Book Notification

Debbie Johnson Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Comfort Food Cafe Books

Summer at the Comfort Food Cafe (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Christmas at the Comfort Food Cafe (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Coming Home to the Comfort Food Café (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sunshine at the Comfort Food Café (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Gift from the Comfort Food Café (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Wedding at the Comfort Food Cafe (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Dark Vision Books

Publication Order of Starshine Cove Books

Escape to Starshine Cove (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Secrets of Starshine Cove (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Finding Hope in Starshine Cove (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of DebbieJohnson Standalone Novels

Fear No Evil (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cold Feet at Christmas (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Pippa’s Cornish Dream (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Never Kiss a Man in a Christmas Jumper (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Birthday That Changed Everything (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The A–Z of Everything (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Maybe One Day (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Moment I Met You (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Jenny James Is Not a Disaster (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon
Statistically Speaking (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of DebbieJohnson Short Stories/Novellas

The Mysterious Case of Cupid and the Drag Queen (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Debbie Johnson is a women fiction bestselling author Known for her Comfort Food Café series and the A-Z of Everything, among other novels. She also writes genres like romance, urban fantasy, and mystery.

The author says that you get to know her better by reading her books and things happening around the world. Her other works include Maybe One Day, cold feet Christmas, among others.

Summer at the Comfort Food Café
Summer At The Comfort Food Café is the debut novel in Comfort Food Café. The café is located on the cliff-top where people feel at the edge of the world. It’s famous for serving very delicious cream tea, carefully baked cupcakes, and nicely baked bread.

Tourists and other locals love this derelict place facing the beach as it’s a center of laughter, companionship, and safe more than any other place. The café also serves friendship daily, and the staff members are too welcoming.

Cherie is the owner of the food cafeteria and is looking for someone to help her run it over the summer. When Laura Walker sees the advertisement, she feels the need to take the job. She needs something that will keep her busy since she has lost her husband recently.

Laura is the lead character, and after losing her companion and best friend, she is still getting used to living without him by her side. Having been sweethearts since childhood, this is a big loss to her, and she is experiencing the motions of life with her two teenagers, Lizzie and Nate. Laura is trying to stay normal for the sake of the children.

She sends an application and is lucky to get the job and moves with her two kids even though they are not happy about the idea. Her plan is to take her children and travel from Manchester to Dorset for the summer. The children are against the idea and are not willing to move, and additionally, her parents think she has become insane.

Since her loss, she feels it’s the best time to move on and begin a new life. She has to look for a way to live independently and earn a living instead of just surviving. Finding a new place to call home will help her fill the gap he left in them.

When they arrive, they start making new friends and begin to like the place. Cherie tries her best to give her happiness as that’s the only thing she needs at the moment. Life in the countryside is a bit different, unlike the one they were used to as after they settle, they love the place.
Laura also makes male friends and other amazing people. The people there are too hilarious and give her the chance to make love while learning to love once more.

The kids love everything about the place, and to her, a comfort food café not only gives her a job but gives her another chance to live her life at best. She loves her job in the café and interacting with the customers as well as preparing meals.

Along the way, Laura becomes friends with Matt, a vet, and her neighbor, and they form a strong bond between them. He’s so handsome, and Laura seems to like him so much, but she hasn’t yet been over her husband’s death.

She realizes there is light at the end of her tunnel and has a reason to smile again. However, it’s difficult to make and choose whether she can leave her current life behind and return to the life she’s used to.

Debbie has a unique skill of delivering certain scenes and situations for the reader to stay hooked. The secondary characters are likable, which adds flesh to the story. Laura’s children play a large part in the story.

The story is sweet, heartwarming with a good balance of sadness and happiness. It’s also slightly romantic, giving only the necessary details to give the reader a satisfying read. Laura is a sweet lady who stumbles through life like any other ordinary lady, and some of the things she does without her consent are funny.

Cherie has a kind heart, and it’s amazing how she made Laura feel happy again. Debbie Johnson vividly writes about the place, the food, and the people who ate at the café. She writes the story so that the reader will be engaged in it right from the beginning.

The upbeat story talks about being brave enough and making the best out of a situation even after a personal nightmare.

Maybe One Day
For many years, Jess had lived believing that Joe, her child’s father the only man he loved, left her at the hour when she needed him most. Her belief ended seventeen years later when she was busy cleaning her mother’s house.

Her mother had just passed away, and since she was the one around, she decided to dust her house. While cleaning the attic, she comes across a box full of cards and letters that appear to have been hidden. It’s in these letters that she discovers the secret, and that changes everything in her life. She now realizes that everything in her life has been a lie all along.

She becomes so surprised, and with the help of her two friends, they begin a journey to follow unclear postmarks in the world. Might Joe be alive? Is he aware that Jess never stopped thinking about him?

Her parents had lied to her about Joe. There was an accident that led to the loss of their daughter Grace. Jess ended up getting hospitalized after a breakdown. Later, her parents informed her that Joe abandoned her because she couldn’t cope with the situation, and the news left her devastated.

The story is full of grief due to loss and emotions that you can’t help but feel sorry for Jess as you turn pages in this rollercoaster ride. When she finds out that all were lies, she is determined to find Joe and give their relationship another chance. The author blends sad and heartwarming scenarios to maintain a balance in the story.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Debbie Johnson

Leave a Reply