Book Notification

Derek Prior Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Annals of the Nameless Dwarf Books

Ravine of Blood and Shadow / Carnifex: A Portent of Blood (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mountain of Madness (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Curse of the Black Axe (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Land of Nightmare (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Skull of the Lich Lord (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fate of the Dwarf Lords (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Last of the Exalted (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dead Dwarves Don't Die (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tomb of the Witch Queen (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Hunter: Takes a Demon to Catch a Demon (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Memoirs of Harry Chesterton Books

Thanatos Rising (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Plague Demon Chronicles Books

Publication Order of Shader Books

Sword of the Archon (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Best Laid Plans (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Unweaving (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Archon's Assassin (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Shader Origins Books

Ward of the Philosopher: Shader Origins (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Seventh Horse: Shader Origins (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Sorcerers' Isle Books

The Codex of Her Scars (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Crucible of Her Blood (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Dead or Alivela of Shadrak the Unseen (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Derek Prior is a fantasy fiction author originally from South East England who now makes his home in Florida. Before he lived in Florida he was all over the place though he spent a lot of time in Australia and West Wales. The critically acclaimed author held several jobs before becoming a writer that included being an actor, mental health nurse, musician, and personal trainer. Prior is known for high stakes and fast-paced fantasy novels in which the good triumph over evil though this often comes at a huge cost. He usually makes use of common tropes and expands them in an exploration of heroism, friendship, loyalty, and betrayal in a world in which evil is never far away and magic is both a blessing and a curse and characters are battle-hardened veterans. He published his first novel “Last of the Exalted” in 2009 and since then he has written more than nine novels, several short stories, and novellas. His most successful has been the epic fantasy “Shader” series and the “Legends of the Nameless Dwarf” series. He spends much of his time writing and when he is not doing that he may be found weight training or indulging in MMA, his newest obsession.

Prior’s novel “A Portent of Blood” which is the debut novel of the “Legends of the Nameless Dwarf” series was included in the List of Top Genre Fiction by the American Library Association. The novel was also featured in the Mid-West Book Review, Black Gate Magazine, Smash Dragons, Kirkus Reviews Magazine, Bookwraiths, and Fantasy Book Critic. The novels in the “Legends of the Nameless Dwarf” series received commendations from nine of the major five publishers when they came out. It is quite an achievement that Derek Prior received commendation and critical acclaim, given that single race stories have not been selling well in recent times. Many of the publishing houses he approached asserted that they could not publish his novels as dwarves did not have much interest in the market. While he was disappointed he decided to self-publish and he could not have been happier. He soon found out that there was indeed a lot of interest in dwarf stories as his books sold thousands of copies in ebook and audiobook format, with “Carnifex” becoming a huge hit in 2016. He is currently working on several fantasy series that are set to be released over several years.

When Derek Prior is not writing his novels, he loves to read history books and biographies from which he gets much of his inspiration. Sometimes he does get inspired by real-life events in which he meets interesting people that make their way into his stories. He has also been inspired by the great authors of our times such as Harry Harrison, David Gemmell, L. Sprague de Camp, Edgar Rice Burroughs, Lin Carter, and RE Howard. He also trains in martial arts including MMA, boxing, Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu, and muay thai in addition to deadlifting. Prior also occasionally plays the guitar and records music even though his favorite pastime is reading nonfiction. He has said that if he was not an author he would have liked to have been a beer-drinking folk musician or stage actor.

Derek Prior’s “The Ant-Man of Malfen” is the story of a Nameless Dwarf that kills his people by the thousand as he is fueled by a voracious bloodlust and a cursed ax. The survivors of the massacre flee beyond the mountains, to the nightmare dominions where no one has ever gone and come back to tell the tale. The Nameless Dwarf soon comes to his senses and is freed of the curse of the ax. He is horrified at his behavior and pursues the survivors across the mountains prepared to sacrifice everything to ensure that the last men of his race survive. His quest brings him to Malfen, a town favored by brigands given its remoteness. The town is under the control of the Ant-Man, an underground boss who exacts a toll on anyone that passes through his territory. Many people have lost their lives when they entered the territory and did not have the requisite toll tax. It is an epic story with elements of heroic fantasy, grimdark, and elements of sorcery that makes a beautiful tale.

Prior’s novel “The Axe of the Dwarf Lords” is a story of a nightmare in the Farfall Mountains where Nil has gone on a job. He had taken on a job to escort a nameless dwarf who is going on a reckless quest for redemption. Ilesa now thinks that she should have demanded a bigger reward while Silas believes the grimoire he took from the conservatory has an evil will of its own. Meanwhile, the nameless dwarf is having a great time as he has all the time in the world to splatter the undead hordes with his ax. He has also made friends with a strange wizard with a talent for making ale out of nothing and a shape-shifting woman who accompanies him on his quests to split the heads of the undead. But then his fragile mood turns dark when he learns that at the bottom of the sea is a terrible secret. A mythical ax and an unstoppable horror that was responsible for the genocide of a race bring back memories of a past he thought he had left behind.

The novel “The Scout and the Serpent” by Derek Prior opens to Nameless and Ilesa marooned, after an attack from the wolf men that had caused much confusion. The dwarf is unable to swim and Ilesa now has to get both of them back to shore and away from the machinations of a huge serpent patrolling in the water. But she has a long history of betrayal and given that Nameless has a huge bounty on his head, he cannot be sure if she can be trusted. Nil’s cat thieving history proves beneficial as he climbs up the trees in the face of danger even though it is soon apparent that he does not have to worry about the wolfmen. Something or someone has been watching him from deep inside the forest. In the meantime, Silas goes underground in a huge burrow where he is drawing upon some mysterious knowledge to keep himself safe. But should he give any credibility to a book which is promising him everything?

Book Series In Order » Authors » Derek Prior

Leave a Reply