Book Notification

Debra Burroughs Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Jenessa Jones Mystery Books

The Lake House Secret (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Stone House Secret (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Boat House Secret (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Gate House Secret (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Paradise Valley Mystery Books

The Scent of Lies (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Heart of Lies (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Chain of Lies (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Edge of Lies (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Betrayal of Lies (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Pursuit of Lies (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Color of Lies (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Harbor of Lies (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The House of Lies (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Season of Lies (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

She Had No Choice (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Three Days in Seattle (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

Debra Burroughs is a New York Times bestselling author that has made a name for writing emotionally gripping murder mysteries with sensual and romantic elements. Debra stands even amongst her peers because she doesn’t use graphic sex and coarse language to elicit the attention of her readers.


Debra Burroughs’ earliest years were not always peaceful, and not just because the women in her family suffered through so many struggles. By the time Debra was growing up, the San Francisco Bay area was in the throes of chaos as the Civil Rights Movement began to gain momentum.

This was back in the 1960s when racial tensions were really high, and it wasn’t long before Debra Burroughs’ family saw fit to move to the Central Valley of California where they hoped they could find some peace.

And indeed, Debra thrived in the new environment, excelling in her studies at school. The author was in high school when she first began to write. She produced a poem that garnered her attention.

Whether that acted as the spark that would eventually drive her towards publishing or if she had always wanted to take that route, it became clear that Debra might have a thing for writing when she joined her school’s newspaper.

She would go on to fill roles like Assistant Editor and Feature Editor. Things changed somewhat in college. Debra looked like she would pursue broadcast journalism, a field that was bound to help her pursue and even hone her writing skills.

But along the way, Debra decided to turn her attention to business. Not that she lost her zeal for writing. In the years that followed, the author started many writing projects, but she never followed up on any of them, not until 2009.

Debra Burroughs’ drive to write always emanated from the many stories she heard from and about her large Mexican family. The clan did not have the easiest history, especially Debra’s mother and grandmother, and they had a lot of unpleasant stories to tell about the lives they had lived.

The encouragement that Debra got to write often came from her friends. She was often so moved by her mother and grandmother’s tales that she would pass them on to friends who would often suggest that she collect them in a book.

While Debra appreciated the continual encouragement coming her way, it was her husband’s prodding that pushed the author to finally sit down and make a decent attempt at writing a book.

By this point, Debra’s children were grown and married. She found that she had the quiet time to write.

Even though the books that Debra writes are fictional in nature, she has admitted that, because the stories are based on true accounts, she has sometimes struggled to put them on paper. This is particularly true for the heart wrenching tales of the abuse her grandmother suffered at the hands of her husband and the despair that her mother experienced the day that she learned that Debra’s father was leaving her for someone else.

None the less, Debra always pushes through, certain that the stories she is telling are important and that they must be brought to readers.

Debra started her career as an author by working with a small press publisher. Everything she had learned about the publishing industry told her that traditional publishers were unlikely to give her a decent shot as a first time author.

Working with a small press publisher gave Debra Burroughs the environment she needed to learn about the process of publishing and marketing a book. By the time her second book was completed, the author was able to self-publish it.

It wasn’t easy. She had to invest in a cover artist and a professional editor. There were also formatting and layout issues to consider. Debra found that, as an indie author, she had to keep studying and learning in order to remain abreast of the times.

But she has, none the less, made progress.

Debra Burroughs has always encouraged aspiring authors to persist. She warns them that it takes a thick skin to make it with a traditional publisher. One must be prepared to persist and to keep pushing in order to get that lucrative book deal.

And even when the traditional publishers do not come calling, Debra doesn’t think that aspiring authors should simply give up, not when they can self-publish.

+The Scent of Lies

Emily Parker’s world collapsed when her husband died. But the young widow was determined to move on. Emily did not think that the hunt for her husband’s killer would prove so complicated.

But she soon finds herself drawn into a mystery involving a small town private investigator and his last client’s unfaithful husband. Emily knows there is more to the story than meets the eye and she is not satisfied by the convenient suspect the police choose to arrest.

Luckily for Emily, there is a sexy new detective in town that could help her solve her husband’s investigation. But Emily doesn’t know how far she wants to go, not when her search begins to reveal some unsettling aspects about her late husband.

This book is basic in every sense of the word. The writing style is simplistic, free of any notable details or imagery, with Debra Burroughs emphasizing the things people say more than anything else.

The book works to explain how Emily, a real estate agent, becomes a private investigator.

+The Lake House Secret

When reporter Jenessa Jones is driven home by a family tragedy, she finds more trouble than she bargained for. It isn’t just the human remains found near her hometown that have Jones on edge.

She is also caught between an old boyfriend and a new love interest. When a homicide investigation begins to single out a person Jones cares a lot about, she is forced to put everything aside in order to uncover the truth behind a murder that could leave her family in tatters.

This is one of Debra Burroughs’ better books. The book introduces Jenessa Jones as a lady that is having a really bad day. Not only does she lose her job and her home but her father dies of a heart attack not long after.

Debra makes it real easy to sympathize with the character even as she embarks on a journey to solve a homicide.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Debra Burroughs

Leave a Reply