Book Notification

DCI Brendan Moran Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of DCI Brendan Moran Books

Black December (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Creatures of Dust (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death Walks Behind You (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Crime for all Seasons (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Silent as the Dead (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Gone Too Soon (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Enemy Inside (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
When Stars Grow Dark (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Cold Light of Death (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Closer to the Dead (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
In the Key of Death (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

The name ‘DCI Brendan Moran’ refers to a series of crime fiction novels written by Scott Hunter, a British author. The books follow the exploits of an Irish detective who solves crimes.

+The Story

DCI Brendan Moran made his mark on the publishing landscape in 2011 when he appeared in ‘Black December’, the first novel in the DCI Brendan Moran series. The character joined the litany of DCIs that had come before him and would come after, following the common tropes of a troubled detective that struggles to balance his personal and work life.

While the books have been well-received, no one can deny the fact that the DCI Brendan Moran series adheres to the structure of the typical British-based Crime Fiction novel.

Moran’s first outing finds him at Charnford abbey where a murder has just occurred. Moran’s curiosity is piqued when he realizes just how determined the monks in the Abbey are to stay silent.

Clearly, there’s some conspiracy afoot and Moran makes it his business to uncover it. Things take an even more complicated turn when a relic goes missing and more bodies are discovered.

Moran is already a weary soul by the time he is introduced. A veteran of 1970s Ireland, the world has beaten and battered Moran. By the time this series kicks off, the hero has recently survived a near-fatal car crash and is in the process of recuperating.

His efforts to return to work are skewed by a new partner who sees fit to ridicule DCI Brendan Moran for his old age and perceived incompetence. Moran does what he can to prove himself to his doubters.

However, that proves difficult when he begins to doubt himself, not only because of the harsh words of his younger colleagues but also because the detective makes many mistakes along the way, mistakes with consequences that cannot be reversed.

This becomes a recurring theme in the series. Every time Moran is pitted against a dangerous criminal, and especially if he has been given command over other detectives, he struggles to believe in himself, to accept that he is indeed the right man for the job.

Along the way, Moran keeps making new friends and trying to carve out a decent life. That is the one aspect readers always praise the protagonist for. Scott Hunter, the author, goes to great lengths to knock his hero down.

In fact, some people have questioned whether Scott has some sort of vendetta against Moran. The author throws a lot of punishment at the DCI. Sometimes it definitely feels like the world is out to ruin him.

He cannot seem to garner any significant wins, and every step he takes is almost always met with unexpected resistance. However, no matter how many losses DCI Brendan Moran suffers, he never stays down for long.

Moran always finds a way back to his feet, especially when he has a murderer to chase.

The DCI Brendan Moran series is very fast-paced. There are plot twists waiting around every corner. And despite the fact that Moran is always chasing down murderers, Scott Hunter rarely assaults his readers with excessive violence and gore.

The author does sprinkle elements of romance throughout the series, but he also holds back on the sex. There are no graphic descriptions to speak of.

The series has been criticized for being a little too exaggerated, especially when it comes to the dangers and ordeals that Moran faces and survives.

The DCI Brendan Moran books are self-published.

+The Author

Scott Hunter was born in 1956 in Romford, Essex. Before the author went into publishing, he was an IT professional. A husband with two children and a dog, the success of Hunter’s publishing career has not stopped him from taking contract work in IT.

Besides writing and fixing computers, Hunter also plays music. He is particularly passionate about the drums.

+Black December

DCI Brendan Moran barely survived a car crash. A world-weary detective, Moran’s convalescence is cut short by a murder at an Abbey. Moran is immediately alerted to the fact that there’s more going on than meets the eye when he realizes just how determined the monks are to remain silent.

That suspicion is raised further when a Vatican visitor arrives and a relic disappears. As Moran begins poking around, he uncovers the abbey’s many secrets.

Black December is the first novel in the DCI Brendan Moran series. The book follows Moran as he is called upon to investigate a murder at an Abbey. What started as an attempt to catch a murderer takes an unexpected turn when the remains of another murder from several decades in the past are found.

Now Moran has two investigations on his hands. Some detectives would relish the challenge. But Moran hasn’t been in prime physical and mental shape for a long time. Additionally, the ailing detective is still healing from the injuries of an auto accident.

The last thing Moran wants is an unnecessarily complicated case. But that is what he gets. On top of the mysteries at the Abbey, Moran must also deal with his new partner, a young ambitious detective that doesn’t think much of Moran.

That isn’t even taking into account the problems the DCI is facing with the squatters that have taken over his house.

+Creatures of Dust

When an undercover detective disappears, DCI Brendan Moran grows curious, especially when he begins to suspect a connection with the mutilated body of a young man. But Moran’s attempts at investigating the case are blocked by a senior officer who is determined to pursue the investigation alone.

When a second murder occurs, Moran realizes that a serial killer might be on the loose. He must be willing to step on a few toes if he wants to get to the bottom of things.

Creatures of Dust is the second novel in the Moran series. Even though the book is a sequel, it can be read as a stand-alone. The book finds Moran leading a unit of police officers in an investigation designed to resolve two deaths.

With a series of health scares and auto accident injuries in his recent history, not to mention some lapses in judgment, Moran doesn’t know if he can be trusted to do his job.

Book Series In Order » Characters » DCI Brendan Moran

One Response to “DCI Brendan Moran”

  1. Geralyn M Swain: 2 years ago

    Love this series! When is book 10?


Leave a Reply