Book Notification

Department Z Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Department Z Books

The Death Miser (1933)Description / Buy at Amazon
Redhead (1933)Description / Buy at Amazon
First Came a Murder (1934)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death 'Round the Corner (1935)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Mark of the Crescent (1935)Description / Buy at Amazon
Thunder in Europe (1936)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Terror Trap (1936)Description / Buy at Amazon
Carriers of Death (1937)Description / Buy at Amazon
Days of Danger (1937)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death Stands By (1938)Description / Buy at Amazon
Menace! (1938)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder Must Wait (1939)Description / Buy at Amazon
Panic! (1939)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death by Night (1940)Description / Buy at Amazon
Island of Peril (1940)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sabotage (1941)Description / Buy at Amazon
Go Away Death (1942)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Day of Disaster (1942)Description / Buy at Amazon
Prepare for Action (1942)Description / Buy at Amazon
No Darker Crime (1943)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dark Peril (1944)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Peril Ahead (1946)Description / Buy at Amazon
The League of Dark Men (1947)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Department of Death (1949)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Enemy Within (1950)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dead or Alive (1951)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Kind of Prisoner (1954)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Black Spiders (1957)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Department Z series is a series of mystery, thriller, and crime fiction novels written by the popular British author John Creasey. This series depicts the tales of pacey and racey espionage. Author John Creasey has described a British Intelligence agency named Department Z, which is believed to have been set up during the early 1930s. The intelligence agency is comprised of a collection of ultra secret civilians. All the stories depicted by author John Creasey in the Department Z series happen before, after, and during the World War II. During that time, the brave men from the Department Z fought against the enemies to save the crown. There is a total of 28 books written and published in the series by author John Creasey between the years 1932 and 1957. The first book in the Department Z series was titled as The Death Miser. It was first published in the year 1932 and then republished by the Ipso Books publishing house in the year 2015. The story of this book shows that millions of innocent lives are at stake due to a sinister conspiracy by an international agency.

Everything depends on the elite class detective agency of England named Department Z. It is up to the brave agents from this department to make sure that the international conspiracy does not succeed. But, in order to stop it from happening, they are required to keep the things quiet. One of the honorable agents from Department Z named James Quinion knows the importance of discretion very well and believes that it is an integral part of being one of the members of the Secret Service. All the men in Department Z are described as bachelors having a suicidal mind set. When they come to know about the sinister conspiracy, they make themselves ready for the highly dangerous and high profile job. As the plot of the book progresses, Quinion finds that he is in right in the middle of the firing line. He also feels danger to his own life, but in spite of all these difficulties he is willing to give whatever it takes to keep the international conspiracy under wraps and under control.

One of the earliest books written and released by author John Creasey in the Department Z series was published under the title ‘Redhead’. It was initially released in the year 1933 and then again in the year 1971 by the Arrow Book publishers. The story depicted in this book is set in New York, The United States, and Sussex, The United Kingdom. At the start of the story, it is depicted that two men have a very successful tour of New York. When they are on the way of their return journey, a few men start firing at their car with machine guns. They come out of the situation unhurt and later take the help of the police to get themselves smuggled out of New York. When the two men reach home, they are shot at once again. They were pretty much sure that someone does not like them and is trying to kill them desperately. In order to find out the answers to all their questions, the two men decided to head out and find it out on their own.

Eventually, they find themselves involved in the well made plans of an underworld boss from America. The two men are forced to enter into Britain. Subsequently, their amazingly pitched fight in the quiet countryside of Sussex comes to an end. It turns out that the two men at the center stage of the plan are Martin Storm and his business partner. When Martin Storm tries to connect all the events beginning from the machine gun firing at him in New York to the firing at his home, he discovers that he has already become a part of the business plan of the American underworld boss. This dangerous underworld boss has the plans to expand his business all over Britain and for this purpose, he has used Martin Storm and his business partner. In the end, it becomes quite interesting to see whether Martin Storm will be able to escape from clutches of the American gangster, or he and his partner will become victims of the complex game of the underworld.

One of the other books written initially by author John Creasey in the Department Z series was published under the title ‘Death Round the Corner’. This book was released by the Arrow Books in the year 1970 after being originally released in the year 1953. The main characters depicted in the story of this book include Leopold Gorman, Gordon Craigie, and Tony Beresford. At the start of the book, it is shown that Leopold Gorman had the intention of becoming the most successful, rich, and powerful man in the world. For this purpose, he studied all the details about the World Economic Conference with a great interest and then handpicked 5 powerful and rich men for bringing his plans to fruition. Leopold Gorman had become so much desperate and dangerous in his attempt to become powerful that if any one among the selected had shown any reluctance to help him carry out his scheme, he would have him killed in less than an hour.

By the end of the year 1935, Leopold Gorman anticipated that he is on the verge of becoming successful in his plans. But, there was one person who was causing obstacles in his path of success and thereby making him anxious. He was the British Intelligence Chief named Gordon Craigie. The only way that Leopold Gorman could think of to reduce the risk from Gordon Craigie was to get his agents killed who were the brave men working in the Department Z. At the same time, Gordon Craigie somehow sensed that Leopold Gorman was making plans against the intelligence agency and therefore he decided that he needs to keep a watch on the activities of Gorman. Craigie appoints an agent from the Department Z named Tony Beresford to track the activities of Leopold Gorman. When Gorman comes to about this plan of Craigie, he decides that Tony Beresford will be the next man to disappear. This way, he will be able to teach Gordon Craigie a lesson and force him to stop coming in his way. But, Craigie was not in the mood to let him go easily. Therefore, he devises a foolproof plan and makes Leopold Gorman get trapped in it.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Department Z

Leave a Reply