Book Notification

DCI Logan Crime Thrillers Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of DCI Logan Crime Thrillers Books

A Litter of Bones (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Thicker than Water (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Killing Code (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blood and Treachery (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Last Bloody Straw (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Whisper of Sorrows (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Big Man Upstairs (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Death Most Monumental (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Snowball's Chance in Hell (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ahead of the Game (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
An Isolated Incident (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Colder than the Grave (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Come Hell or High Water (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
City of Scars (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Here Lie the Dead (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
One For the Ages (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
In Service of Death (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Dead Man Walking (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Where the Pieces Lie (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Killer of Influence (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

The “DCI Logan Crime Thrillers” by JD Kirk is a set of novels by one of the most popular Scottish crime fiction authors.

While he is very popular, JD Kirk is just the pseudonym of Barry Hutchison the award-winning author of children’s fiction.

He began penning tartan noir fiction in early 2019 when he published “A Litter of Bones” the debut novel of the “DCI Logan Crime Thriller” series.

Since that time JD has been the author of more than sixteen novels in the series that has sold more than two million copies.

He has also gotten rid of more than 30 Highlanders, which has made his ever-growing army of fans across the globe delighted. He has made a reputation for himself penning novels full of laugh-out-loud humor, gruesome deaths, and twisting plots.

In 2021, JD Kirk was a finalist for the Kindle Storyteller Prize. It was also in the same year that he started writing the “Robert Hoon” Spinoffs that have been described as “Trainspotting” meets “Jack Reacher.”
Unsurprisingly, JD makes his home in the Scottish Highlands in the small town of Fort William just like many of his characters.

JD Kirk has been writing for a very long time and she remembers that he used to fill notebooks with comics and short stories. Most of what he used to write was filled with gore and was very violent.

When he was nine years old, he decided that he wanted to write as a career. His class had just completed working on a Roald Dahl project and this was the time he learned that authorship could be an actual job.

Prior to that, he had penned stories for his own enjoyment, and hence when he learned that he could earn an actual income from it, he just knew that it was what he wanted to pursue.

In his adult years, he got started writing screenplays. He had a dream of writing big cinematic movies but soon realized it was hard to break into that space. Kirk thus started writing low-budget AND much smaller screenplays.

Few production companies picked up these but most of these never went into production as most scripts need millions to get off the ground.

It was then that he realized that it would be cheaper to get a publisher to publish a story than it was for a movie to produce a movie. As such, he adapted some of his stories into novels starting with “A Litter of Bones” in 2019.

The “DCI Logan Crime Thriller” series is a work that seems to have taken the United Kingdom fiction scene by storm as if from nowhere.

The series follows the activities of a Scotland homicide detective DCI Jack Logan. The man is the classic middle-aged, tortured guy with a history of alcoholism and messed-up family life.

However, he has a strong desire to make things better in his society and a strong sense of justice. While this does not sound very original, DCI Jack Logan and the many crime investigations he leads make for some compulsive reads.

The stories are set in some great locations and there are some good and interesting interactions between Logan and his team. With just enough detailed descriptions, short chapters, and a fast pace, these make for unputdownable and suspenseful stories.

Much of the action is set in Inverness and several other Highland locales but there are some set up in Glasgow. If you have spent any amount of time traveling around Scotland, you will certainly recognize many other locations.

“A Litter of Bones” the first novel of the “DCI Logan Crime Thriller” series makes for an explosive crime thriller that introduces a new and exciting new voice in crime fiction from Scotland.

A decade ago, Jack Logan had made the biggest mistake of his career that still haunts him to this day. He had stopped “Mister Whisper,” a serial child killer that earned him a drinking problem, a commendation, and destroyed his marriage.

Jack now spends most of his time working with the Major Incident Team in Glasgow and relieves the horrors of that night ten years ago during the night.

When another child goes missing north of the Highlands, Logan is put in charge of the investigation and asked to bring the kid back home. Soon enough, he finds a lot of similarities between the two cases despite the fact that they are ten years apart.

Could he have caught the wrong man a decade ago? And if that is the case, will he be able to stop the man before he commits another heinous crime? It is a work that hits the right spots even as DCI logan puts some of his ghosts to rest.

The second novel of the DCI Logan Crime Thriller series is “Thicker than Water.”

DCI Jack Logan was enjoying his dream life in the Scottish Highlands when he is summoned. A badly mutilated body has just been discovered on the beaches of Loch Ness.

While the media is wildly speculating about monster attacks, the Major Investigations Team led by Jack needs to act fast to catch the murderous killer before he takes another life.

But the area is swarming with Nessie-hunters and an old nemesis seems to have made a comeback. This may turn out to be one of the most challenging cases Jack has ever handled.
The author combines dark humor and death to make for a fast-paced crime thriller set in the Scottish Highlands.

“The Killing Code” is the second novel of the “DCI Logan Crime Thriller” series of novels.

After two decades on the force, Jack Logan, the Detective Chief Inspector is certain that he has seen it all. But he could not have been more wrong.

When a nurse is the victim of a brutal night killing as she is heading home from her night shift, Jack and his team are called into action.

Soon enough, they uncover more victims and Jack finds himself on the trail of a killer who seems to have a unique gift of psychosis. With that gift, he can kill and maim and not feel a shred of remorse.
DCI Jack Logan is going to be pushed as he has never been before as he faces a very different type of killer in a city he is not very familiar with.

Book Series In Order » Characters » DCI Logan Crime Thrillers

One Response to “DCI Logan Crime Thrillers”

  1. Ruth Love: 10 months ago

    Love DCI Logan books. A little too much of the f word though.


Leave a Reply