Book Notification

Dee MacDonald Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Connie McColl Books

The Runaway Wife (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Getaway Girls (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Kate Palmer Books

A Body in the Village Hall (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Body in Seaview Grange (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Body at the Tea Room (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Body at the Altar (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Body on the Beach (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Body at Lavender Cottage (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Body in a Cornish Village (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Silver Ladies of Penny Lane (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Golden Oldies Guesthouse (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Sunshine Club (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Dee MacDonald is a cozy mystery, general fiction, and romance fiction author from Scotland who is best known as the author of the “Kate Palmer” series of novels.

She published “The Runaway Wife” her debut novel in 2018 and has never looked back since. The author now has more than a dozen works of fiction to her name and has shown no sign of slowing down any time soon.

While she has now become a very popular author, Dee McDonald has done it very late in life. She left Scotland to go to the English capital London during the 1960s.

In London, she worked as a typist in the West End before she ended up working on long-haul flights for British Overseas Airways Corporation (turned British Airways) as a stewardess, a job that she held for nearly a decade.
After she left BOAC, she got a job on the ground working as a market researcher for British Airways and government statistics while based at Heathrow.

She would then leave that job and work as a sales representative before moving on to work at Thames Television Studios as a receptionist at their Teddington office.

Deem MacDonald then moved to Cornwall in Scotland where she was the owner of a small bed and breakfast. She currently makes her home in Cornwall where she lives with her husband and writes her novels.

As for how she started writing, Dee MacDonald has said that it was something that she started doing when she was still very young.

She was just seven years old when she penned a simple love story that she also illustrated and then she sewed up all the pieces of paper on one side.

She has said that she was very good at writing while she was in school and in fact, she was the winner of several essay writing competitions. However, life would get in the way as she got involved in trying to earn a living.
It was not until she retired and moved back to Cornwall that she once again picked up her pen to write. She began by penning some short fiction that were published in several anthologies but ultimately she decided that she needed to publish The Book.
When she is not writing her novels, she can usually be found keeping in touch with her fans and readers in her newsletter and in her social media profiles on Twitter and Facebook.

Dee MacDonald’s novel A Body in the Village Hall introduces the lead character of the Kate Palmer series of novels.

Kate recently moved to Cornwall seeking a quiet life in the small town of Lower Tinworthy and now makes her home in the picturesque Lavender Cottage.

Living with Angie her sister, she believes she has found the perfect place to start over. But barely a month after they arrive, the close-knit community experiences a bizarre death.
A resident was found seemingly killed by her own knife in the village hall. Kate who had started working at the local medical center as a practice nurse begins investigations.

Fenella the dead woman was an integral member of the community and it seems that over the years, there were many people she had rubbed the wrong way. But could any of them harbor enough hatred to take her out?
As she gets deeper into life in Lower Tinworthy, she embarks on a close relationship with Forrest the detective Inspector who is just about to retire and wants to crack the case before he does.

Things get interesting when someone breaks into her house and leaves a dire warning on her bed. It seems the killer is ready to do anything to ensure they don’t get to the bottom of this bizarre mystery.

“A Body in Seaview Grange” by Dee MacDonald is another interesting addition to the Kate Palmer series. Kate was looking forward to some tranquility in her life in Cornwall when her plans were interrupted by murder.
Her retirement has not been going as planned as her sister’s fondness for gin has been draining her savings just at a time when her Lavender Cottage is in dire need of significant repairs.

When she is offered a job taking care of some patients at the Seaview Grange luxury retirement flats, she jumps at the opportunity.

She knows she will love working there as the retirees are mostly peaceful and the ancient Regency-era house has stunning views of the sea.

But then glamorous ex-opera singer Edina Martell is found poisoned a few weeks after she starts. According to investigations she died of an overdose of a medication she had been taking for years named Digoxin.
Kate is skeptical as she is sure the woman was never suicidal and since her reputation may also be threatened she decides to do some investigations.

Working with Woody Forrest the now-retired detective inspector, she believes they have found evidence of foul play. But the list of suspects is too long.

Dee MacDonald’s novel “A Body at the Tea Rooms” opens with Kate Plamer frustrated. Renovations at Angie her sister’s new tea rooms have to stop since builders just discovered a body in the cellar.
There was nothing she was waiting forward to more than seaside views while taking cream tea but now she may have to investigate a murder mystery.

According to the village grapevine, the dead man had some connections to the influential Hedgefieeld family.
Kate does not want to get entangled in the investigation but her interest is sparked when a curious card falls from the jacket pocket belonging to the victim.

The fact that there are rumors saying her sister could be involved also pushes her toward investigating. Kate needs to clear Angie’s name and once again collaborates with Woody Forrest to find answers to the mystery.
After asking questions of a few locals, she realizes that the Hedgefield family who own half the village and live in a massive luxurious mansion, may not be as perfect as they would like everyone to believe.
They may be hiding a dark family secret and have over the years made some enemies including former employees.

But as Kate, Forrest, and Angie inch closer to the truth, the latter goes missing.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Dee MacDonald

Leave a Reply