Book Notification

DemonWars Saga Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of DemonWars Saga Books

The Demon Awakens (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Demon Spirit (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Demon Apostle (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mortalis (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ascendance (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Transcendence (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Immortalis (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Trial by Fire (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Education of Brother Thaddius and Other Tales of DemonWars (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Education of Brother Thaddius and Other Tales of DemonWars surround the seven-book DemonWars Saga.

The DemonWars Saga is the creation of R.A Salvatore. Constituting seven books, the series takes place in a world known as Corona; focusing around a nomadic people known as the To-gai-ru within the kingdoms of Honce-the Bear and Benhren, the saga is divided into two trilogies connected by one book.

The First Trilogy

‘The Demon Awakens’, the first novel in the first trilogy, introduces the heroes Elbryan and Pony to the readers, as two young friends that struggle to find meaning and order within their lives after the destruction of their village. After growing apart and seeking a future in their respective paths, the duo, accompanied by the monk Avelyn, comes together to face a threat in the great demon Dactyl and his force of monsters.

Eventually contending with great evil and withstanding difficult battles in the hopes of finally finding victory in ‘The Demon Apostle’, the last book of the trilogy, Mortalis, R.A Salvatore’s fourth novel in the series acts as a bridge between the first and second trilogy, not only allowing the readers the chance to experience the devastation of war and the sacrifices that the forces of good had to pay for victory, but the novel introduces two new heroes to the fold in Aydrian Wyndon (child of Elbryan and Pony) and the To-Gai girl Brynn Dharielle.

The second Trilogy

The second trilogy divides its primary story into two parts, the first novel in the trilogy, ‘Ascendance’, focusing primarily upon Elbryan and Pony’s son, Aydrian Wyndon and the dark events he invites upon his kin and kith in choosing to succumb to an arrogance nurtured largely by dark forces.

The second novel, ‘Transcendence’, reintroduces Brynn Dharielle and the hardships she faces in her attempts to free her people from tyranny with the help of several allies, including a dragon and Elbryan’s former mentor.

It isn’t until the last book in the trilogy that the heroes of the first two books are finally united against a great foe, finally vanquishing evil from the land.

R.A. Salvatore

The youngest member of his family, Robert graduated from Leominster high, often commenting about the role the school (and specifically his English teacher) played in nurturing his hunger for reading and writing.

Receiving the novel as a Christmas present, Robert’s interest with Fantasy emerged from a love for Lord of the Rings and all things Tolkien; and it was as he began to delve deeper into the genre that Robert to chose to change his major to journalism (from computer science), first acquiring a Bachelor’s Degree in communications before pursuing a Bachelor of Arts in English.

Robert worked as a bouncer before taking up writing as a full time job. Outside the realm of fantasy novels, Robert has dabbled in video games, writing for titles such as Forgotten Realms: Demon Stone and Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning.

Robert has also penned other fantasy series outside of The DemonWars Saga universe, including The Icewind Dale Trilogy, The Dark Elf Trilogy, The Cleric Quintent and Paths of Darkness to mention but a few.

The Demon Awakens

Within a volcano cavern, a great beast begins to awaken; and with its rise, it portends death and destruction, its evil driving many a dark creature to wreak havoc across the settlements of the frontier.

Within the confines of Dundallis, none survive the ravages of vicious giants and fearsome goblins, none but two scarred infants. Little more than children and stripped of all that they hold dear, Elbryan and his friend Pony are faced with a difficult path, teetering between fate and total annihilation.

In a far off land, monks, the guards of ancient magic, are bedazzled by a shower of colored stones falling from the sky, gems with great power, enough to turn the tide of war between good and evil, depending on the hands that wield them.

Published in 1998 by Del Rey Books, the first novel of The First Trilogy of The DemonWars Saga series is a busy book, playing with so many elements that many readers have suggested that ‘The Demon Awakens’ might have worked better as two books, at the very least proving to be a much lighter read.

The novel introduces Corona, a world little different from the typical medieval fantasy world, with knights, castles and fantastical features roaming the land. Within this world Salvatore paints a pretty vivid image of the book’s primary characters, Pony and Elbryan, their final days as children and the harsh trials they face in choosing to combat a deadly evil.

Accompanied by the young monk Avelyn and the crises of faith that buffet him, Salvatore brings these heroes together as they inspire a weak force of refugees to contend with the might of demonic hordes intent upon either ruling or laying to waste the world as it is known.

The Demon Spirit

IN the second book of The First Trilogy of The DemonWars Saga, Elbryan and Pony have grown closer during their many adventures. Believing that the tide of darkness must have begun to recede, the pair is horrified to learn than the sacrifice of a dear friend might have been in vain.

As Dactyl’s demonic power begins to infiltrate civilized lands, ravaging Corona to its core, Elbryan and Pony will have to stand against a most frightening foe, as once holy and just places rededicate their efforts towards obliterating the forces of good.

If Corona’s great heroes fail, nothing will stop a malignant evil from corrupting the light of Corona.

With the second book in the series, Salvatore manages to overcome his past failings, telling a tightly controlled and well paced story; the world of Corona continues to expand within a tale that is as heartbreaking as it is action packed.

And the surprises are never ending, with Robert producing what might be one of his greatest villains in Markwart, the Abbot of the church. With the stakes rising higher and higher with each chapter, Elbryan and Pony facing a challenge they were never prepared for or trained to fight, ‘The Demon Spirit’ promises a dark and dangerous adventure through fantastical lands, laced with epic battles, tests of strength against demonic foes, trying journeys and hard won victories, and it more than delivers on all fronts.

The DemonWars saga has been adapted into numerous comics such as Trial by Fire and Eye for an Eye, released in 2003.

Book Series In Order » Characters » DemonWars Saga

Leave a Reply