Book Notification

Deathstalker Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Deathstalker Books

Deathstalker (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
Deathstalker Rebellion (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Deathstalker War (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Deathstalker Honor (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Deathstalker Destiny (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Deathstalker Legacy (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Deathstalker Return (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Deathstalker Coda (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon

The “Deathstalker” series written by author Simon R. Green is from the science fiction genre and began in the year 1995 with the release of “Deathstalker”. “Deathstalker Coda” is the eighth and final book in the series and was released in the year 2005. At first, books in the series came out rather regularly, but after the fifth book came out, in the year 1999, no new books were released until the year 2003. This is the longest gap between book releases; after this, installments continued to be released regularly, until its conclusion.

The “Twilight of the Empire” series is set in the same universe as “Deathstalker” but came out first and the events of which comes before. The stories either feature characters that later appear in these books or feature events that later get referenced in these books.

The series is a partial parody of space operas that came out in the fifties. The series is told with a major disregard of probability’s rules, and is at the same time quite bloodthirsty.

The series stars a man named Owen Deathstalker, who starts out as just a small time aristocrat and historian. He is taken from his quiet life of luxury and pursuits of a purely academic sort, and throws him into a rebellion that goes clear across the galaxy against the very empire that he lives within.

“Deathstalker” is the first novel in the “Deathstalker” series and was released in the year 1995. Imperial Majesty Lionstone XIV (or The Iron Bitch, as she is also called) ruled her human Empire by using fear. Either peasants or masters of the most powerful families in the galaxy; all of them were vulnerable to the queen’s outlawing and death. The queen kept everyone on their toes with these unpredictable declarations.

Owen Deathstalker had no intention of being his clan’s head. His father gets murdered, and Owen finds himself outlawed by the Empress’ order. Owen has to face down the fact that fate has made other plans for his destiny. He goes to Mistworld, where he starts to build a force, in an attempt to usurp the throne. He has a bounty hunter, a hero with a tortured soul, and a Hadenman (who was outlawed). Along with their help, the Deathstalker started down the very dangerous journey towards taking on the role that he had been destined to have since before he was even born.

Fans of the novel enjoy the fast paced and fun space opera that this story is. The story has an engaging style and even though Simon R. Green uses every single cliché from science fiction there is, there is a real enjoyable story with some deep characters. The dialogue is always light and amusing and full of jokes and banter (sometimes friendly, but sometimes it is not so friendly). Green writes with a unique tone throughout.

“Deathstalker Rebellion” is the second novel in the “Deathstalker” series and was released in the year 1996. Owen Deathstalker has a price on his head and just has to face his own destiny as the one who will challenge Queen Lionstone XIV. Rebellion in the galaxy is just the start of this first sequel to “Deathstalker”.

You feel that you are not getting anywhere in the story, but then you check your progress and see that you have gotten pretty far in the story after getting lost in the action. Fans of the novel found this to just be a ton of fun to read and is simply action packed. One of Green’s strong suits is his ability to work in humor into his work, something that is pretty strong in this book here.

“Deathstalker War” is the third novel in the “Deathstalker” series and was released in the year 1997. Owen’s rebellion is still striking out against the tyrannical Empire. It is taking the fight right to the center of the Empire on Golgotha. This cunning Empress is not just going to surrender without giving the very best fight she can.

Out of all the books in the series, this one is some people’s favorites. What a great way to continue such a fun series. Fans of the novel found these characters to be sharply drawn to let you, the reader, know who is fighting who and just what is going on, at all times. The novel is a thrill ride that you will not want to end, and there are some great plot twists that will leave you guessing. This is just a great and fun series full of great characters.

“Deathstalker Honor” is the fourth novel in the “Deathstalker” series and was released in the year 1998. Owen Deathstalker is now a hero after his successful rebellion against Lionstone XIV’s tyrannical ways. Political factions are currently fighting over who is going to replace the former Empress.

Humanity is about to face a much bigger threat that may just ruin them. There is an invasion fleet of alien origin encroaching on them, right when they think that they are safest.

Fans enjoyed all of the battles that happen in the book. This is an author that is not for everyone, but is still a great time, for those who do enjoy his work. Some cannot read the books fast enough, and find themselves reading all they can get their hands on, both of this series and other things that Green has written.

“Deathstalker Destiny” is the fifth novel in the “Deathstalker” series and was released in the year 1999. Owen’s biggest love (who is named Hazel d’Ark) has been kidnapped by a culture (called the Blood Runners) who are dedicated to the extremes attached to genetic experimentation.

He is stranded on a mission located on Lachrymae Christi. Owen gets busy to try to help the leper colony staying there survive. All the while, he is trying to either wait to save Hazel or get vengeance for her dying.

These are books to be read by fans who enjoy reading fun science fiction and do not need to read the greats of the genre. Fans felt that this installment did not disappoint them in the slightest; it is stunning, heart wrenching, and simply fantastic. The book makes you keep on reading, to find out what happens next in the story.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Deathstalker

Leave a Reply