Book Notification

David Nicholls Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Starter for Ten / A Question for Attraction (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Understudy (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
One Day (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Us (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sweet Sorrow (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
You Are Here (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Too Much Too Young(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

David Nicholls, a Briton, is an English writer who is also a screen writer. He is 48 years old. He attended college in Hampshire and acted different roles in various productions in college. He later graduated from college and trained as an actor in the USA. Afterwards, he proceeded to act professionally in his 20s, something he kept at for a while. His early acting career wasn’t without challenges though he later discovered his talent in writing.

He contributed scripts for television series and miniseries, an engagement he undertook quite seriously. When the show of one of the television series was canceled, his anger over it made him confine himself to writing. Later on, one of his books, the novel ‘One day’ was shown as a film. He adapted his novel, ‘Starter for 10’, for film which was shown in cinemas in 2006. He also made several film adaptations which were released for Cinemas in 2005, 2006, 2008 and 2014. His most notable books are ‘One Day’ and ‘Starter for 10’.

Nicholls also wrote plays for theater and was given an award for Author of the year in 2014 for the book ‘Us”.

The Book, “One Day” (Vintage Contemporaries)

In this book, the main characters Dexter Mayhew meets Emma Morley. After that initial meeting, their thoughts about each other never seem to leave them. These thoughts remain with them for the entire stretch of 20 years.The setting of this book is in the year 1988 where the author chooses the 15th day of July to be the focal point of the story between these two characters. The author artfully tells the readers about the various changing times of Dexter and Emma within 20 years but each landmark of these highlights happens to be that same day, 15th July of every year down the line.

Emma has loved Dexter secretly. She has a particular position about how things should be done. Dexter on the other hand is a free spirit and is portrayed as one with a carefree attitude. They retain their friendship even when circumstances cause them to go their separate ways. They both get jobs at some point in their lives. Dexter is portrayed as an individual living recklessly and while at it, bedding as many women as he can. Negative things happening to him do not deter him from his waywardness of drinking, using drugs and sleeping around. He was simply a pack of negative energy on the move.

On the other hand, Emma also has her fair share of misfortunes and as if that is not all,including low self esteem. Additionally, none of her relationships seem to work. Eventually, Dexter comes to terms with the fact that his best friend all along is just the one woman he should love and spend his life with. Reader will be interested to know what else transpires in this intriguing story.

The Book, “Us”
The book tells the story of a married couple Douglas Petersen and his wife Connie. Douglas managed to seduce Connie and eventually get her to marry him. They settled down happily and got a son named Albie. It has been almost 30 years since they first met in London when one night, Connie drops the bombshell on Douglas by announcing that their marriage has come to an end and that she wanted a divorce. Douglas is taken aback because his love for her is still immense. The timing of this sad news is also awful considering their immediate future plans of touring Europe even as their son Albie plans to leave for college.

Connie is willing to go for the trip anyway, her divorce plans notwithstanding. She did not want to cancel the trip and also felt that the experience would do her son good. Douglas, on the other hand, secretly hopes that he can dissuade his wife from pursuing this unpalatable chosen end to their marriage while they are on their trip and possibly have some quality time with his son. This is a story of a man who is indeed optimistic that things will turn around for the better so that he does not have to lose the love of his life. He also hopes that he can get to know his son better while on the trip now that the two have not been so close.

This book masterfully uses the characters of Douglas and Connie to paint a real and practical image of marriage, its ups and downs, challenges of mid-life crisis and the delicate balancing act between what goes on in the heart and that which the head logically thinks and concludes on. This book brings to fore the challenges of marriage, parenting and changes through the varying stages of life including raising children and growing up. It is a story that many couples and parents alike will quickly identify with.

The readers will have to find out if the intended trip really does accomplish Douglas’ desire and fulfills his dreams of reclaiming his wife and son or not. Does Douglas get any life changing experiences that will lead to a rediscovery of himself?

Nicholls tells stories that bring to mind the nostalgic memories of youthful energy, love at first sight, regrets and disappointments of wrong decision making, the clumsiness of youth as they grow up and the immaturity that must give way to adulthood eventually and then the ups and downs of experiences that are commonplace between couples in married life. His stories are examples of real life experiences which can be found among people at your next stop in one village, town or city.

It is not in contention that Nicholls is a writer who is gifted at writing classic novels with detailed descriptions and which also treat readers to a glimpse into the emotions of his characters and their lives in a way that is uniquely his own. Once one gets a hold of any of his books, they quickly get engrossed and find it hard to put them down. The story lines literally jump out of the pages and acquire lives of their own which take the readers on an all-absorbing, emotional journey. It is no wonder that once one of those books is in one’s hand, it can only be put down upon reaching the last full stop.

Book Series In Order » Authors » David Nicholls

Leave a Reply