Book Notification

David Nees Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of After the Fall Books

Publication Order of After the Fall: Catherine's Tale Books

Catherine's Tale, Part 1 (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Catherine's Tale, Part 2 (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Dan Stone Assassin Books

Payback (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Shaman (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Captive Girl (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Assassin and the Pianist (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death in the Congo (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Scorpion (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rogue Mission (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Revenger (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Orphan Girl (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

David Nees is an American author who was born in 1944. He resides in Sterling, Virginia. Between 1962 and 1966, he attended Ohio Wesleyan University—he has a bachelor’s degree in psychology. From 1966 to 1968; he studied at the Springfield College, where he earned his master’s degree in education.

Between 1968 and 1972, David Nees worked as a teacher in Fairfax County, Virginia. Nees operated his own businesses from 1972 to 2013. For instance: from 1972 to 1999, he operated a motorcycle dealership called Cycle Sport Unlimited, Inc. Between 1985 and 2013; he operated his own fitness-related chain stores called Fitness Resource. A former motorcycle racer, his hobbies include sailing.

Nees’s specialty is fiction, ranging from dystopian to thrillers to fantasy to science fiction themes.
Book Series Written By David Nees

David Nees, who prides himself on writing alone without using employees like he had been used to before, has been writing full-time since March 2013. Although his subgenres are diverse; Ness preference is the thriller themes as it enables his realistic representation of the world, unlike the societal recreation associated with the dystopian genre.

Nees’s earliest book is titled After the Fall: Jason’s Tale, which is book one in the After the Fall series. Its 358-page Kindle edition was self-published on March 31, 2016; while Createspace Independent released its 364-page paperback edition on April 1, 2016. Gabriel Zacchain is the narrator of his audiobook from Audible Inc.

After the Fall: Jason’s Tale’s is all about the societal collapse—including the destruction of infrastructure and interruption of social services—that follows a nuclear blast in the U.S.; the ensuing humanitarian crisis and lawlessness prompts protagonist Jason to go off-grid, where he—alongside a mother of two—he becomes a survivalist.

Uprising is book two in the After the Fall series; its 367-page Kindle edition was released on January 23, 2019, while its 365-page paperback edition was released on January 24, 2019.

In Uprising: a group of Jason-led survivalists’ successful self-defense against anarchist opportunists emboldens them when they rise against an urban gang lord who sees their liberation as a rallying call for his oppressed inferiors.

David Nees is also the author of the Dan Stone Assassin series whose book one is called Payback. The book’s first format is a 379-page Kindle edition that was released on August 24, 2017. Its other formats are a 378-page paperback edition that Createspace Independent released on September 8, 2017; and a 10-hour-long audiobook that Audible Inc. released on January 15, 2018.

Payback’s protagonist is vengeful ex-military marksman Dan Stone whose pregnant spouse perished when the mafia firebombed his hotel; in retaliation, he starts crippling their drug trade and eliminates the concerned mobsters who declare him a wanted man that is also facing both hostile and friendly authorities.
The Shaman is book two in the Dan Stone Assassin series. There are a 335-page Kindle edition dated June 28, 2018; and a 338-page paperback edition that Createspace Independent released on July 9, 2018.

The Shaman has a Mexican setting, where CIA assassin protagonist Dan Stone is on an almost suicide mission to eliminate a crime boss; however, his failed getaway plan, experience of animal spirits, and a life-saving shamanic encounter are monumental.

David Nees’ book After the Fall: Jason’s Tale has a spin-off, where a female protagonist replaces the earlier male protagonist. The spin-off is called After the Fall: Catherine’s Tale, and its first book is After the Fall: Catherine’s Tale Part 1—its 370-page ebook edition was released in May 2017, while its 264-page paperback edition was released on May 6, 2017. Released on mid-September 2017, the audiobook from Audible Inc.; the audiobook, whose narrator is Nathan Glondys, has about seven-hour-long runtime.

In After the Fall: Catherine’s Tale Part 1, protagonist Catherine is a substitute for protagonist Jason, but the spin-off retains the conflict from Jason Tale’s. Thus, the focus is on Catherine’s desire for normalcy amid the survivalism challenges—particularly death threats—from that her kith and kin face in their off-grid mountainous refuge.

The second book in the After the Fall: Catherine’s Tale spin-off is titled After the Fall: Catherine’s Tale Part 2 whose Kindle edition was released in June 2017, while Createspace Independent released a 298-page paperback edition on June 14, 2017. Glondys narrates the audiobook, whose runtime is about seven-and-a-half hours, that Audible Inc. released on September 18, 2017.

In After the Fall: Catherine’s Tale Part 2, a murderous Catherine makes an alliance while defending both herself and the other survivalists from extermination by an unruly kingpin.

On April 2, 2017, David Nees released a 13-page Kindle edition titled Love at First Shot, which is a crossover of his After the Fall: Catherine’s Tale—it is about American survivalist Lori Sue’s challenges in the societal collapse.

Recognition of David Nees Books

Following its publication, David Nees’s 2016 book After the Fall: Jason’s Tale became number one in Amazon’s post-apocalyptic catalogue. His books have been compared to those of American authors William R. Fortschen and Bobby Andrew.

Other Books You May Like

David Nees’s fans also read the following. Boyd Craven III is the author of the November 2020 novel Behind the Curve, which is book one The Farm series. Behind the Curve’s protagonist is Joshua Howe whose fictitious climate change experiment is rooted in a real-life American scientist’s historic supposition.
Sean Liscom’s July 2019 novel The Ranch is the second book in The Legacy series. The Ranch’s protagonist is Jason Sterling, an experienced and hands-on middle-aged warehouse manager from Nevada. The solitary Sterling, who wants to become a reclusive retiree, is willed a ranch that hosts military activities and is handy after civilization collapse.

Jack Hunt is the author of the August 2020 novel Chaos Erupts, which is book one in the Outlaws of the Midwest series. In Chaos Erupts, which is set in the Midwestern U.S.; the main character is a rebellious, experienced combatant called Miles Arrington who teams up with another patriotic survivalist in a revolutionary campaign after societal collapse.

Book Series In Order » Authors » David Nees

2 Responses to “David Nees”

  1. Rod Bales: 1 year ago

    Book 5 in the After the Fall series was Escape (Part 1 of After the Coup). A note was provided that the story was just too large to provide in one book, thus Part 1 and Part 2. Was part 2 ever published? Title? What happens to the true President? Etc, etc?

    Thank you so very much!

    • Graeme: 1 year ago

      I checked and Part 2 hasn’t been released yet.


Leave a Reply