Book Notification

DeWarenne Dynasty Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The deWarenne Dynasty Books

The Conqueror (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon
Scandalous Love (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
Promise of the Rose (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Game (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
House of Dreams (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Prize (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Masquerade (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Stolen Bride (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Lady At Last (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Perfect Bride (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Dangerous Love (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
An Impossible Attraction (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Promise (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon

Chronological Order of The deWarenne Dynasty Books

The Conqueror(1990)Description / Buy at Amazon
Promise of the Rose(1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Game(1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Prize(2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Masquerade(2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Stolen Bride(2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Lady At Last(2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Perfect Bride(2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Dangerous Love(2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Promise(2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
An Impossible Attraction(2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Scandalous Love(1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
House of Dreams(2000)Description / Buy at Amazon

DeWarenne Dynasty is a series of romance novels from New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Brenda Joyce

+The Story

DeWarenne Dynasty has been described as a series of novels chronicling the lives of the powerful and privileged men both within the DeWarenne Dynasty Family and around them, and the women that would dare to love them.

The novels are wide ranging and tell stories spanning a thousand years. With the majority of these novels situated in times long past, the author rarely delves deeply into the minutiae of the historical times within which her novels her set, the DeWarenne Dynasty series of novels instead prioritizing the tales of love and passion developing during these chaotic times.

Brenda Joyce’s novels are typical of the erotic romance genre and do little to separate themselves from their rivals in this literary field. While they have their fans, they are often assailed by detractors, not only for Brenda’s approach to storytelling but the rather shallow characters she tends to create.

Being erotic romance, the DeWarenne Dynasty series of novels is highly sensual, with some of Brenda Joyce’s critics often complaining about the unnecessary emphasis she places on sex.

The fact that she reduces her characters to animals driven by little more than their sexual desires, most of the subplots in Brenda’s novels losing steam as she focuses her efforts solely upon bringing her characters together in sexual union, doesn’t help her cause.

It could be argued, however, that Brenda Joyce simply writes what she knows best; her stories are filled with sex, lies and adultery, and she doesn’t try to make them anything other than that.

In that regard, it is hardly surprising that so many of her novels have a strong following from fans that cannot help but lose themselves in the ridiculously sensual stories she creates.

+The Author

Brenda Joyce is an award-winning American Author born in 1963. Joyce is a native of New York. Her literary career began at a considerably early age, Joyce penning her very first novella at 16 and completing her first novel at the age of 25.

The novel sold very quickly, sparking notable interest when it first hit the shelves in 1988. Since then she has produced more than two dozen novels.

Brenda Joyce has won numerous awards during her lengthy career as an author, her first book, Innocent fire winning Romantic Times Magazine’s Best Western Romance Award.

She has also won Splendor’s Best Historical Romance Award and Romantic Times Book Reviews Magazine’s Lifetime Achievement awards.

Her popular series, DeWarenne Dynasty, has garnered Brenda Joyce many fans over the years, novels chronicling the lives of a one sprawling family in historic England and Ireland.

Along with ‘The Masters of Time’, another bestselling paranormal romance series, and ‘Deadly’, a mystery series set at the turn of the century in New York, Brenda Joyce shows a mastery over all things romance, her works evoking powerful emotions of passion and desire, and her characters allowing readers to escape to worlds few readers ever experience.

+The Conqueror

Rolfe rode relentlessly into Castle Aelfgar, determined to the ancient structure as his prize, this along with Lady Alice. Lauded as he might have been by the French for his bravery, England considered him a hated enemy.

With his roots finally planted into his new domain, Rolfe determined to take the Saxon beauty Ceidre, illegitimate sister to Alice, his bride, her spirit and sensuality slowly eroding Rolfe’s self-control and sparking his desire to have her- not Lady Alice- in his bed.

The mysterious and Seductive, Ceidre was no Lady but rather a spy, acting at the behest of her noble half brothers’ rebel cause. Determined to withstand the will of the arrogant warrior that had so powerfully ignited her forbidden passions, Ciedre was swept into a dangerous liaison whose outcome would decide the fate of England and Kings. With his kisses on her lips and his hand so skillfully moving her body, she would have to struggle against the urge to surrender to The Conqueror.

The conqueror, the first novel in the DeWerranne Dynasty series has three main characters, and far as some readers are concerned that might have been too many.

Brenda spends far too much time delving into the thoughts, feelings and emotions of her characters, often with little story progression to speak of. In fact it could be argued that all the character development in the book happened in the first one hundred pages, after which Brenda essentially began circling the same plots and issues over and over again, seemingly determined to ingrain into her readers information about her characters’ troubles she seemed to think they would have a hard time understanding.

The dance of passion and desire between Rolfe and Ceidre was especially frustrating, these two characters transitioning back and forth between their love and hate for one another, this complimented by their strange determination to repeatedly betray one another.

The prioritization of the sexual acts and the journey leading up to these sexual acts is bound to turn some readers off. Admittedly, the novel has its moments, but they are few and far between. Readers with a clear understanding of Brenda Joyce’s style will probably enjoy The Conqueror.

+Promise of the Rose

Stephen de Warenne is a Brave and battle-hardened warrior, determined to defend what he believes to be his by right of conquest, this including the fair haired captive whose power to awaken his soul’s secret yearnings frightens him.

Their passion simply cannot be denied.

Set in 1093, Promise of the Rose tells the story of Stephen de Warenne, heir of the Earl of Northumberland and Mary, Daughter to the King of Scotland.

When Mary is taken captive by Stephen, she refuses to reveal her identity and as such, Stephen decides to have her. Upon learning of her lineage, Stephen begins contemplating the idea of marrying he for political purposes, this decision leading the pair down a dramatic rabbit hole filled with sex, intrigue, and betrayal.

Promise of the Rose features the same weaknesses that plagued The conqueror. However, it is considerably (and surprisingly) more entertaining and should wet the appetite of lovers of the romance genre.

Book Series In Order » Characters » DeWarenne Dynasty

Leave a Reply