge comes back to unleash havoc on the Federation. Its goal this time, is nothing short of full annihilation.

Deep in Gamma Quadrant, there is an ancient mystery that gets solved. One of the first generation star ships Earth ever made, is found dead and empty on a planet that is also empty. Being found a long way from its home raises up some disturbing questions. The answers have to do with a struggle to survive that tested the ship’s captain and the crew to their limits. It put to the test of their own humanity.

Here is one of the best Star Trek writers to ever pen one of the novels in David Mack; they have a human element and he does a great job at making even the largest casts exciting. Fans found this to be one of the best Star Trek novels out there, as it shows how the Borg started up. Some cannot wait to see where things go from here. Fast plotting, and this is a story where everything is connected by the end.

“Mere Mortals” is the second novel in the “Star Trek: Destiny” series and was released in the year 2008. On planet Earth, the Federation President, named Nanietta Bacco, gets all the allies and foes together. The plan is to form a final defense against a Borg invasion that will happen soon. In the deeper part of space, Captain Ezri Dax and Captain Jean-Luc Picard team up so that they can cut off the Collective’s path to Alpha Quadrant.

Captain William Riker and his crew on the Starship Titan are a half galaxy away, and have made contact with Caeliar race. They are reclusive survivors of a huge cataclysm, which two centuries ago created fissures through space and time’s structure. This created an inevitability loop, making a captain and crew live a life of purgatory where they can never escape.

The heavily advanced Caeliar is going to allow no more intrusion on the isolation they have had or on the sacredness of The Great Work they have been doing. The mere mortals’ finite and tiny lives do not have much weight when the gods are calculating. Gods, too, may even understand that they have been underestimating humans, which will only be to their own peril.

This is an amazing and highly entertaining story that will be hard for readers to put down. Fans of the novel felt this to be the best of the trilogy; it makes things more and more tense, while getting ready for the strong finale. This novel did not disappoint, it is full of action, and you get to see Erika Hernandez after eight centuries living with the Caeliar. So far, the books have gotten better, and readers hope this continues with the final book in the series.

“Lost Souls” is the third novel in the “Star Trek: Destiny” series and was released in the year 2008. Armageddon’s soldiers start marching, and destroy worlds when they go by. A difficult plan is formed to try and stop them, but the risks involved are too much for one captain to take. Jean-Luc Picard feels that the future’s defense is the most personal and important thing, and making the wrong choice will cost him all that he has worked hard for.

William Riker has already made up his mind. He is haunted by those he had to leave behind him, and he will put it all at risk to save the Federation.

Captain Ezri Dax feels the choice is simple. No going back, but only forward, off to the future that waits for them. Whatever that may be. For Dax, his youth is balanced by the wisdom that comes from living many lifetimes.

Those that had no choice, millenia ago, this is where they face their final destiny.

This trilogy is a strong work of fiction, and it is vital for those enjoy the series and movies. It has a great story, awesome characters, a lot of space battles, and some neat plot twists. Fans of the novel felt this was a fitting end to an awesome trilogy. What a great way to spend your reading time, as it is representative of what Star Trek does well. Some felt that this was the best of the trilogy, and that it did not disappoint, which is something that is true of all the books in the series.


Book Series In Order » Authors » David Mack