Book Notification

DCI Kate Daniels Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of DCI Kate Daniels Books

The Murder Wall (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Settled Blood (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Deadly Deceit (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Monument to Murder / Fatal Games (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Killing for Keeps (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Gallows Drop (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Without a Trace (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Her Last Request (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Longest Goodbye (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

DCI Kate Daniels is the main character in a novel series written by English bestselling author Mari Hannah. The series made its triumphal entry into the publishing world after the publication of the series debut The Murder Wall. Before the adaptation, The Murder Wall was originally written as a Television pilot for a BBC drama development scheme. Subsequently, the novel has been nominated for the Polari First Book Prize.

The Murder Wall

The Murder Wall is the first book in DCI Kate Daniels series by bestselling author Mari Hannah. For years Kate Daniels has been haunted by a murder case. A young lady and a church priest were killed in cold blood. At the time of death, the priest had a card in his hand. The case seems to be cold as ice, but the young lady parents are still in contact with Kate and their grief keeping the murder case in Kate mind.

However, when Alan Stephens is killed, a man who’s familiar to Kate, she has to make a decision whether to inform her superiors about the case or whether she should remain silent and stay on the case and further her career.

The possible suspects who could have killed Alan include his wife and two sons and even his ex-wife. The victim was not a very likable guy, and the evidence at table begins to point a one person in particular. The latest suspect makes Kate uneasy for she cannot believe that this person could be capable of killing a fly leave alone a person.

Kate’s view on the case is somehow skewed because of her prior knowledge; this causes her to deal with the current situation in a way that she would not otherwise. On the other hand, her boss who is half in love with Kate is taking care of her terminally ill wife. Kate’s boss cannot allow Kate to continue to pursue the initial cold case until the latest crime is solved. As Kate gets closer to finding the killer, the killer is only a breath away from claiming his next victim.

The debut novel is a dark, moody British drama that is very atmospheric as well as suspenseful. Many scenes relate with the secrets that Kate has to keep and the possibility of these secrets coming out as a result of this case.

The entire story is multilayered and introduces us to staff that Kate Daniels works with and deals with every day in and out of her working unit while hoping one day to ensure that one’s private life remains private.

Mari Hannah stylistic writing is intelligent and taught and will keep you on the edge of your seat throughout the entire novel.

The book also contains information related to police procedures, and this will give you the reader a glimpse of what happens inside a police station. The way the author describes each character will leave you with a mental image of each character in the book. The entire novel is fast paced, gritty as well as realistic that will grab you attention from the first page the very last.

Settled Blood (2012)

Settled Blood is the sequel to the Murder Wall. In this novel when a young girl body is found at the base of Hadrian Wall, and it does not take long for detective Kate Daniels to discover that this was not an ordinary death. In her investigation, she finds out that the girl was thrown from a great height and that she was alive before hitting the ground.

Then it does not take long before a local businessman reports that his daughter is missing. Could the detective have discovered the identity of the victim or is the killer playing a sickening hide and seek?

As the murder investigation team digs deep and deeper into the case, the truths are told, secrets revealed and as Daniels make her way in the valley of obstacles, and time is running out for one scared girl. The second novel is a fast-paced thriller. The characters are fantastic especially for DCI Daniels who is a caring officer but yet firm in her duties and inspires dedication and loyalty in her team. The police procedural rings in this novel are true thanks to the author’s previous job as a probation officer.

Deadly Deceit (2013)

In the third installment of DCI Kate Daniels series, the story begins with a blazing house fire, and on the same night, a major road accident occurs. On a wet road stretch of the A1, a driver loses control and causes a major road crash. The senior investigating officer Kate and her partner DS Hank Gormley rush into the scene. They encounter what seems to be the worst of Northumberland’s road crash in the history. However, as the casualties begin to mount up; these two detectives soon realize that not all the bodies are as a result of the accident.

On the far end of the town, a house is set on flames, killing its two inhabitants. The two cases seem to be unconnected, and soon Kate Daniels begins an investigation on each case.

However, soon it becomes clear that the two cases are interconnected and are the doings of a serial killer. DCI Kate together with her partner must do whatever it takes to stop a ruthless killer who seems not to stop at nothing until he/she gets what he/she wants.

The third novel is an excellent read in one of the best selling series in the novel world. The series is fast paced and features strong characters in a story that is set in Newcastle. If you love police procedural novels, then consider adding Kate Daniels series into your book library.

Book Series In Order » Characters » DCI Kate Daniels

Leave a Reply