Book Notification

Deb Caletti Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Tales of Triumph and Disaster! Books

A Flicker of Courage (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Weird in the Wilds (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Queen of Everything (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Honey, Baby, Sweetheart (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Wild Roses (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Nature of Jade (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Fortunes of Indigo Skye (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Secret Life of Prince Charming (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Six Rules of Maybe (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Stay (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Story of Us (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
He's Gone (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Last Forever (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Secrets She Keeps (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Essential Maps for the Lost (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
What's Become of Her (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Heart in a Body in the World (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Girl, Unframed (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
One Great Lie (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Epic Story of Every Living Thing (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Plan A (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

First Kissof True Lip-Locked Moments(2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hotel Angeline(2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

Deb Caletti is an award-winning American author of fiction, young adult literature, and fiction books. Her books have won numerous awards, including the Michael L. Printz Award Honor Book.

Her book, The Nature of Jade, is an International Reading Association Young Adults’ Choice book for The Queen of Everything. It was selected for the 2008-2009 California Reader’s Choice list in Spoken Soul by USA Today Best-Selling Author Rita Williams Garcia and was chosen as 2010 Children’s Choices by the International Reading Association.

Deb Caletti has written about everything from serial killers to wolves with tails to spaghetti monsters in glasses. With thousands of copies in print worldwide, she uses her real-life experiences, and that would include working on a farm with redneck men and getting her car towed to write about real-life experiences, such as losing your first love.

Deb is a longtime advocate for AIDS research and prevention organizations. She lives in Seattle with two dogs who still shed, but not as much as the redneck farm men.
The Secret Life of Prince Charming
The Secret Life of Prince Charming is a romantic, modern retelling of the classic fairytale of Cinderella.
The book introduces us to a 17-year-old Quinn who’s spent her life in the shadows of bad relationships. She’s aware of all the scary details of her aunt’s endless breakups and the story about her grandmother’s two failed marriages. She and her sister Sprout are also too familiar with their mother’s divorce from their father. Despite being aware of all these failed relationships in her bloodline, Quinn won’t give up and wants her father to be a part of her life.
Quinn doesn’t want to fail like all the women in her life have failed. She transforms herself into a responsible girl who only makes excellent and wise decisions. However, that façade soon begins to slip away when she starts examining her life closely and everything that inhabits it.

She understands that her father wasn’t a perfect man. Handsome, fun, witty, Barry can also be irresponsible, selfish, and vindictive. When Quinn discovers that her father obtained trophies from all of his six ex-girlfriends, she comes to a realization that she needs to take action.

This marks the start of a road trip at the core of this novel. With the assistance of the half-sister Quinn doesn’t know and the small sisters who seem to know more than the two, Quinn is determined to undo her father’s wrongdoings and return the trophies to the rightful owners. Unknown to her, what all starts as a simple delivery pans out into something she never anticipated as each stop Quinn makes brings her closer to the dad she never knew.

The Secret Life of Prince Charming creatively handles most things in a mastery way. Deb Caletti writing in the entire novel is quite astonishing. Her narrative is sprinkled with fragments of advice from the women in her father’s life discussing love and their past relationships. As a result, this results in half a dozen distinct narrative voices, all contained in one novel.

The author gives a detailed account into the reality of divorce from the children’s point of view when no one’s watching. Above all, this story focuses on what it feels like to have an estranged father. Despite all the evidence presented to her, Quinn loves her father and still idolizes him from the word go.
As the story moves along, Quinn is forced to face her mixed feelings for her dad and accept the truth about him could be quite different from the image she’s created in her mind over the years. The author examines the idolization of the father figure subject from all angles and carefully integrates it into the storyline.

The Secret Life of Prince Charming is not action-packed, not fast-paced, and subtly not romance. However, this novel is beautiful, compelling, and a highly recommended read.
The Nature of Jade
The Nature of Jade introduces the readers to Jade- a woman who experiences frequent panic attacks.
Even though she’s Calculus/AP English smart and counts syllables or pictures the desert on her fingers to relax her heartbeat, at times, she still can’t prevent stop over the terrible feeling that she’s in a box or feeling like her throat is constricting.
But one thing does for sure calm her down- watching elephants on the web camera of her local zoo.

That’s where she first makes contact with Sebastian and his kid. The sight of him soon becomes something she’s addicted to, and it’s great he maintains a regular schedule. But she often ponders why would Seb visit the zoo at night when it’s closed?

What could be troubling him? When she begins volunteering at the local zoo, she hopes it could be suitable for her school applications and probably hopes she meets Sebastian. This turns out to be the perfect plan in such different ways. Sebastian also becomes the perfect man except for the disturbing thoughts that she can’t get over.

Despite all these, Jades finds herself deeply in love with him and everything about him, including his grandma Tess and his child Bo.
When Jade finally discovers the truth, it’s more intricate than she ever thought. Should she inform her mother? As she makes the decision, the thin fabric of her family soon starts to unravel. In a twisted turn, her decision forces Sebastian out of her reach, like he was on the webcam. What could be really right? What needs changing and what really needs to stay the same, and what if it changes?

The Nature of Jade is an astonishing read. The characters in the book are easy to connect with and multi-faceted. And as it is so rare in this genre, the main character comes to see her parents as the feeble human they are, instead of the stereotypes she would like them to be. Additionally, there’s a deep and cunny moral questions that will leave you wondering what thing in our lives are real magnets of our moral compass.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Deb Caletti

Leave a Reply