Book Notification

Dexter Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Dexter Books

Darkly Dreaming Dexter (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dearly Devoted Dexter (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dexter in the Dark (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dexter By Design (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dexter Is Delicious (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Double Dexter (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dexter's Final Cut (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dexter Is Dead (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Dexter Down Under Books

Dexter Down Under (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Dexter : A Graphic Novel Books

About the Dexter Books In Order:

Dexter is the main character of the suspenseful, intriguing novels by Jeff Lindsay. His first book in the Dexter series was published in 2004 and was called “Darkly Dreaming Dexter” as opposed to the title his daughter suggested, “Pinocchio Bleeds”. The series follows Dexter Morgan, a forensic blood spatter pattern expert analyst for the Miami-Dade Police Department. That’s his day job. When he’s not living his alias as mild mannered, forensic expert Dexter Morgan, Dexter is up to plenty of hijinks. That’s because in his spare time, he’s a sociopathic serial killer who murders people. But he doesn’t just murder any kind of people. Dexter specializes in killing other murders, rapists, and bad people, channeling his urge to kill into taking out only those who are threats to other humans. Because of his father’s teachings and his occupation, Dexter knows the perfect methods in which to dispose of and cover up his little hobby.

Darkly Dreaming Dexter

Dexter Morgan is your every day, run of the mill forensic blood spatter expert except for one thing. He’s a killer. Dexter Morgan has been grappling with the presence in his mind, a dark and evil presence that he called his “dark passenger”. The dark passenger constantly has a thirst for blood, and once Dexter satisfies this thirst, the dark passenger recedes for a little while but always comes up demanding blood again.

Dexter’s foster father Harry Morgan was a police detective who recognized the traits that young Dexter had as being those of a sociopath. Rather than discourage Dexter or try to change him, Harry teaches Dexter to channel his need to kill into more appropriate subjects: murderers, rapists, and general predators upon humans that are never caught, brought to justice, or indeed even suspected of being anyone else than the people they pretend to be in their double lives. But nobody knows more about double lives, or how to recognize a killer, than Dexter. Harry taught Dexter to leave no evidence or clues and be absolutely sure that the people are guilty before he kills them. This is what Dexter names “The Code of Harry”.

Dexter’s life is rolling along when his sister Deb asks him for help with the serial murders of prostitutes. She knows he has good hunches and needs his help in catching the Tamiama Slasher, who has already struck thrice. At one point, Dexter follows a car from which the killer throws a decapitated head at him. From that point on, the Tamiama Slasher begins sending messages to Dexter, who feels a kinship to the killer. After all, they share the same hobbies, they like the same things. But Dexter is forced into quick action when Deb is kidnapped by the Slasher. Dexter must race time in order to save Deb, and there may be a reason why Dexter feels so close to this brutal killer.

Dearly Devoted Dexter

Dearly Devoted Dexter is the second book written by Jeff Lindsay in the series. It was published in 2005. In this installment, Dexter is kept from freely roaming and doing what he does best by the suspicions of Sergeant Doakes. Doakes has become very suspicious of the Dark Passenger’s operator and is keeping an extra sharp eye on Dexter. This is rather getting in the way of Dexter’s extra curricular activities, particularly his goal of hunting down a murderer who has been kidnapping, abusing and killing young boys.

But when a guy turns out dead and bizarrely cut, Dexter thinks he knows who the cold blooded killer is. He thinks it’s a man called “Doctor Danco”, who has named himself after a type of knife and also served with Doakes during the Salvadorean War. This Doctor Danco kidnaps his victims, then sedates them and places a mirror in front of him while he surgically removes and messes with their various body parts. To make matters worse, Deb’s detective boyfriend has been kidnapped by the elaborate serial killer.

Even more strangely, Dexter finds himself engaged to his girlfriend Rita and has discovered that her children, Astor and Cody, are showing the same symptoms that Dexter himself exhibited that made Harry teach him the Harry Code. He vows to help them learn to control their Dark Passenger after finding a dead neighborhood cat that the children killed. Dexter learn that Doctor Danco has been playing an elaborate game of hang man with his victims. He chooses a word that corresponds to what he believes the victims have done wrong to him and makes the victims guess. If the victims guess wrong, he takes a body part per letter guessed incorrectly. Fiendishly, the serial killer allows his victims to heal completely before taking another part in order to inflict the most physical and psychological damage. With time ticking, Dexter must catch this crazy killer before Deb’s boyfriend Kyle comes to any damage and so the Doctor can stopped.

Dexter The Showtime TV Series

Dexter debuted on the Showtime network on October 1, 2006. The first season was largely centered around the first novel by Jeff Lindsay about the protagonist, Darkly Dreaming Dexter. The show cast veteran and Six Feet Under actor Michael C. Hall as the dark, demented, but moral Dexter Morgan. Jennifer Carpenter was cast as Dexter’s fellow foster sister, Deborah Morgan. The show itself has been nominated for 25 Primetime Emmy awards and of those has won 4. Michael C. Hall has won Outstanding Lead Actor In A Drama Series a total of five times in a row from 2008 to 2012.

James Manos Jr. adapted Jeff Lindsay’s books for the silver screen. The show continued to run until September 22, 2013. Reruns began airing on CBS in February 2008. 2.8 million people tuned in for the finale of Dexter, the largest audience for a show in Showtime network history. In addition to starring in the show, Michael C. Hall also co produced. The role of Deborah was played by Jennifer Carpenter, his wife whom he married in December 31, 2008 and filed for divorce from two years later. Showtime announced that the eighth season would be the final season of Dexter. Three million people tuned in for the first episode of the final season.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Dexter

Leave a Reply