Book Notification

Derek B. Miller Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Sheldon Horowitz Books

Norwegian by Night (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
How to Find Your Way in the Dark (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Chronological Order of Sheldon Horowitz Books

How to Find Your Way in the Dark(2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Norwegian by Night(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Sigrid Ødegård Books

Norwegian by Night (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
American by Day (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Girl in Green (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Radio Life (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Quiet Time (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Curse of Pietro Houdini (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

In the year 2013, The Times featured Derek B. Miller’s debut novel, Norwegian by Night is the book to lookout for in the following year. Towards the end of the year 2013, The Economist listed the same novel, Norwegian by Night as one of the best books in the world alongside other masterpieces, such as Luminaries by Eleanor Calton, The Goldfinch by Donna Tart. Despite the fact that Derek Miller was born in Massachusetts, he was raised in Wellesley. Coming from a family that emigrated from Eastern Europe, Derek B, Miller is Jewish. Currently, he is married to one Camila Wassink who hails from Norway. Miller and Camila have been blessed with two children, Clara and Julian. Julian Miller and his family reside in Oslo, Norway though he still has close ties with New England.

In the year 1988, Derek B. Miller graduated from Wellesley High School, and was admitted to Sarah Lawrence College where he majored in Liberal Arts. Derek B. Miller graduated from Sarah Lawrence College in the year 1992. In the year 1994, Derek B Miller joined Georgetown University, where he took a Master’s degree in national security studies. In the year 2004, Derek B. Miller was awarded a Ph.D. from the University of Geneva in the field of international relations. Between the year 1990 and 1991, Miller also attended Hebrew University in Israel. During this period Derek B. Miller remained in Israel until the end of the Gulf War. After completing his Ph.D., Miller worked alongside Professor Rom Harre, where he applied for Rom Harre’s work on the Positioning Model to the study of international-affairs. One of the leading publishing houses, by Palgrave Macmillan, later on, published Miller’s dissertation.

Ever since the year 1994, Derek B. Miller worked in international affairs, kicking off his career as an intern for one Sen. William S. Cohen on Capitol Hill. Derek became Georgetown’s National Security Quarterly founding editor. Ever since then, Derek B. Miller has held different positions as well as consulted with many organization and think tanks such as The Smalls Army Survey, Mission of the Republic of Korea, United Nations Development Program, as well as the United Nations Institute for Disarmament.

Fiction Writing

Derek. B Miller’s debut novel, Norwegian Nights was written in English. Cappelen Damm first published the book in Norway. Norwegian Night first English publisher was Scribe publishers, in Australia and then followed by Faber and Faber in the United Kingdom. The book was later on published in Germany, Italy, Spain, Norway, Israel, and Netherlands. After Norwegian Night was published, the book received mainly positive reviews from the readers and critics alike. Some of the leading publications to give Norwegian Nights positive reviews include the Sunday Times, the Guardian, New York Times, Times Literary Supplement and Der Spiegel, just to name but a few. Due to the author’s literary skills, Norwegian Nights was shortlisted for various awards. In the year 2013, the Crime Writer’s Association awarded a John Greasy Award the novel. In the year 2014, during the Crimefest Awards, the book was awarded an eDunnit Award as well as Goldsboro Last Laugh Award.

The Booksellers Association further nominated the novel as the Best First Novel during Strand’s Magazine Critic Award as well as the Indie Choice Award. Other awards include Book of the Year by Adult Debuts as well as Best First Mystery by Macavity Award and the Best First Novel by Barry Award. The Girl in Green was Derek B Miller’s second book, which was published by Faber and Faber in the United Kingdom, Scribe in New Zealand and Australia. In the year 2017, Houghton and Miller in the United States and Neri Pozza in Italy published the book once again. In the US, Miller’s novel, the third novel received pre-publication starred reviews from most of the leading powerhouse publications such as Publisher’s Weekly, Kirkus, Booklist, and Library Journal.

The Girl in Green

The Girl in Green is a book that explores the different agencies as well as the political nightmare of trying to fathom the different cultures and the beliefs. Author, Derek B Miller, has created two exceedingly unique and highly likable characters, Benson and Arrowood. When these two characters first met, was towards the end of the gulf war. However, the end of the Gulf War was from the United States point of view. However, as infighting among the tribes continued, the United States assumed a peacekeeper role. Arrowood is an exceedingly young private, who has been tasked with guarding the northernmost end of the United States zone, known as Checkpoint Zulu. It is at Checkpoint Zulu that Arrowood meets with one Benson, a reporter embedded with the army. Before the first day ends, an Iraqi girl who had a green dress is killed, and an exceedingly young boy will be saved. The death of the girl will eventually have an exceedingly serious effect of these two protagonist as well as the future lives.

Arrowood and Benson watch helplessly as the Iraqi Army mercilessly slaughter Shiite civilians. More than twenty years later, these two characters are still haunted by the events that happened back then. In the year 2013, an exceedingly shocking footage of an insurgent attack in Iraqi brings these two men once more together. Hobbes is more than determined to right a wrong, while Benton, on the other hand, is exceedingly reluctant to get involved. In the middle of the exceedingly dangerous Iraqi, Kurdish and Syrian refugee crisis Benton and Hobbes team up with a United Nations refugee officer. However, the three men are eventually capture by ISIL forces and in the process beginning a cat and mouse game of intimidation, torture and negotiation. Penned down with a great deal of ironic humor and pop references abound, The Girl in Green is a novel that highlights the incongruity of war.

Despite the many agencies and the efforts that are placed forth, The Girl in Green shows how very little is understood in the Middle East. While reading the Green Girl, the readers are going to find themselves at the edge of their seats; this is not only a political nightmare but also a PR nightmare. With that said, the Girl in Green is a brilliantly written narrative which has once again reiterated just how little people know about the various tribes, affiliations, and cultures, in the Middle East.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Derek B. Miller

One Response to “Derek B. Miller”

  1. Ed Remsen: 3 months ago

    I am so glad to have discovered Derek’s work. I love finding someone’s writing that I never knew about. Read three so far and loved them all especially the character development and humor

    Many thanks.


Leave a Reply