Book Notification

DCI Monika Paniatowski Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Monika Paniatowski Books

The Dead Hand of History (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Ring of Death (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Echoes of the Dead (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Backlash (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lambs to the Slaughter (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Walk with the Dead (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death's Dark Shadow (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Supping with the Devil (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Best Served Cold (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Thicker Than Water (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death in Disguise (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Hidden (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dead End (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Poison (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Final Beat of the Drum (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Monika Paniatowski is a recently promoted DCI, her first experience at with the DCI job is that she has to deal with a gruesome murder. She additionally has to deal with her old school detective sergeant that constantly makes disapproval of her. This first case revolves around a family bakery fiction that takes place in the 1970s. They are certainly back in technology since they use DNA testing and pre-mobile phones.

Monika is an interesting and clever character, other characters in the series too are equally clever. This makes it impossible to know the villain until the end. Throughout the whole series it is not an easy task for Monika to fit the DCI title. It even gets more difficult when her colleagues frequently prove untrustworthy and she has to turn to other sources for help.

The Dead hand of history

This book is the first release in the Monika Paniatowski series. It features a DCI Monika Paniatowski that is recently promoted, she takes the place of Charlie Woodend as DCI. The series is set back around the 70s, the book generally deals with gruesome murders that starts with chopping off of the victims hands.

This first novel makes an excellent transition from one lead character to the next. As Monika takes the place of Charlie Woodend, she has to be as perfect as Charlie but cannot. She is therefore faced with questions such as “how would have Charlie handled this one” “Charlie would have had this solved by now.” Her colleagues also bombard her with such questions since some of them see her unfit for the DCI.

There are abundant conflicts like that of Monika being unsure whether she can follow Charlie’s paths. Monika’s colleague, Detective Walker is doing her best to sabotage her since he bitterly begrudges a woman that is promoted over him. DCI Monika Paniatowski gets a new boss who is her former lover. The series features several twists and turns that are sure to keep you off balanced and ultimately satisfied. There are unresolved conflicts that are carried to other books within the series, this should interest you to read future books within the series.

Ring of death

Ring of death is an early book in the series, it is the second of Sally Spencer’s series that centers on detective Monika Paniatowski, a northern detective of Polish origin. Like the first book, this novel is cracking to read. Monika has to battle with villains within her bailiwick and also with her colleagues that would prefer seeing her dead.

It is clear that someone is trying to send the DCI a message, this is by brutally killing several unconnected people. But it is not just the killing, the brutal methods of torture are quite shocking. The victims are additionally put on public display. Monika, the DCI does not have the support of all her colleagues, some of them seem to glory over any difficulty she goes through, this makes her not trust them anymore. On top of all of her woes, there is someone that is feeding confidential information to a local newspaper reporter.

Apart from tight conflicts within the novel, it generally features an outstanding plotting with characterization that is excellent. It is even difficult to provide much of the plot summary of this series without inadvertently spoiling by revealing too much.

Lambs to Slaughter

Lambs to Slaughter is among the top rated novel among the Monika Paniatowski series that currently features 8 novels. DCI Monika Paniatowski is asked lead the investigation of a coal mine. This is after the energy state in Bellingsworth is stressed and coal miners debate the option of a strike. However, things grow dark when Len Hopkins, a former miner that opposed the strike gets into an argument in a bar. He argues with a strike supporter and later turns out dead. This is after a coal axe is smashed through his head.

DCI Monika leads the investigation and the coal miners face huge tension. Her team too is under stress with internal conflicts. She faces life-changing distractions when her daughter too is threatened. Apart from this, the characters in the book remain familiar but not static. How different characters handle different emotions change according to different conflicts. You will also come upon different plot twists which if you reflect keenly will realize that they are simply artificial.

Deaths dark shadow

Fans of the DCI Monika Paniatowski will be delighted with this latest series, this is because former DCI Charlie Woodend shows up when he retires. Despite Monika being more than a worthy success to Woodend, she certainly would need his help in a new case.

This case involves two Spanish nationals being murdered in Whitebridge. Monika and her detective team are faced with an investigation that is both frustrating and challenging. All leads lead to point a motive buried deep within the turmoil of Spain. Monika is going to find it hard to work as a detective in Spain. Fortunately, there is no one better to help than Charlie Woodend, retired to the Spanish Costa Blanca who plans to set up his private detective agency.

With the help of Charlie and support of a talented team, Monika tries to crack the case. She additionally has a chance to meet Charlie when he visits the Whitebridge post-case. However, the series ends with a final bombshell that will leave its readers in a brutal shock.

While the novels features a great start, there are some chapters that features complete plot with no character. Other procedurals feature character development and investigation that could turn out to be quite boring. However, the general series is filled with police action and is quite heavy on characters of both the police and the civilians.

Newly Expected series

The DCI Monika Paniatowski series by Sally Spencer still continues. A newly expected series is expected to be released late in 2015, it will have the title “Best Served Cold.” The latest book ends with shock that leaves its readers anxiously waiting for this new book. The series is a must-read for anyone that loves crime fiction. You can be sure be sure to like the fast-paced plot and enough twists of the general series.

Book Series In Order » Characters » DCI Monika Paniatowski

Leave a Reply