Book Notification

DCI Cook Thriller Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of DCI Isaac Cook Books

The Vane-Martin Conundrum (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder is a Tricky Business (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder Without Reason (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder House (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder is only a Number (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder in Little Venice (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder is the Only Option (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder in Notting Hill (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder in Room 346 (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder of a Silent Man (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder has no Guilt (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder in Hyde Park (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Six Years Too Late (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Grave Passion (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Hero's Fall (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Vicar's Confession (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Guilty until proven Innocent (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Author Phillip Strang pens the “DCI Cook Thriller” series. The series began publication in the year 2016, when “Murder is a Tricky Business”.

Isaac Cook is a Detective Constable Inspector with the Challis St. Police Murder Investigation Team. He works with DI Mohammad Farhan Ahmed and DS Richard Goddard. Goddard is also Cook’s mentor. The series is set in London, England.

“Murder is a Tricky Business” is the first novel in the “DCI Cook Thriller” series and was released in the year 2016. A television actress has gone missing, and DCI Isaac Cook, who is the Senior Investigation Officer of the Murder Investigation Team at Challis Street Police Station in London is is looking for her.

Why has he been taken off of the more important cases in order to search for this woman? It isn’t the first time she has gone missing. Why is everybody assuming she was murdered?

There is a secret, that much is for sure, but who knows for sure? The missing woman? The executive producer, or possibly his eavesdropping assistant? Maybe the actor that played her fictional brother on the Soap Opera?

Fans of the book found this to be a well written who-dunnit murder mystery, and is very easy to follow and read from beginning to end. There are many exciting scenarios, with many turns and twists, and a unique cast of characters. DCI Cook is a likable character that is strong and virile and is somebody that knows how to treat women.

“Murder House” is the second novel in the “DCI Cook Thriller” series and was released in the year 2017. A corpse in the fireplace of an ancient house. It has been there for three decades now, but whose is it? It is clearly a murder, but who is the person that was murdered and what link does this corpse have to the prior owners of the house? Why a fireplace? It was bound to be found sooner or later, but is that what the killer actually wanted?

Each and every one of the main suspects in the case are either old and dying or have already died. Yet again, there is a motive, but what could it possibly be?

Isaac Cook and the rest of his team have their work cut out for them attempting to put the pieces together. Those that know aren’t saying anything out of an old-fashioned belief in that one family’s dirty laundry isn’t to be aired in public, and certainly not to some policeman, even if it means the killer never gets brought to justice.

Some readers found themselves attempting to figure out who the killer was and being fooled until the reveal. There is a thought-provoking storyline, some exciting action, twists and turns that keep you on your toes, some unique characters, and is a well-written and developed tale. There is even some entertaining dialogue to top it all off.

“Murder is Only a Number” is the third novel in the “DCI Cook Thriller” series and was released in the year 2017. Before she left, she carved a number in blood onto his chest. Why the number two, if this was only her first murder?

A woman is out stalking London. She kills at will. Her targets are guys that have wronged her. Or have they? What is behind this hatred of hers and why would she keep count?

DCI Cook and his team know just who this woman is, at least after she went and killed the first four, but the woman just vanishes in plain sight. The pressure is on to stop her, however, she is always a step ahead of them. This time, DCS Goddard is unable to protect his protege, named Isaac Cook, from wrath of the new commissioner at the Met’s wrath.

This is an outstanding police procedural that motors along at a brisk pace. This features a sharp sense of suspense and some elegant writing on Phillip’s part. The villain in the novel is portrayed in an eerie way, yet with just a touch of empathy that brings her to life entirely and makes her that much more frightening.

“Murder in Little Venice” is the fourth novel in the “DCI Cook Thriller” series and was released in the year 2017. One dismembered corpse floats in a canal in Little Venice, which is an upscale tourist haven in London. The identity isn’t known, but could the significance be?

DCI Isaac Cook is totally baffled as to why it is even there. Could it just be gang-related or is it really something extra?

Whatever the reason is, it is clearly a warning, and Isaac and the rest of his team are certain it isn’t the final body they’ll have to deal with.

Fans found this one to be an entertaining and fascinating journey that holds your attention from start to finish. Phillip does a fantastic job of setting the stage right from the very first page.

“Murder is the Only Option” is the fifth novel in the “DCI Cook Thriller” series and was released in the year 2017. It was thought he was dead, until he comes back to exact his revenge against those that blighted his life. His sole concern is protect both his daughter and wife. He is going to stop at nothing in order to achieve this goal.

Robertson never expected them to be around that late at night. He looked up at the guy, only to see a metal pole heading down at him. Robertson fell, cracking his head against the concrete curb.

Two vagrants, who weren’t more than twenty feet away, didn’t stir and didn’t even look in the direction of the noise. Had they, they would have saw a dead body, and some other guy walking away.

Phillip delivers a novel with some villains with the right amount of menace to them that made the whole thing very believable. Phillip’s writing style is very direct, and Cook is very versatile and can be quite funny, at times. Readers like the love/hate relationship he’s got with his boss and the politics that make him crazy.

Book Series In Order » Characters » DCI Cook Thriller

Leave a Reply