Book Notification

Demon Cycle Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Demon Cycle Books

The Warded Man / The Painted Man (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Desert Spear (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Brayan's Gold (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Daylight War (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Messenger’s Legacy (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Skull Throne (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Core (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Barren (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Demon Cycle Collections

The Great Bazaar and Other Stories (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon

Written by the American fantasy novelist Peter V. Brett, the Demon Cycle series has been running since 2008 and has been going for over three books and counting. With more entries into the franchise expected shortly, this series has fast found both commercial and critical acclaim, achieving a respectable amount of success during its run. Well known for his unique take on the genre of fantasy, Brett is well regarded within his field having managed to generate a considerable amount of attention in a relatively short amount of time.

The series itself aims to be a quintet that focuses on the world of demons and the threat that they pose to the safety of everyday mortals living their lives. Effectively working as fantasy thrillers, they operate in dimly lit underworlds featuring troubled protagonists attempting to guard the sanctity of their kingdoms, but at what cost? With the safety of the people comes a great many sacrifices along the way, ones including their freedoms as they’re shielded from the demons that threaten them. Having had a clear idea of the stories arc since the very beginning, Brett manages to convey the story both intelligently and articulately as it progresses towards its natural and logical conclusion.

The Warded Man

Originally published in 2008 on the 1st of January, this was the initial entry into the Demon Cycle series that begun it all, thus introducing its readers into its dark and demonic netherworld. Setting up the character arcs with its chief protagonist, it manages to create an illuminating look into an idiosyncratic universe that’s different in both its style and scope. Building upon the world it’s set within as well, it manages to introduce the rules and conventions of this landscape too, thus giving the readers an idea of what to expect over the forthcoming books.

Starting with its young protagonist in the form of Arlen, it features his story as he finds his place in this world as he approaches his teenage years. The focus then shifts to Leesha, a young girl in a similar situation, before moving onto Rojer, another young boy, as they also aim to find themselves. Moving along with them, it sees them growing up as the reader views the world through their young eyes, effectively being introduced to it in the process. This method allows a sense of understanding that gently ushers the audience into the narrative, as the protagonists attempt to make sense of this dark and foreboding world.

Also known as ‘The Painted Man’ internationally, this book tells the story of a world that is under threat from demon invasions whereby these creatures rise from the ground at night and attack the humans. Eating the inhabitants, these demons are known as ‘corelings’ and are said to reside deep within the core of the earth hiding inside the darkness there. With each of the protagonists coming of age, they are set to be the saviors of humanity and safeguard the humans, as they each learn their own strengths and weaknesses in order to fight off this new and deadly oncoming threat. Will they be able to survive this new threat? What does it mean as to who they are and their own sense of identity? Can anyone ever really come to terms with being the ‘Warded Man’?

The Desert Spear

First published in 2010 on the 1st of January again, this book sought to continue Brett’s foray into the demonic world that he’d previously created once more. Taking a decidedly different direction this time, it goes about breaking down the expectations of the reader giving them something entirely unexpected in the process. Still using many of the same themes, it establishes a new protagonist, or set of protagonists, whilst continuing to use the same world as before, giving an alternative perspective for his audience, thus branching out and providing a more elaborate sense of scope.

Looking at the story of Jardir this time, it conveys a sense of a broken man attempting to find himself in this dark and inhospitable world, as it works to win the audience over to his side, despite his character being initially offputting. Then there’s Renna, a woman who happens to be in a similar situation as she looks to make her own way in this world, just as others have before her. All this works together to create a new and unique narrative that’s decidedly darker than what came before in the previous novel in this series.

As the demons continue to arise at night from the center of the planet and consume the surface inhabitants, there are those that also carry on their fight against this constant menace. Following the new set of protagonists, the story tells of how there is now a figure known as ‘The Deliverer’ who will fight against these monsters, however reluctant he may be about his new status. Carrying his spear from the Deliverer’s tomb, he will lead an army against the demons, along with any others that choose to stand in his path. Will he be able to fight off the demons? Can he ever come to terms with who he truly is? What will become of them all as the charge is led with the ‘Desert Spear’?

The Demon Cycle Series

Set over a series of five books, with the fifth and final one due in 2018, this is a confined line of novels that are self-contained within their narrative. That’s not to say that there haven’t been spin-off entries into the franchise either with short story collections such as ‘The Great Bazaar and Other Stories’ that fit into this arc as standalone entries. Developing the rich world that Brett has created, they seek to build upon the franchise as a whole adding new characters to the already well defined landscape providing a greater sense of scope for his now many readers.

Laid out in a straightforward order to be read one after the other, these books follow a linear narrative that continue throughout the franchise. Rumors of a horror film based on the first novel have been said to be in the pipeline for some time now, with a movie adaptation planned for release in the future. So far, though, with the books being translated into various different languages, the series is still set to continue as it grows from strength-to-strength on into the foreseeable future, with the author Peter V. Brett showing no signs of stopping anytime soon.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Demon Cycle

Leave a Reply