Book Notification

DCI Andrew Fenwick Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of DCI Andrew Fenwick Books

Detective Chief Inspector Andrew Fenwick stars in this series, which is written by author Elizabeth Corley (who also has experience as a chief executive and as an insurer). He works in Sussex, England, where the series is set, and where Elizabeth Corley herself was born and raised. Andrew Fenwick deals with his police work, and also his being a single parent. This comes after his marriage broke up, in an awful way. He goes back to work, and has help from his mother to raise his family.

The series began in the year 1998, with the release of “Requiem Mass”. The series is from the genres of crime fiction, murder mystery, thriller, and police procedural.

Elizabeth Corley has said that she writes simply because she loves to. She is able to make time to write, in between working another job and traveling all around the world. She writes in the crime and thriller genres because it requires that she do a good job of analyzing the psychological aspects when developing both the plot and story in a novel.

“Requiem Mass” is the first novel in the “DCI Andrew Fenwick” series and was released in the year 1998. A young wife and mother (named Deborah Fearnside) there is little interest from the police. They just think that she is yet another woman that left a marriage that had grown tired. It takes four weeks for Andrew Fenwick to realize that the case should have become a suspected abduction case. By that point, though, it is too late for Debbie.

A young woman fell to her death twenty years ago, tragically. She had four school friends with her at the time; it is possible that one or all are responsible for it. There is someone out there wanting revenge against the four friends.

Fenwick tries to race to get the killer before he is able to kill all four of the women. He is staring failure in the face, as more are killed, unless he get can get the killer out into the open.

Fans of the novel like the detailed descriptions of the gruesome murders that Elizabeth Corley gives in the book, finding that it thrilled and scared them, all at the same time. The novel has complex characters and has an ending that fits the story nicely. There is a great sense of atmosphere in these books, as the author is able to give you a certain feeling throughout the entire book (dread, thrilled, or scared). Readers even liked that it was not just one cop that was able to put everything together; rather this was more of a team effort, where many of the police contributed something to catch this killer. This is a series to follow for some, as this book was such a good way to kick off a series; it will be interesting to see where the author takes things from here.

“Fatal Legacy” is the second novel in the “DCI Andrew Fenwick” series and was released in the year 2000. Things are not so respectable for Wainwright Enterprises, which is a firm held in high regard. The managing director Arthur Wainwright has died in a suspicious accident. The last will and testament he left throws everything (the family and the business) into turmoil. Arthur was far richer than anyone realized, and he left most of his estate to Alex (Arthur’s nephew) and Sally (Alex’s wife).

Sally (both inscrutable and beautiful) looks at the finances of the firm and finds things that do not make sense. She tries to figure things out herself, without involving the police in the matter. The financial controller of the firm is killed in a brutal way, and the police are finally called in, with Fenwick leading the investigation.

Three other suspicious deaths are connected to the Wainwright family, Fenwick and his team find. Does someone want a bigger cut or is the whole company a front for illicit activity? Which is the reason for the three deaths? Andrew realizes that he is up against a ruthless and clever criminal or group of criminals. Time and everybody’s patience is running thin.

Fans of the novel found that this has a slow burn, and the characters are complex and feel like real people. The hero here in this book engages the attention of the reader and make the readers glad that they picked the book up. The tension was constant for most throughout the reading of the book. This is another winner from an author who knows how to write winning novels. Some felt that this series is one that they read them quickly and cannot wait to read more of the series. The plot twists and turns and kept readers wondering what was going to happen next.

“Grave Doubts” is the third novel in the “DCI Andrew Fenwick” series and was released in the year 2005. Sergeant Louise Nightingale is recovering from being attacked by a known rapist. She gets some solace in the fact that he will be going to jail for a long time.

She goes to a family home in the middle of nowhere for some earned rest, and is about to find that his nightmare has just started. There is another person going around terrorizing the country, Andrew Fenwick thinks that they may gotten the wrong guy. The killer leaves some bodies behind him, and it is clear that his ultimate target, is Nightingale. He will keep on going until he gets her.

Andrew tries to get to her, to protect her from the killer, but wonders if her continued silence means that the killer got to her first.

Fans of the novel like Nightingale’s character and find that it is great to learn about her back story and see her deal with the traumatic ordeal that she goes through. Readers found that they had enjoyed this more than some of the other books in this series that they have read. The author does a great job of giving the reader a sense of fear throughout reading the book. Some will return for more from this series because of how great this book was.

Book Series In Order » Characters » DCI Andrew Fenwick

Leave a Reply