Book Notification

DI Barton Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of DI Barton Books

The Snow Killer (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Soul Killer (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Ice Killer (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Cold Killer (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Fire Killer (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Santa Killer (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Ross Greenwood is an accomplished author from the U.K. The English novelist is known for being a best-selling crime writer known for books that are often set in Peterborough, Cambridgeshire, and feature the local police or prison.

Ross was born on November 7, 1973, in Peterborough. He resided there until he was twenty years old and went to The King’s School in the city. The author chose not to attend university. He says that he then started a nomadic style of existence, working and living not only all over different parts of the country but different parts of the world also.

He came back to Peterborough often over the years many different times, usually (by his own admission) when something or things in general in his life had gone wrong. It was on one of those times that he had come back that he ended up running into the woman that would become his future partner randomly while walking his dog and met her about 100 meters from his own back door. Things stuck and they had two children together. They were married in 2018. Ross jokes that the pace of it now has him ‘still a little stunned’.

His first book, Fifty Years of Fear, was began a long time ago and continued as he became a parent and through his time working in sales management. Ross became a prison officer for four years and it was the early mornings that gave him the chance to complete the book as he could not get back to sleep and would work on it in those early hours, ultimately finishing it. Ross has since written several more books and prides himself on the stories being thought provoking and the sense of humor that goes along with how he tells them.

Ross has written several books and many of them have characters that cross over into other books and the readers can see how their lives overlap at times. He tried something a bit different with Abel’s Revenge, a modern love story that also involves a serial killer, the whodunnit element, and some laughs. He also tried something new with Shadows of Regret, which he says was inspired by time that he had spent working in the women’s side of jail in Peterborough.

Ross has worked in many different places of employment during the course of his career. He has been a manager at Blockbuster Video, worked at a McDonald’s, on an outback farm, and as a bookmaker in Gibraltar. He has also worked in sales management, something that he did for much of his career. He had started his first book in 2011 and took on the prison officer job to provide a steady income for his family as he had become a father. Ross returned to writing in 2015 and reinvigorated it with new material. By 2018, readers had downloaded over 125,000 of his books. He now writes on a full-time basis.

He lives in Orton Longueville in Peterborough with his family. He also has a therapy dog named Frankie that he takes to spend time with the people at the care home locally.

Ross Greenwood is the creator and the author of the DI Barton series by Ross Greenwood. The series started with the debut of the first novel in the series, The Snow Killer, in 2019. The book did well, selling forty thousand copies in the first six months that it was out. It was followed the next year by the second book in the series, The Soul Killer. Then there was the release of the third novel in the series The Ice Killer the same year. The fourth novel came next, titled The Cold Killer. The fifth novel is titled The Fire Killer, and the sixth novel in the series is titled The Santa Killer.

The Snow Killer is the first novel in the DI Barton series by Ross Greenwood. If you have been searching a new dramatic crime story, check this book out that will have seasoned thriller readers enjoying all of the twists! Definitely check out if you are a fan of authors like Stuart MacBride or Mark Billingham.

Years in the past, a family gets gunned down coldly in the snow. One of the children there makes it through and survives the incident. However, three years later that child has grown up a bit and takes their revenge, making it the origin of the Snow Killer. Then nothing happens from there and the trail and case oddly goes cold with no further crimes occurring.

Fast forward to fifty years onward. Has the Snow Killer returned with the instinct to kill being reawakened? With murder after murder occurring, the victims are stacking out. The detective team that is in charge of solving these crimes are baffled as to what to do with a total lack of leads. They’ve got to put together something fast. D.I. Barton knows that there’s not much time.

They’re racing against the clock as the killer is following a pattern where they kill every time it snows. They have until the next snowfall to figure things out. D.I. Barton is exhausted but must keep going. Can he and his team piece enough together to find a killer that may be hiding in plain sight? Read this book to find out!

The Soul Killer is the second novel in the DI Barton series by Ross Greenwood. Check out the second book in this series!

D.I. Barton is back, and there are crimes that must still be solved. When a seemingly happy family finds out that one of their family has committed suicide, they are shocked. They also don’t think that this person would do that, so they ask if D.I. Barton can investigate. But he finds nothing overtly suspicious, and the case gets closed.

Then the family is hit again, this time by an accident. Later, when a man’s remains are discovered and he has a connection to this family, it all points to one person. The team and Barton move to put this person behind bars, thinking that they’ve got the person they’re after. But have they breathed a sigh of relief too soon? Is the killer still out there? Read this book to find out!

Book Series In Order » Characters » DI Barton

Leave a Reply