Book Notification

David Williams Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Inspector Parry Books

Last Seen Breathing (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death of a Prodigal (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dead in the Market (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Terminal Case (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Suicide Intended (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Practise to Deceive (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Mark Treasure Books

Unholy Writ (1976)Description / Buy at Amazon
Treasure by Degrees (1977)Description / Buy at Amazon
Treasure Up in Smoke (1980)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder for Treasure (1981)Description / Buy at Amazon
Copper, Gold and Treasure (1982)Description / Buy at Amazon
Treasure Preserved (1983)Description / Buy at Amazon
Advertise for Treasure (1984)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder in Advent (1985)Description / Buy at Amazon
Wedding Treasure (1985)Description / Buy at Amazon
Treasure in Roubles (1987)Description / Buy at Amazon
Divided Treasure (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon
Treasure in Oxford (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon
Holy Treasure! (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon
Prescription for Murder (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon
Treasure by Post (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon
Planning On Murder (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
Banking on Murder (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Criminal Intentions (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

From Kinglake to Kabul(2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

David Williams was born in 1926 in Bridgend, Wales. He was a well-known official advertiser before he got engaged in the writing profession. His suffering from stroke is what led him to changing his managerial career to the writing profession. He got educated at Hereford Cathedral School and at St John’s College, Oxford where he studied contemporary history. His dad was a well-known columnist on the Western mail. Their household treasured the English prose and narrating of stories. David started narrating while he was seven years old. During that moment he was schooling at Oldcastle school. The Second World War destructed his college studies since he spent three years as a Royal Navy official. He started his advertising occupation as a medical journalist and ended up becoming a famous columnist of his own company. He became very popular since he also used to be a correspondent in the television and radio programs. Even though the reporting career was often criticized by the society at that time, he did not give up as he believed that it contributed to the society’s financial system.

His first’s books were published in 1976 during which he started suffering from stroke. The books were mainly centered on crime fiction and humor. His narratives received quite a number of applauses from the readers. They also featured his spouse who was an actress, the Phipps commercial bankers and the comic Mark Treasure. Most of his crime titles included the name treasure. He published other books in 1994 in which they presented Sergeant Gomer Lloyd and Inspector Merlin Parry. In 1988 William was appointed to the Detection Union which made him more popular due to his enchanting and tracking skills. Some of his manuscripts were nominated for the Crime Writers’ Association Award. His strong self-confidence did not prevent him from respecting other people’s opinion even if they did not come to an agreement. His faith mattered to him most even after leaving the St.John and he had even thought of being a clergyman. David was a steward of the Guild church and had confessed that guarding the ancient minster and cathedrals were one of things he treasured in his heart.

William was not let down by calamities. In fact he used them as a tool to be strong by overcoming difficulties no matter how tough it seemed to be. He was known to be an orderly and neat person of and it was evidently displayed by the way he dressed, his cooperation’s trademark and through the storyplotting. He passed away in 2003 and left behind his spouse and two children.

One of the earliest books he wrote is the Treasure in Oxford which is a crime fiction. It narrates about a summer season in Oxford when the rulers of a library meet at a certain college for a feast. The college is at that time on a break for the summer vacation. They are then expected to conduct a meeting in which it will be ruled by a commercial financier known as Mark Treasure. They talk about a dealer who is known for trading books and has found out three portraits of John Constable which are not renowned. The book trader is reported to be seeking out the originality of the portraits so that he can trade them before it is too late. In case the portraits originality is authenticated they could be traded for quite a huge amount of money. The official receiver of fee in the college is married to Mrs. Bidden who is a step sister to the book trader known as Cormit. Mrs. Bidden and her spouse are always chitchatting about what is taking place in the book business. Cormit lives with a tenant woman who is viewed to be very young. It happens that one day Cormit’s body is found tied to the four curves of his bed with a nylon paper on top of his face. He is thought to have died out of suffocation but it not clear. The young room-mate confesses that when the murder took place she was actually locked in the washroom.

The police officers instantly commence the investigation by first taking the young woman into custody led by inspector Holmes. Mark is also on the mission to find out about the murder and goes ahead to study all the substantiations. He believes that the police officers have arrested the wrong suspect. Other individuals who are suspicious of the killing are the official receiver of the college’s fee and the commercial financiers. The story is plotted around the most gorgeous towns in England. These places are well described in a way that the reader feels like he has actually visited the cities. The Ashmolean Museum is one of picturesque places portrayed and many major streets and venues. The scenarios are a blend of funny and horrific incidents.

Another remarkable book from David Williams is the Wedding Treasure. Marton Manor is arranging for an upcoming wedding in Herefordshire. The occasion is being prepared at a fast pace and the bridegroom, Fleur Jarvas feels like she will not get the family’s inheritance if she gets married before reaching the age of twenty-two years. Her father, Kit Jarvas does not approve of the wedding so he does not sign his permit. He gives a condition that he will only accept if he gets the earnings form Fleur’s Jarvas household trust that Fleur will leave if she weds before the age of twenty-two. Mark Treasure and his spouse, Molly are one of the visitors who are invited to the occasion by Jack and Amanda. Most guests are curious as to why Fleur’s wedding is being set up in such a hurry which is where the first mystery commences. Another mystery is why the bride’s dad who is usually abandoned is able to able to attend the occasion yet he was not summoned. The occasion takes place with an atmosphere full of tension. The following day is filled with sorrow when Jarvas is killed by a golf ball. The villages wonder whether the death was natural or someone got involved in killing him. However, most villagers wished he was not alive particularly the gardener.


Book Series In Order » Authors » David Williams

Leave a Reply