Book Notification

DCI Warren Jones Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of DCI Warren Jones Books

The Last Straw (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
No Smoke Without Fire (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Silent as the Grave (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Common Enemy (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Forgive Me Father (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Price To Pay (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Out of Sight (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Time to Kill (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Web of Lies (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of DCI Warren Jones Short Stories/Novellas Books

Blood Is Thicker Than Water (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Case Gone Cold (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Deadly Lesson (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
At First Glance (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

The DCI Warren Jones book series is a crime fiction and mystery series. It is written by a well known UK-based author named Paul Gitsham. The series is comprised of a total of 4 novels and 1 novella released between the 2014 and 2018. Each book in the series features the lead protagonist in the role of Detective Chief Inspector Warren Jones working for the Middlesbury police force. The series begins by showing Warren Jones as the newly appointed DCI. While working for the Middlesbury Force, he takes up various cases of murder mysteries as well as other heinous crimes in Middlesbury and solves them with the help of his intelligence and detective skills. Besides Warren Jones, the other essential characters created by Gitsham for this series include Alan Tunbridge, Richard Cameron, Charles Michaelson, Reginald Williamson, Tommy Meegan, etc.

All the books of this series and the entire series as a whole are quite popular. Each book is immensely successful and has helped author Gitsham to become a reputed novelist. The fans of mystery and thriller books have liked the character of Warren Jones very much. Numerous well known critics have spoken very highly about this series and the character of Warren Jones. Many noteworthy novelists have also praised Paul Gitsham’s work in this series. They have described him as a writer with great storytelling skills. Paul Gitsham is known to make the readers indulge themselves in his stories completely. This is the reason why his books have fared so well in all the places of their release. As of now, he is busy with the development of other books to add to the series. He is expected to release more titles in the first quarter of the next year.

Paul Gitsham is a famous author of mystery, fiction, crime, and suspense novels. He is particularly popular for writing the books of Warren Jones, a Middlesbury DCI. Gitsham started working first as a biologist and pursued his research work in the exotic locales of Manchester and Toronto. On his way to becoming a notable novelist, he changed several jobs. Once, he has worked in a sports center as a receptionist and has also spent around six months working for a leading bank in the UK. Gitsham was mainly involved in preventing the banned international terrorists and their associates from holding accounts in the bank. After this job, he tried to get himself retrained in the field of teaching and found a respectable job as a science teacher in a secondary school. Today, Paul Gitsham spends his time teaching science and creative writing to students, and using his spare time in writing crime fiction stories. He says that he was very keen about reading and writing from his younger days.

Very often, his teachers used to tell him to keep up with his writing if he wishes to do something big in this field. However, some others also asked him to pay attention to his handwriting and try to improve it. More than thirty years have passed and Gitsham’s handwriting has only gone from bad to worse. But, he has surely managed to get people’s attention through his writing and has gained a lot of respect. Today, he takes a great pride in saying that he has earned a place for himself among the great authors of mystery novels. Paul Gitsham is pretty much satisfied with whatever he has achieved in his career as a writer. He hopes to continue writing many more interesting stories in the years to come. Gitsham is very grateful that the readers have liked and appreciated his work so far and prays that they like all his upcoming work as well. His novels have been translated and sold in multiple countries of the world. Many non-English speaking readers have also become his fans and this fascinates him a lot. A major influence for him has been the works of Peter Robinson, and Paul Gitsham tries to reflect his style of writing in his novels as well.

The debut book of the DCI Warren Jones series written by author Paul Gitsham is entitled ‘The Last Straw’. It was released in 2014 by the Carina UK publication. The book features the lead characters in the roles of Alan Tunbridge and Warren Jones. At the book’ start, Alan Tunbridge is introduced as a prolific professor and microbiologist from Middlesbury. His brilliance in the field of microbiology resulted in many unpleasant enemies. And when Alan Tunbridge is found dead in his office with a slashed throat, the police starts questioning his enemies to look for possible suspects. Just when Warren Jones gets appointed as Middlesbury force’s DCI, this high-profile case lands on his desk. He sees it as a great opportunity to begin his career.

Warren Jones shows the determination of carrying out a professional and thorough investigation. But, he faces pressure for different sections of the society for resolving the case as soon as possible, which makes life quite difficult for Warren Jones. He goes through political pressures and tensions in his home and office, thereby making it much more difficult for him to investigate thoroughly. With whatever investigation he is able to carry out, Warren’s suspicion points to one dangerous man. But, because of Professor Alan Tunbridge’s pioneering research’s financial potential, the inquiry is turned into a dangerous and intriguing direction.

Another thrilling book of this series is called ‘Silent as the Grave’. It was also published by Carina publication in 2015. This book features the central characters in the form of Warren Jones and Reginald Williamson. At the story’s beginning, it is mentioned that Warren Jones gets his hands on the coldest case of his career. Reginald Williamson’s body is discovered from the Middlesbury Common’s bushes. By looking at the manner it which his body was concealed under the bushes, it was clear that the murderer desperately tried to hide the crime. The single stab wound in Reginald’s chest showed that the killing was carried out in an efficient way. What seemed to bother Warren Jones much more than Reginald Williamson’s murder is that the culprit killed his dog too, and that too in the same manner.

The investigation doesn’t like look going anywhere as there is neither any clue nor any motive behind the murders. Soon after, Warren Jones gets a break in the investigation. He finds that the informant is an ex-cop under investigation. When he hears the story told by him, Warren appears to be glad that he found the informant and allowed him to speak. And soon after, a conspiracy involved a gangster, a deadly killer, and high level of police corruption is revealed. But, the success in solving this case doesn’t come easily. The life of Warren’s loved ones is put in danger, but he finds his way to not let anything happen to them. The climax ends in a uniquely intriguing way, which the readers seemed to enjoy thoroughly.

Book Series In Order » Characters » DCI Warren Jones

Leave a Reply