Book Notification

Den of Shadows Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Den of Shadows Books

In the Forests of the Night (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Demon in My View (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shattered Mirror (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Midnight Predator (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Persistence of Memory (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Token of Darkness (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
All Just Glass (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon

Dens of Shadows is a highly entertaining book series that has been set in Nyeusigrube, a world that is much similar to the world that we live in; the only difference is that it is rich with magic. Apart from complex shape shifters this world is also full of civilizations of vampires, witches, and humans as well, who sometimes may be hiding or intermingling with one another. There are also moments when each of these creatures strives to dominate their prey. The Den of Shadows book series is made up of nine books, three short stories and related series that were published between the year 1999 and 2006. Despite the fact that this book series came to an end, the author, Amelia Atwater-Rhodes has pointed out that some of her characters will return as well as the world that they live in, in the aftermath of the final level of the series, Promises to Keep.

Amelia has not yet revealed the date that she is going to release the novel. However, she has pointed out the fact that it is going to be somewhere shortly. Despite the fact that the Den of Shadow novels is a book series, and also take place in the same world and the same order of publication, they have mostly been penned down as standalone novels. However, the installment All Just Glass cannot be read alone because it has been penned down as a direct sequel to the novel, Shattered Mirror. These books can be read of order; however, they do build up on each other. Long-term readers are going to find cross-references as well as numerous situations, where events from one narrative triggered events in the other narrative.

In The Forests of the Night

As the first book in the Den of Shadows book series, we are introduced to Rusika, a vampire who does not want to be a vampire. Aubrey and Anther had converted Rusika into a vampire without giving her any choice. Thus, Rusika wants to get revenge by killing these Aubrey and Anther for converting them. In this installment, the vampires can take any form or make themselves visible to human beings. The power that these vampires possess depends entirely on the mother. While all these powers are exceedingly different to the clichés that we are used to, the author has not made the vampires any different from what the reader may be used to. Before she was named Rusika, Rachel resided with her family in Concord, Massachusetts. Rachel had a twin brother, who just like Rachel had issues with his ability to control fire, as well as his voice. One day when Rachel encounters his brother one night, her life changes forever.

When Rachel met Anther and Aubrey, Aubrey transformed her into a vampire, forcing Rachel to feed on human beings to live. It was at this point that Rachel was given the name Rusika. Despite the fact that Risika is not thrilled at all with her new life, Aubrey still haunts her mainly because he happens to be the one who killed Riska’s brother and she happens to be the only person that he fears. Risika has, in turn, managed to make a name for herself by living among the human beings in New York. Risika’s feeding territory is New York, but she still manages to cross all the way to Aubrey’s territory. As she gets ready for the fight, she begins to taunt Aubrey. But will Risika be able to overcome Aubrey? With that said, Rusika is not your average vampire. Ever since her brother passed away, she has shielded herself from loving anyone.

However, it does not take long before she finds love once again, but this time around it is in a zoo. Unlike other vampires, the sun does not affect Risika. However, the only challenge that Risika faces is that the sun causes her eyes to itch. With that said, In the Forests of the Night is a highly entertaining read. One of the best parts of the book is the interaction between the antagonist and protagonist. The author has given the antagonist an old school flavor where the villain is not a simple victory but rather exceedingly complex, thereby making it exceedingly hard to defeat the villain.

Demon in My View

Demon in My View is the second book in the Den of Shadows book series. Teenage writer, Amelia Atwater makes a return to the witches and vampires of the Forest of the Night for this rather fast moving sequel. This time around, Demon in View focusses on Jessica, a high school student whom we had met in the first installment. Jessica used to pen down her books under the pen name of Ash Night, and ever since she has published her very first book, a vampire story known as Tiger, Tiger. However, despite writing the book out of her imagination, Jessica is unaware that the characters in her book are real people, and they are not happy at all with Jessica, since they believe that she has spilled their secrets. In the process, they also believe that Jessica has alerted the vampire hunting witches to the undisclosed location of the undead village located in New Mayhem.

To get revenge, a vampire Aubrey decides to join Jessica’s school as a new student. However, Jessica’s exceedingly dark aura, in turn, attracts Aubrey towards her. Aubrey decides to pursue Jessica, unaware as to whether he wants to kill her, change her into a vampire or protect her. With that said, this is a fantastic read, that is going to keep the readers turning the pages quickly. The author, Amelia Atwater, exercises, a rather impressive control over the exceedingly complex lineage that she has imagined and in turn comes up with an exceedingly impressive solution to advance the narrative.

Shattered Mirror

Shattered Mirror is the third book in the Den of Shadow series. In this book, the protagonist is not Jessica but rather Sarah Tigress Vida, a hunter, vampire, and a witch as well. Her entire family is made up of vampires. Apart from being tough, Sarah Jessica is also a loner who prefers the company of the stars at night rather than human beings. Things begin to get a little bit hotter when Sarah meets with two students who pose up as vampires. One of the vampires is Christopher who happens to be an exceedingly harmless vampire who instead of feeding on human feeds on animal blood to stay alive.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Den of Shadows

Leave a Reply