Nick Petrie Series

Detective Kane and Alton Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Detectives Kane and Alton Books

Don't Tell a Soul (2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Bring Me Flowers (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Follow Me Home (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Crying Season (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Where Angels Fear (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Whisper in the Night (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Break the Silence (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Her Broken Wings (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Her Shallow Grave (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Promises in the Dark (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Be Mine Forever (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Cross My Heart (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Lose Your Breath (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Fallen Angel (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Don't Look Back (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Pray for Mercy (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Kiss Her Goodnight (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Her Bleeding Heart (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Chase Her Shadow (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Now You See Me (2023)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Their Wicked Games (2023)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Where Hidden Souls Lie (2023)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Detective Kane and Alton Series is a mystery series by DK. Hood. The series features Detective David Kane and Sheriff Jenna Alton. The two form a formidable force that successfully nails murders and other misfits in the small town they now call home. Body count increases from the beginning, and the two detectives are going to have to go back in time to investigate and find the killer.

In a town where the staffs know little about crime and the right procedures to follow, it is understandable that the investigations do not go as smooth in the beginning. Fortunately, other experienced characters are going to join the cast and make the chase for criminals even more exciting.

The two protagonists deal with different challenges at a personal level. Will the detectives let their personal lives interfere with their work? Find out this and so much more in this exciting detective series.

Don’t Tell a Soul

Don’t Tell a Soul is the debut book in Detective Kane and Alton series. The story starts with the discovery of a body stuffed into a barrel and hidden the garbage dump. The body is covered in long lacerations, and Sheriff Jenna Alton and her deputy David Kane are curious to find the circumstances that led to the gruesome murder.

Jenna had come to this small town to hide from her past. David, on the other hand, is not just the deputy sheriff, but he is in the city as part of a witness protection program. Jenna’s first meeting with her deputy is nothing but odd. Someone pushes her off the road, and Detective Kane is the first person to get to the scene. While this occurrence raises more questions than answers, Jenna finds that David is a worthy partner.

The two detectives are aware that little if anything goes on in this sleepy town. The body comes as a shock, and the duo has a feeling that the dead man must be one of the two strangers who have recently been reported missing. The murder leaves Jenna puzzled. What is the connection between the Black Rock Falls town and the missing persons? How about the other missing person? Is it possible that their life is also in danger? Jenna moves fast to try and piece this puzzle together and hopefully capture the killers before more damage is done.

Jenna stumbles upon a disturbing clue that links the murder and recent disappearances with other unresolved ones in the past. She begins to ask questions and get more details behind the earlier disappearances. Just when she is getting the right answers, Jenna realizes that she is being followed. Now Jenna and David have to rush against time to uncover the town’s dark secret before they also become part of the statistic.

This book will hook you from the start. The pace is fast, and there are many twists and turns to take the tension a notch higher. Find out how the attack on the sheriff is linked to the dead bodies and other strange occurrences that occur in this sleepy town. Also, see how Jenna and David work through their relationship as they both try to hide their true identities. The cast in Don’t Tell a Soul is quite exciting, and the detective story is beautifully written. While there are several deaths in the story, the story is not as gory, which works if you like detective stories without all the blood.

Bring me Flowers

Bring me Flowers is the second book in Detective Kane and Alton Series. The story starts six months after Sheriff Jenna and her deputy David successfully catch a murderer who was threatening to bring chaos in the previously sleepy Black Rock Falls town. This story is about a young schoolgirl named Felicity Parker. Felicity had used the hiking route for years, and she knew every turn along the way. However, on this fateful day, someone is waiting for her, and this is the last time this young girl is seen alive. A while later, her body is discovered, hidden deep inside the forest. Her naked body is carefully laid on a rock, and freshly picked flowers arranged next to her body.

Detective Jenna Alton must unravel the mystery behind this murder. Jenna has a feeling that the killer is not a resident but a visitor to the small town. This changes when a second body of a young girl is discovered. A day after Felicity’s body is discovered, Kate Bright, Felicity’s school friend, is also found dead. Unlike Felicity, Kate is murdered at the local swimming pool. The only similarity is that Kate’s body, just like Felicity’s, is presented terrifyingly, and there is a fresh bunch of flowers beside her.

These deaths throw the town into a panic. The sheriff and David Kane are now sure that the killer is no stranger; it is someone living among them. No one is sure why the killer is picking off schoolgirls or even who is going to be next. Even after dedicating enough resources to this case, the trail goes cold. Jenna and David have no choice but to wait until the killer makes a move. However, they know his type. The killer is targeting girls with long hair.
We get to meet a new character in this book. Shane Wolfe is set to be the next deputy. A father of three daughters and a medical examiner by profession, Jenna is sure that Shane is a great addition to the team. It helps that Shane also comes with a lot of computer knowledge which the department could put into good use.

The characters’ backstories are well outlined so you can enjoy this book as a standalone. The backstories also help the reader understand the characters better and the secrets they are trying to keep from each other. This is a fast-paced, entertaining read. The author brings out the serial killer concept well without making the story gruesome. The killer identity is kept hidden until the last pages, so you will be more than eager to get to the end.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Detective Kane and Alton

Leave a Reply