Book Notification

Deborah Elaine Kennedy Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Deborah Elaine Kennedy Standalone Novels

Tornado Weather (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Billie Starr's Book of Sorries (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

The American writer Deborah Elaine Kennedy has come a long way in a very short amount of time, having made huge waves within and throughout the literary industry, creating a name for herself extremely quickly. This has allowed her to become a massive force upon the release of her debut novel, with everyone singing her praises, from the critics to the general public, as she has become hugely successful very quickly. She has managed this thanks to her huge amount of talent as a writer, writing in a way that is very real and intimate, yet immersive and escapist as it is compelling and personal. Writing for a number of different highly prestigious publications in the past, she has now taken to writing crime and mystery fiction full-time, as she portrays a side of life that is both compelling and engaging in equal measure, whilst never forgetting to show the darker sides of this particular world. Saying something personal with her work too, she always puts forth a clear message too, with her own voice continually shining through, ultimately making it entirely unique and idiosyncratic to her as an individual. Previously putting forth her viewpoints on a regular basis, she would write for publications such as ‘Salon’ and ‘The North American Review’, allowing her to articulate herself to a large audience, whilst also establishing her name and brand as a writer. Creating unique characters as well, she has a definitely keen sense of insight, something which provides her work with a strong sense of empathy and compassion, as it allows her to write from a very real place. With intricately woven narratives that are expertly plotted too, she is obviously a master of her craft, allowing her to speak to her readers on a universal level, with readers ranging from far and wide, as her audience continually grows day-by-day.

Early and Personal Life

Born and raised in Fort Wayne in Indiana, Deborah Elaine Kennedy would grow up in America, as she would harness a passion for both reading and writing from a very early age. Attending Miami University, she would graduate with a Master’s in Fiction Writing and English Literature, something which would provide her with the tools she needed to carry on. This would carry on to her becoming a teacher and children’s baseball coach, as she would all the while continue to write and make a name for herself. Currently living in Forest Grove in Oregon with her young son and mother, she continues to write as an author full-time.

Writing Career

Bringing out her first book in 2017 on the 11th of July, Deborah Elaine Kennedy would make her fictional literary debut with the title ‘Tornado Weather’ to much acclaim. Having already made a name for herself as both a reporter and writer, she would then go on to the very next level, developing her writing and her career. With a lot more planned on the horizon, it looks like she isn’t stopping any time soon either, as her writing career grows from strength-to-strength.

Tornado Weather

Originally published through the ‘Flatiron Books’ publishing outlet, this would be the first book from Deborah Elaine Kennedy as an author, it being her debut release. Whilst it isn’t a part of any series as such, it works as an entirely stand-alone piece, working all on its own, allowing it to speak to the reader in one self-contained mystery. Showing a lot of promise for the future, this sets up an upcoming writer who is definitely one to watch in the years to follow.

Taking a look at a singular community, this is a book that looks at the relationships between many different people, as it casts a glance at the many different secrets that they hold. Providing a number of different characters and smaller vignettes, it manages to bring in a whole range of different stories, all centered around one singular event. This then allows the town of Colliersville to become a catalyst for much of the action, as it also happens to take on a character all of its very own.

Each day five-year-old Daisy Gonzalez has her father waiting for her at the bus-stop, but one day is left by the bus driver after he has to attend to an accident, as she claims she’s only five minutes from home and can wheel her wheelchair home. That’s when she goes missing, and everyone in the town suspects or knows something, as each and every character has their own story to tell. Bringing the rich fabric of the town to life, it appears that there is more to the community than initially meets the eye, as everyone has a secret of their own. Where did she disappear to? Can they find her? What will happen during the tornado weather?

Previous Writing

Having worked within a number of different writing capacities prior to becoming a writer, Deborah Elaine Kennedy is a highly versatile writer and reporter. Honing her voice through a variety of different publications before turning to writing for herself full-time, she’s managed to become a gifted writer who’s no stranger to writing for large audiences. Working as both a reporter and as an editor, she has been able to utilize her skills in various different ways, allowing her to gain a fully three-dimensional view of the trade and the industry as a whole.

Still working as an editor, she runs an editing company of her own called Windlass Editing, which oversees the editing of other various novels and creative works. This allows her to witness the trade in a whole range of different shapes and forms, from short-stories and poems, to memoirs and full novels. Over time this has provided her with the skills necessary to pursue the craft herself, allowing her to shape her own voice as a fully fledged author.

Previously she has also backed this up through her time spent working as a reporter, a trade which allowed her to discover her voice writing stories for a large audience on a regular basis. From Salon to the Sou’wester Review and Third Coast Magazine, she has made a name for herself as a writer in the past. This has now lead to her current status of a writer of fiction at this time, something which will carry on into the foreseeable future for some time to come.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Deborah Elaine Kennedy

Leave a Reply