Book Notification

Delia Parr Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of At Home in Trinity Books

The Midwife's Tale / A Place Called Trinity (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Midwife's Choice / Home to Trinity (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Midwife's Dilemma (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Candlewood Trilogy Books

A Hearth in Candlewood (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Refining Emma (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Where Love Dwells (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Hearts Along the River Books

Hearts Awakening (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Love's First Bloom (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hidden Affections (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Home Ties Trilogy Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Evergreen (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Fire in Autumn (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
By Fate's Design (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Ivory Duchess (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Minister's Wife (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sunrise (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Promise of Flowers (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Perfect Secrets(1999)Description / Buy at Amazon

Delia Parr is the pseudonym of award winning and bestselling author of inspirational historical romance novels. She has won the Best Inspirational Book by the Aspen Gold Award, Best First Book by the Romantic Times Award and the Laurel Wreath Award for Historical Romance. As Delia Parr, she made her debut in 2002 when she published “A Place Called Trinity” that spawned the Trinity series of novels. Since then she has published more than twenty novels across different series. She is also the mother of three children and when she is not writing her novels she works a full time job as a New Jersey high school teacher. She usually writes her novels during the holidays that she usually spends on Florida’s Anna Maria Island.

Parr who now lives in Collingswood was born in Pennsauken to a working class family. She was one of six girls among seven siblings that she still communicates with very frequently. In 1965, she graduated from Pennsauken High School and shortly after she got married and became a stay at home mother. Even though she had always been an avid reader, writing was not something she thought she would do professionally as she loved history and wanted to pursue a career in it. Aged thirty three, she decided to go back to college majoring in education and history at Rutgers University. She got her degree in 1986 and got a job at Pennsauken High School where she taught social studies. It is also at Rutgers University where she earned her American History masters degree, which she would later go on to teach.

Similar to many other female authors such as Janet Evanovich, Delia Parr began her career writing romance fiction. Parr used to spend much of her holidays in Ocean Gate where she would sit and critique the many books that were in her sister’s Carol Htz’s library. Finally, her sister told her that she should just write one of her own rather than just be a critic. She set out to write complicated characters in intricate relationships that used faith to get over challenges in life just like she does. Delia wanted to write characters that did not wait upon a wealthy and design suitor to rescue them but rather those that made things happen for themselves. She wanted to write a character such as Moriah Lane from the novel “Evergreen” who reaches her goals with the help of women or by her own efforts.

Delia Parr had four of her novels rejected before she got her debut novel “Evergreen” accepted and published by St. Martin in 1995. She then followed these with six more sweet romance titles rather than the bodice rippers she has now come to be known for. After writing more than half a dozen novels, she shifted gears and started writing novels with religious or inspirational themes. She loves to refer to herself as a lapsed catholic and in many of her novels are to be found characters that thank or pray to God even though she never specifies their religious affiliation. In many of her novels, she uses a midwife as the lead which makes it possible to explore many other characters in small town settings. The choice of midwife also had to do with the fact that it was among the few professions where women held authority and power. As for her name change, it was all about getting a name that would be easier to pronounce and one that befitted a romance novelist.

“Heart’s Awakening” by Delia Parr is the story of Ellie Kilmer. She is a woman who is working as a housekeeper on Dillon Island as it is the only way to earn a living she has left. She is hoping that the young widower she is working for will provide her with the reference she needs in her later endeavors. But the widower Jackson Smith soon realizes that he could use her to solve two of his problems. He could use her to put to bed the scandal about his first marriage and in the rearing of his children. Ellie is initially humiliated when Jackson offers a marriage of convenience. While she is long past marriageable age, she still had enough pride to reject what she deems a very outlandish suggestion. But she has few options and by accepting his offer, she will have stability and a home. And as such, even though there are wild rumors about her employer and his first wife she takes up the outrageous proposal.

In “Love’s First Bloom” by Delia Parr, Ruth has her life change for the worse when her father banishes her and her child to small-town New Jersey under a false name. She now lives as a widow in seclusion waiting for her father to be absolved of his crimes. But things are complicated by the rise of the penny press which stirs public imagination. The trial of her father is taking center stage as a brash journalist named Asher Tripp decides that this is the case that will make his name as a newspaper man. Ruth usually finds comfort in gardening along the Toms River, which is the only place she finds tranquility as things get worse all around her. But it is also here that the journalist too makes his temporary home. He is charged with investigating if Widow Malloy is who she says she is or if she is the daughter of the man accused of the heinous crimes. Slowly but surely, love is blooming but do they have enough affection to rise above the secrets that separate them.

Delia Parr’s “Hidden Affection” is the story of Annabelle Tyler who was betrayed by her husband and now has to live as a divorcee. Legally being a divorcee is not the best thing for a young woman during these times. She tries to start a new life by getting married to the elusive yet most eligible bachelor in Philadelphia in Harrison Graymoor. Harrison tells her that he is going to get her an annulment even though they are not yet aware that the information regarding their marriage has already been sent to the Philadelphia press.The appearance of her ex husband, a wealthy cousin that wants to get with her and Harrison’s past all threaten their fledgling relationship.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Delia Parr

Leave a Reply