Book Notification

Dead Cold Mystery Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Dead Cold Mysteries Books

Ace and a Pair (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Two Bare Arms (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Garden of the Damned (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Let Us Prey (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Sins of the Father (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Strange and Sinister Path (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Heart to Kill (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Unnatural Murder (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fire From Heaven (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
To Kill Upon a Kiss (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder Most Scottish (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Butcher of Whitechapel (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Little Dead Riding Hood (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Trick or Treat (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blood Into Wine (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Jack in the Box (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Fall Moon (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blood In Babylon (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death in Dexter (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mustang Sally (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Christmas Killing (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mommy's Little Killer (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bleed Out (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dead and Buried (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
In Hot Blood (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fallen Angels (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Knife Edge (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Along Came A Spider (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cold Blood (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Curtain Call (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Bestselling author Blake Banner writes the “Dead Cold Mystery” series. The books are mystery novels where Stone and Dehan investigate cold cases. It began publication in the year 2017, when “An Ace and A Pair” was released.

Detectives John Stone and Carmen Dehan wind up partnered up, because they are both square pegs and their captain just wants rid of them.

“An Ace and A Pair” is the first novel in the “Dead Cold Mystery” series, which was released in the year 2017. NYPD Detective John Stone has got the best arrest record of all the officers in the 43rd precinct. He belongs in another age and is considered a dinosaur. Detective Carmen Dehan has got such a bad attitude that there no one in the precinct that is able to stomach her.

Captain Jennifer Cuevas would like to get them both out of the way, and thinks they make a perfect fit to be partners. She hands them the Cold Case file, which are the cases that no one cares about. Little does she know how heated a cold case is able to get.

A decade ago, Nelson Hernandez and four of his cousins were in a dive at Hunts Point and playing poker together. Someone blew them away, before beheading and castrating Nelson. They left both his balls and head on the table. There are many suspects. Like the Triads out of Manhattan, members of the Jersey Mob, or Mick Harragan (a crooked member of 43rd precinct). No one was charged, and the night the murders were committed, Mick went missing with Maria (Nelson’s wife).

Stone and Dehan are determined to locate him, whatever the consequences of it happen to be.

Fans of the novel found this to be an interesting story, and the adventures they get up during the case are pretty fun. Stone and Dehan have perfect chemistry with one another, and the twists prevent you from figuring out who the real killer is until the end of the book. Some enjoyed the way that Stone and Dehan bond with each other over the course of the novel.

“Two Bare Arms” is the second novel in the “Dead Cold Mystery” series, which was released in the year 2017. New York in November. It was rainy and cold. The trees resembled the hands of skeletons. John Stone struggles with habeas corpus, due to the fact that the only body parts they have are two bare arms. These are the same two bare arms that someone put into a lock up in the East Bronx about twelve years back.

What happened to the rest of the woman, no one was sure. The more Stone and Dehan investigate, two things start being clear: the person that killed the female, wanted her arms found, as both a challenge and a boast. That means they are dealing with a serial killer, a psychopath.

Who could it be, though? The biker that enjoys beating on women? Maybe his best buddy, who is a devotee of Crowley and a Satanist? Or could it be the neurotic IT nut that spends his down time on the net surfing for porn? Or is it someone else? Stone knows that whomever killed this person is a master of misdirection.

Fans of the novel really enjoy reading about Dehan and Stone, as they work well together, and the way they think and their wits enhance each other. Some could not put the book down until they had finished the entire thing. There are many twists and turns here to keep things interesting and complex. The dialogue was well done, as well.

“Gardened of the Damned” is the third novel in the “Dead Cold Mystery” series, which was released in the year 2017. A tramp’s body is discovered in a dumpster on Lafayette and Bryant in the Bronx. There is no identification or papers for the victim, and the case is filed unsolved. The person winds up just another victim that no one cares about, shot by a punk that no one cares about.

Twelve years later. Detective Stone notices the supposed tramp had manicured nails and a hundred dollar haircut. It makes him curious. He wonders who would dress a murder victim up like a tramp, and then leave them right in full view in a dumpster? The answers he gets are not at all the ones that he expects. Before long, Stone and Dehan are taken to St. Mary’s Roman Catholic Church and find the darkest recesses of the soul.

They are led to some of the most powerful men in the state of New York. Some of them are known criminals, like Conor Hagan (who is the head of the Irish Mob). Some are not, though. Stone is having a problem figuring out which are only criminals and which are actually evil. Until ghosts from Dehan’s past start popping up. Then it starts getting complicated.

Fans of the novel have enjoyed each of the books in this series, this one included. The protagonists are well drawn, and are quite likable. The prime suspects are getting more and more fleshed out with each book. For some, this one was the best. It certainly kept them riveted the entire time they read it. Blake banner is great at putting a really good story together.

“Let Us Prey” is the fourth novel in the “Dead Cold Mystery” series, which was released in the year 2017. It was like any other cold case. Stone and Dehan did not even consider reviewing it, until a private investigator (who is named Karl Baxter) wanted a copy of the file. That got Stone curious.

Why would a minor league PI in the Bronx ask to look into the case of a scumball petty criminal that was tied to a chair in his apartment? Who died after being beaten and then shot right through the heart? That leads to other questions. Who left the second pool of blood on the floor? Where was the body, if there was another victim?

A conversation with Baxter raises more questions. Like who is Tamara Guntherson? What did she do for Geronimo dos Santos, an even more mysterious person than Tamara, in 2015? The stakes get higher, the women more tempting and even more dangerous. The strain on Detectives Dehan and Stone’s partnership is about to make it snap. Leaving Stone on his own.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Dead Cold Mystery

2 Responses to “Dead Cold Mystery”

  1. Margaret Corcoran: 10 months ago

    Any suggestions as to where to get this series in paperback? My brother just had hip replacement surgery and doesn’t have an e-reader. I’m interested in starting with #9 to the end of this series.
    Many thanks.

    • Graeme: 10 months ago

      Unfortunately I believe it is ebook only.


Leave a Reply