Book Notification

Detective Katie Scott Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Detective Katie Scott Books

Little Girls Sleeping (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Her Last Whisper (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Flowers on Her Grave (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Last Girls Alive (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Fragile Ones (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Pretty Broken Dolls (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Silent Little Angels (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Three Small Bones (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Rose Girls (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Her Dying Kiss (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The First Girl (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Count Their Graves (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Detective Katie Scott series by Jennifer Chase
Author Jennifer Chase writes the “Detective Katie Scott” series of mystery novels. The series began publication in the year 2019, when “Little Girls Sleeping” was released.

The series of novels stars Detective Katie Scott and is set in Pine Valley, California.

“Little Girls Sleeping” is the first novel in the “Detective Katie Scott” series and was released in the year 2019. Chelsea Compton, an eight year old girl, has gone missing in Pine Valley, California and for Detective Katie Scott it comes as a cruel reminder of her friend who vanished from summer camp twenty years prior. Katie, who is unable to shake the memories, vows that she isn’t going to rest until she learns what happened to Chelsea.

However while she begins investigating, the case reveals itself to be a lot bigger and more shocking than she first feared. Hidden deep within the forest she uncovers a makeshift cemetery. One that is made up of a row of graves, each one with a brightly colored teddy bear.

Katie connects the graves to a stack of missing persons cases that involves young girls, finding a pattern that nobody else has managed to see. Somebody in Pine Valley has been taking the daughters in the town for years, and Katie is the only one able to stop them. Then another little girl goes missing, snatched right from the park close to her home. Katie is still haunted by the friend that she failed to protect, and she is going to do anything she has to in order to stop the killer from striking again, however can she find this little girl before it’s too late?

“Her Last Whisper” is the second novel in the “Detective Katie Scott” series and was released in the year 2019. When a naked and cold corpse is found by a couple going for a jog through the lush woodlands in Pine Valley, California, new recruit Detective Katie Scott is shocked to find that the victim is Amanda Payton. She is a much loved local nurse and the woman at the center of one unsolved case that Katie’s been investigating as she gets a grip on her crippling PTSD.

Weeks before, Amanda had run, bruised and battered, out into the headlights of a patrol car passing by. She claimed that she had just escaped from a kidnapping, but without any strong evidence, the case quickly went cold. The police of Pine Valley made a fatal mistake. Katie is sure that the marks on Amanda’s wrists complete the pattern of women being taken, held prisoner, and then showing up dead in some isolated locations around Pine Valley. And she isn’t about to let somebody else die on her watch again.

However one beautiful office worker with a connection to the hospital where Amanda worked vanishes. With just days before the next corpse is supposed to show up, can Katie make amends for her past by successfully saving this innocent life?

“Flowers on Her Grave” is the third novel in the “Detective Katie Scott” series and was released in the year 2020. Detective Katie Scott has never seen two people that were more in love than her uncle and aunt while they danced together the night of their wedding anniversary party. However the next morning, Katie discovers her aunt’s body sprawled across the floor, that formerly perfect image has been shattered forever.

All fingers are pointing at Katie’s uncle, Pine Valley’s beloved protector and sheriff, as his prints are all over the antique knife which was found at the scene. Grieving yet certain that her uncle is innocent, Katie has been consigned to the cold case division after she is found hunting through the house to find some clues. Does somebody want to keep her as far away from this case as possible?

Katie, who ignores warnings from her team, digs into her uncle’s old case files and finds pictures of the body of this one young girl that was found tied to a tree after taking a hike to find a rare flower. Her corpse is covered with the same strange lacerations that her aunt suffered. Katie knows that this is no coincidence, however every lead she follows is a dead end.

Moments before the sheriff gets arrested, she realizes that a single piece of thread that she found at the scene might be the missing link that is going to stitch old crimes to new. However how will she be able to prove her uncle is innocent without tossing herself right into the line of fire? She has no choice, as he is the only family that she has left.

“Last Girls Alive” is the fourth novel in the “Detective Katie Scott” series and was released in the year 2020. Half-buried in the muddy earth and surrounded all over by puddles of water lays the naked corpse of a beautiful young girl. Her pale skin is like porcelain in the early morning light. Her fragile arms crooked and bent like a busted doll.

Detective Katie Scott gets called to the young girl that has been found on the grounds of a former children’s home in Pine Valley, she is hopeful it is the conclusion to a devastating cold case that she has been working on. Nobody’s seen Candace Harlan in the five years since she ran away from Elm Hill Manor. Her death is going to be a tragedy, but it’s also going to bring some peace to those that miss her the most. However the girl in the ground isn’t Candace.

The victim is close to identical to Candace is almost every way, however fear grips Katie while taking in the black ink that decorates the little girl’s back. It is a horrifying message that was tattooed onto her skin after she died. She is sure that this girl’s home is at the center of this terrible crime.

The next day, while another girl’s body is found by the creek at high water, and with the same words etched onto her skin, her worst fear’s confirmed: somebody’s picking off the last of the Elm Hill girls one at a time. However what does the tattoo mean? And what sort of monster would target these innocent young girls that have already been through so much?

Book Series In Order » Characters » Detective Katie Scott

One Response to “Detective Katie Scott”

  1. Elaine Barry: 9 months ago

    Love the books
    I’ve read so many of detective books have u any more detective books you have written to be read


Leave a Reply