Book Notification

Dawn Ryder Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Rock Band Books

Rock Me Two Times (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rock Steady (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Unbroken Heroes Books

Dangerous to Know (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dare You to Run (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Deep Into Trouble (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Take to the Limit (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Close to the Edge (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Don't Look Back (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Improper (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hunter's Catch (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Point Of Combustion (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Passion's Protocols (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Out of Bounds (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Filthy Rich (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Dawn Ryder is an author of contemporary romance and erotic romance novels. She has written books for the “Hunter’s Catch” series, the “Rock Band” series, the “Protocol” series, novellas, as well as stand alone novels, under the Dawn Ryder name. She is actually the author Mary Wine who has written over twenty books as well. Some of the books Ryder has written under the Mary Wine name include: “The Highlander” series, “English Tudor” saga, “Dream” series, “McJames” series, as well as some stand alone novels. No matter who Dawn Ryder is writing as, she is a busy woman writing about all the characters who demand they tell her their story and have her write them down. It is a wonder the woman has any time to do anything with all the time she spends writing her stories.

“Talon’s Trophy” is the first book of the “Hunter’s Catch” series by Dawn Ryder. This series focuses around Talon; he is a character who’s job is to protect the outer sphere and everyone who lives in it. He has spent his life doing his duty, protecting the world. Now, he is about to get some reward for his work, in the form of a woman. In the form of a woman named Chanah; who has just recently accidentally trespassed into his territory; she actually saved her sister. Women who break the law in this universe, are given to the Hunter that catches them as their mate. Otherwise, they are sent to camps to work. She does not submit to him willingly, even after he tries to train her to give him all he needs to satisfy him. Chanah is not just some trophy for him to keep and use for his own pleasure. She has a strong nature, and is reluctant to submit; not to mention sexy and feisty. This book features a Stockholm Syndrome romance.

Readers of this book praised its ability to handle the Stockholm Syndrome romance well, and the two were able to progress from their previous relationship of jailer and jailed to lovers in an interesting way. Other readers liked the sex scene in the book and . Some readers did not like the fact that the female in the book, Chanah, does not fight for her freedom very hard. Other readers found the lack of descriptions about the characters to be a little frustrating, there was not enough about them to fully give the reader an idea of what they looked like. This book drew criticism for the fact that there was not much in the way of world building, even though it is an erotica novel and pretty much only exists to satisfy readers’s fix for such things. You learn as much from the back of the book as you do from actually reading it.

“Hawk’s Prey” is the second book of the series of the same name by Dawn Ryder. Tova is forced to live with her brother and dad in the penal district after they are now convicts and she is homeless. She can choose not to (as she, unlike her brother and dad, has not committed any crimes in her entire life), but her friends in the outer sphere will shun her. Although, if she moves in with them, she will face scrutiny of being a convict just by consorting with two and people will thumb their noses at her. Hawk is something called a Hunter, Hunters guard the convicts living in the penal sphere. When they meet by accident, it sparks something in both of them that they cannot simply deny or set aside, no matter how much both of them try to. All of the Hunters want women, Hawk included, but all the other ones (few though that there has been) that he has met in his life have not really done much for him. Until he meets Tova. Sex in this world is used in bartering situations pretty much; so what is someone like Tova to do about Hawk? This is a book about temptation and giving in to the forbidden; it also features a group of people (Hunters, mainly those Hunters with partners) that share their wives.

Some of the readers liked this book, they thought that it was a great read, drew the readers in, and shed light on something that not much was known about and handled it well (partner swapping). The book was well received by some of the readers for the premise of the book that included the members of the convict’s family going to live with the convicts, but they will be viewed with the same scrutiny and the same stigma as the family members that are convicts. They liked this part because they felt it had a lot of real world application, i.e. many people who have convicts in the family are put under a microscope in the very same way these people are anyway, only they do not have to live with them to face that. There were some people who did not like the idea of partner swapping. They would not have bought the book if they had known that something like that would be featured in the book. In their minds, it is not something worth reading about, erotic novels should not feature such things. Other readers did not like the way the women were treated in any of these books, it was as though the men in these books only treated them as pieces of meat or as trophies (something to win). It did not seem as though they were actually valued for what they had to say, just how good they were at having sex.

Both books are set in the very same universe, but the books only feature the same leads for one book. Although Janus and Fay from “Hawk’s Prey” do appear in their own book, “Janus’s Conquest”. Not to mention the fact that the books are racy and not for everyone. Bear in mind, there is a reason that the books are considered “erotic fiction”.

None of her “Hunter’s Catch” books have been adapted into either a movie or television show. None of the books by Mary Wine or Dawn Ryder have been either, for that matter.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Dawn Ryder

Leave a Reply