Book Notification

Delilah Street Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Delilah Street, Paranormal Investigator Books

Dancing With Werewolves (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Brimstone Kiss (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Vampire Sunrise (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Silver Zombie (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Virtual Virgin (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Monster Mash (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Delilah Street, Paranormal Investigator, are a series of books written by Carole Nelson Douglas, author of such popular literary works as the critically acclaimed Irene Adler historical suspense novels and the 25-book Midnight Louie contemporary mystery series. Douglas was born on November 5, 1944, and has written over sixty novels in her career, in addition to many short stories and other literary works. She has been nominated for over fifty awards in her career, and she specializes in writing in a style that morphs reality with the fantasy worlds that she so artfully constructs. The Delilah Street series spans over five books and features Delilah Street as the main character, with a cast of other protagonists who appear multiple times throughout the series.

Delilah Street is introduced to readers in the series’ first book, Dancing with Werewolves. This book was published by Pocket Books on October 30, 2007, and reads 400 total pages, cover to cover. The story’s protagonist is a woman who must overcome many obstacles to help save the world. She is introduced to readers as Delilah Street. Small town Kansas reporter turned paranormal investigator Delilah Street is thrown into a fast-paced, dangerous career when the world learns that the supernatural live among them. Though many aspects of the world she lives in are similar to our world, Delilah lives in an alternate Earth that Douglas carefully constructs throughout the series. Ten years after the revelation that the supernatural world was not only real but also amongst the inhabitants of her realm, werewolves, vampires, witches, demons, zombies, ghosts and more are all present in the domain in Douglas’ Delilah Street series.

In Dancing with Werewolves, the young reporter finds herself in booming Las Vegas in 2013, now a supernatural hub complete with the gates of Hell. Though Delilah starts the series as a human, she becomes supernaturally powerful in some aspects throughout the reading of the book. Her attraction to silver helps her as she begins to master the art of mirror-walking. Delilah is a born conqueror who has never let a slight hazard throw off her game, and she’s been learning fast since she arrived in Sin City. She gets by with help from her lover, Ric Montoya, whom readers get to meet alongside Delilah. Her trustworthy canine companion, Quicksilver, is on board for the trip to Las Vegas as well. Ric Montoya is described as a hunky Latino boyfriend. Ric is an ex-FBI agent with a couple magic tricks of his own, and Quicksilver is a massive wolf hound who fights alongside his owner in battles and heals her afterwards. The trio find themselves in peril as Delilah moves to Las Vegas after she is run out of Wichita by a resentful weather witch. Delilah and readers then meet the illustrious Ric. Delilah searches for her furtive look-alike, and gets tangled up with Las Vegas’ terrifying and hairy werewolf mob.

The second book is the series was released almost one full calendar year later. Published on October 28th, 2008, by Pocket Books, Brimstone Kiss reads a total of 400 pages cover to cover, like its forerunner, Dancing with Werewolves. This book finds the series’ heroine, Delilah Street, still fighting hard to maintain the good in the world despite an outpouring of supernatural evils. Delilah and her lover Ric are hard at work together, doing their best at solving another case. Delilah and Ric solve the murder of a pair of lovers found together in an unmarked grave. Ric is almost slaughtered by a group of ancient Egyptian vampires. This book offers a more emotional look as the characters introduced to readers in the first book. The readers have a chance to connect and understand more about the depths of the relationships between the characters. As the series’ plot thickens, the world of the supernatural becomes more and more familiar to Delilah, as she becomes more and more familiar to them, as well.

The series’ finds Delilah Street in a variety of situations and follows her over several years. Readers of this series boast the intricacy of the relationships between the characters and the deep level of familiarity that they feel with the characters only deepens with each new chapter. The author writes in a style that is sensual, dark, and also somewhat humorous at times. Delilah Street actually mixes drinks in the books that the readers can try out. The author has included recipes for the drinks made popular by Delilah, and readers love to make those drinks as homage to the wonderful world crafted by Carole Nelson Douglas. The author writes with an intricacy usually found in nonfiction books, and explains her fantasy world to the readers with great detail and accuracy. The series, while grounded with modern American culture, is dotted with odd and awe inspiring details and settings that readers have not before imagined. The characters split into their own personal battles and tribulations as well as working together on major combats and events. Delilah begins the series as a human who was not well versed in the finer details of supernatural life, but as she gains experience as an investigator and a crime solver, she uncovers more than she ever bargained for.

Though the books written later in the series often refer back to the past books and happenings that have unfolded for Delilah and her friends, the fifth book offers readers a brief recap of the action that has occurred in the previous four books. Readers should start with Dancing with Werewolves, then work their way through the series in order, so that they can retain and understand as much information as possible about these characters and their lives.

The final book in the Delilah Street series, Virtual Virgin, was published by Pocket Books on November 29, 2011. The book’s 384 pages are packed with excitement, and the summation of the relationship between Delilah and Ric finally arrives. Readers of the series have asked the author whether or not she plans to continue the series, since there are still some possibilities for Delilah Street. The author, Carole Nelson Douglas, replied to one fan in April of 2015 on her website, stating that she has plans for Delilah and that fans should stay tuned for the next chapter in our heroine’s eventful life.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Delilah Street

Leave a Reply