Book Notification

David Mark Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Cordelia Hemlock Books

The Mausoleum / The Burying Ground (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Whispering Dead (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of DS Aector McAvoy Books

The Dark Winter (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Original Skin (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sorrow Bound (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Taking Pity (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dead Pretty (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cruel Mercy (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Scorched Earth (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cold Bones (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Darkness Falls (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Bad Death (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fire of Lies (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Past Life (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blind Justice (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Flesh and Blood (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Burning Time (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Darkness Falls is a prequel to the series.

Publication Order of Nicholas Roe Books

Blood Money / The Guest House (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Lakeland Trilogy Books

Still Waters / Into the Woods (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Sal Delaney Books

When the Bough Breaks (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

David Mark is one of the most popular authors from The United Kingdom, who has written several highly successful books in the crime, mystery, and thriller genres. He is particularly famous for writing down the Aector McAvoy crime series. Before beginning his writing career, author Mark used to work as a journalist and spent around 15 years in the field. For the first seven years, he was associated with The Yorkshire Post as a crime reporter. He used to keep walking on the Hull streets very often in search of the reports of crime. Eventually, the region went on to become the setting for the plots of the novels written by author Mark in the Aector McAvoy series. The writing style of author Mark is very much influenced by the number of court cases that he covered during his journalist career. He also studied the jaded and defeatist police officers, the investigators who were both competent and incompetent according to the situation.

The other things that influenced author Mark to write his books include the inertia of England’s justice system as well as the sheer and raw griefs of the ones who were touched by the tragedy and the savagery of the system. Author Mark was born and brought up in Carlisle, The United Kingdom. With the help of his determination and dedication, he made use of his previous career of journalism to develop his new career in the field of writing. Author Mark began his writing career with a few stories initially and then went on to become a full time writer. Eventually, he became one of the international bestselling novelist in the crime and mystery genres. As of today, he has written a total of 6 books in the Aector McAvoy series. This series also contains a short novella, which is available in the form of an ebook. One of the novels of the Aector McAvoy crime series, known as the Dark Winter, was selected by the panelists of the Harrogate New Blood award as well as for a Richard & Judy award. The novel also became one of the Sunday Times bestselling novel after its release. Currently, author David Mark lives a happy life in Lincolnshire, England, along with his wife, a couple of kids, and a small group of pet animals.

The novels of the Aector McAvoy book series written by author David Mark were published between the years 2012 and 2016. All the books of the series feature the main lead in the form of Detective Sergeant Aector McAvoy. One of the initial books in the series is titled as ‘The Dark Winter’. This book was released in the year 2012 by the Blue Rider publishers. At the beginning of this novel, Aector McAvoy is introduced as a Detective Sergeant, along with a few other exciting characters. At the beginning of the plot of this book, DS Aector McAvoy is depicted as letting his mind drift back to the bloodshed and chaos in the square. On one occasion during the chaos, Sergeant Aector McAvoy comes across a masked man entering through the doorway of the church. The man comes straight to McAvoy, looks into his eyes, and then heads back away into the darkness. Aector McAvoy’s friend Nielson asks him if this was distinctive about his encounter with the masked man and he replies that the eyes of the man were filled with tears.

In the next sequence, author Mark has described Aector McAvoy to be a man suffering from a troubled past. Due to his unwavering belief in the system of justice prevalent in England has caused him to become an outsider in his own police force where he serves. Soon, DS McAvoy comes to know that three different and seemingly unconnected brutal murders have taken place in the city, just a few weeks before the festival of Christmas. Due to the extreme pressure from all sides, DS McAvoy and his police force are required to work out a way quickly to stop more killings from taking place in the city. And this can only be possible if they become successful in hunting down the killers. When Aector McAvoy studies about the all the three cases in detail, he becomes successful in establishing a rare connection between them. He becomes certain that there is only killer who is thinking himself to be a God and doing the killings in the name of offerings to himself. Now, Detective Segeant McAvoy is required to find a way very quickly in order to stop the killer’s deadly game and prevent him from taking the lives of other victims.

The next installment of the Aector McAvoy series written by author David Mark was released under the title ‘Original Skin’. It was published in the year 2013 by the Blue Rider publication. This book was the follow up of the international bestseller of the suspenseful and wholly original Aector McAvoy series written by author Mark. The primary characters depicted in this book include DS Aector McAvoy, Suzie, Simon, and Peter Tressider. As the plot of this book begins, it is shown that Suzie and Simon are among the pleasure seekers of the city who are mostly defined by the style of the flamboyant tattoos on their bodies. Peter Tressider is described as a politician who is very much desperate to reach to the top, on a fast track. Also, there is Detective Sergeant McAvoy, who is a policeman by profession and seems to be suffering from his own scars from the past which appear on his body as well as on his career. In the plot of the book, each of these men are marked in their personal ways. As the plot progresses, all the men get branded by one and the same sinister enemy. Overall, the book appears to be a crime novel which goes on to leave a permanent impression on the minds of the readers. It looks like a half gritty procedural of the police and half thriller about a serial killer. Author Mark has said that the book’s plot very well examines the imprints which is left upon us by our own darkest sins. It also shows the level to which people seem willing to go in order to keep their dark sins covered. The success of this book allowed author Mark to receive a lot of motivation for writing his other books in the crime series. It also made him a popular author and helped him to establish himself as one of the noteworthy novelists.

Book Series In Order » Authors » David Mark

One Response to “David Mark”

  1. Ms Paulene Ann Blazey: 2 years ago

    There are depths to the character McAvoy not usually found in crime drama which add to the stories lifting them out of the run if the mill crime drama. Highly recommend the McAvoy series.
    Very talented author.


Leave a Reply