Book Notification

Detective Max Rupert Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Detective Max Rupert Books

The Life We Bury (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Guise of Another (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Heavens May Fall (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Deep Dark Descending (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Shadows We Hide (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Allen Eskens is an American best-selling author that has been published in USA Today.

Allen has also received many awards for his writing. he has received the Rosebud Award, the Barry Award, and the Minnesota Book Award, as well as the Silver Falchion Award. He has also been a finalist for several awards that he unfortunately did not win, such as the Anthony Award, the Thriller Award, and the Edgar Award. He has had his books published in twenty-six languages.

He attended the University of Minnesota and graduated with a degree in journalism. Allen also received a law degree from Hamline University. Once he was done with law school, Allen enrolled in the Minnesota State University at Mankato’s M.F.A. program in creative writing. He also was part of the Loft Literary Center and the Iowa Summer Writer’s Festival.

He grew up in central Missouri. Now he lives in Minnesota along with his wife Joely. He retired there after having practiced criminal law for twenty-five years.

Allen Eskens is the creator and author of the Detective Max Rupert series of fictional novels. The series first got started in 2014 with the publication of the debut novel, The Life We Bury. The second novel would come out in 2015 and is titled The Guise of Another. It was followed by the publication of the third novel in 2016 and is titled The Heavens May Fall. The fourth novel came out in 2017 and is titled The Deep Dark Descending. The fifth novel came out in 2018 and is titled The Shadows We Hide. The sixth novel was released in 2022 and is titled Forsaken Country. The books are meant to be read in order for the best experience.

The Life We Bury is the first novel in the Detective Max Rupert series by Allen Eskens. If you’re looking for a new thriller to entertain you, consider giving this one a try!

Joe Talbert is a student in college, and he has the task of getting a writing assignment done for English class. The goal is to find a stranger and interview them to find out details about their life, then write up a brief biography of them. The deadline is coming up and Joe has not yet found someone to be the focus of his biography.

Joe knows that he has to find someone to interview before the deadline arrives and comes up with the idea of going to a nursing home nearby where he could hopefully meet someone that would be willing to be asked a lot of questions. Once he gets there, he gets to meet a man named Carl Iverson. With this interview and meeting, nothing going on in Joe’s life will ever be the same.

It turns out that Carl is unique in his position in the nursing home. Carl is a veteran that served in Vietnam, and he is dying. He also happens to be, as Joe finds out, a convicted murderer. Since he has been found to only have a few more months left to live, he has been gifted with medical parole to a nursing home. This is after he was in prison for thirty years for his crimes of murder and rape.

Joe begins asking Carl questions and after starts writing about the life that Carl has led. Carl showed particular valor while in Vietnam. Joe cannot wrap his mind around the man that he is writing about, who is the heroic soldier in Vietnam and came home to be a future convict who committed terrible acts.

Joe wants to find out the truth, and he throws himself into the investigation along with his female neighbor, who is skeptical but game to look into things further. However, Joe gets hung up in his efforts to find out more through having to contend with his dysfunctional mother, dealing with leaving his brother with autism vulnerable, and a haunting memory from childhood.

Bit by bit, Joe unravels the facts of Carl’s conviction. However, he finds that the more that he and Lila look into the crime’s circumstances, the stakes get higher. Can Joe find out the truth before the fallout comes for him? What will he find? Read this engaging debut in the Detective Max Rupert series to find out!

The Guise of Another is the second novel in the Detective Max Rupert series by Allen Eskens. If you liked the first book in this series, check out the sequel!

Alexander Rupert is determined to answer the question of who James Putnam was. The Minnesota detective may be able to find salvation if he can answer the question. His life has been in a horrible downward spiral for a while. He once received the Medal of Valor. Now he’s under subpoena by a grand jury, all for suspicion of corruption.

Alexander has received a reassignment to work the Frauds Unit, but once he gets there, the other detectives give him the cold shoulder and shun him. He also is worried about his wife, who has always been a big status seeker. He thinks that she might be having an affair, but he has no proof.

When Alex comes across an identity theft case, he sees the chance to make his bad reputation better and maybe even mend it. This could be the key to rehabilitating his tarnished image. He may be taking on more than he originally anticipated, however. The case ends up exploding into much more than he could have ever anticipated, which leads to other events.

For one, he gets put into the path of Balkan War veteran and trained assassin Drago Basta, who has been looking for James Putnam for years. Alex sees his life becoming ever more out of control. The last hope he has may end up being Max, his older brother. Can the police detective help to save his brother from all the chaos that his investigation has unleashed and help him to put things right again? Read this engaging thriller to find out!

Book Series In Order » Characters » Detective Max Rupert

Leave a Reply