Book Notification

DI Kelly Porter Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of DI Kelly Porter Books

DI Kelly Porter series by Rachel Lynch
Author Rachel Lynch pens the “DI Kelly Porter” series, which began publication in the year 2018 when “Dark Game” was released.

The police procedural series is set in the Lake District of England and it features Detective Inspector Kelly Porter. When the novel begins, she has come back home just to find the Lake District has changed and has developed a rather murky criminal underbelly. She goes to live with her mom who hides some serious health issues, the relationship with Nikki (her sister) is fraught, and Kelly has to live up to her dead dad’s reputation as a cop.

“Dark Game” is the first novel in the “DI Kelly Porter” series and was released in the year 2018. DI Kelly Porter knows that there are people who will risk it all in order to get ahead. However when the truth is revealed lethal prices are paid.

After DI Kelly is forced out of the Met because of a scandal, she goes back to the Lake District, her home turf. Crimes taking place in the Cumbrian constabulary are usually minor, however Kelly starts working on a cold case that stunned the local community, the abduction and savage murder of Lottie Davies, a ten year old girl.

At the same time, Kelly is investigating two apparently straightforward cases: one is a robbery following the death of Colin Day, a local businessman, and the other is a case that involves an illegal immigrant. Evidence surfaces that reveals a web of criminal activity beyond anything that Kelly could’ve imagined. Under the facade of sleepy and tourist type towns lies a dangerous and dark underworld. While Kelly threatens to expose those with a lot to lose, she risks paying up the ultimate price in order to get the truth.

Kelly is a brilliant, determined, and dedicated cop that finds herself facing lethal danger and terror and she is a character readers enjoyed reading about.
This novel has a gripping storyline that pulls you in, and there’s excellently researched police procedures that help strengthen the core of the novel that makes you feel like a member of the team. It also lays bare many raw topics like prostitution and human trafficking.

“Deep Fear” is the second novel in the “DI Kelly Porter” series and was released in the year 2018. DI Kelly Porter has returned. However is this latest case going to push her beyond her limits?

One peaceful summer morning in the Lake District, a woman’s corpse is found outside of a church. She has been murdered and one symbolic and savage act has been performed on her corpse. DI Kelly Porter leads the team that investigates the crime, and is determined to bring this murderer to justice.

While more deaths happen, however, it is obvious that this is the work of one determined, dangerous, and disturbed person. Will Kelly be able to put these puzzle pieces together before the danger hits much closer to home?

Rachel brings the Lake District to life with her descriptions, giving the novel an atmospheric feel. Fans liked the build-up of this case, the twists while you wonder who the real culprit is, and the joy that comes with the chase while the pieces get put together.

“Dead End” is the third novel in the “DI Kelly Porter” series and was released in the year 2018. Family secrets have kept a legacy of lies hidden. Could Kelly Porter get to the truth before innocent lives are lost?

From the rafters at Wasdale, the seventh Earl of Lowesdale is discovered hanging from the rafters, and everybody assumes the aging aristocrat finally had enough of chasing the glories of his youth. However the corner discovers signs of foul play, DI Kelly Porter gets swept into a world where lies and secrets rule the day.

At the same time, a pair of young hikers disappear and it is Kelly’s job to lead this search. Digging deeper proves ties to some other unsolved disappearances and Kelly and her team have to race against the clock.

Both investigations, as well as secrets of Kelly’s family, lead to Wasdale Hall and it becomes more important than ever before for Kelly to find out the devious truths hidden behind the walls of Lake District’s most exclusive estate.

“Bitter Edge” is the fourth novel in the “DI Kelly Porter” series and was released in the year 2019. Kelly Porter has returned, however so is one of her old enemies and this time he refuses to back down.

A teen girl flings herself off a cliff, chasing a gruesome death, and Kelly is left to question why. Ruled a suicide, leaving Kelly without any official reason to chase answers, but while several of her team’s cases begin to converge on the girl’s school, a darker and new story emerges. One that is going to bring Kelly facing an old enemy that is determined to get back what’s rightfully his. No matter what the cost.

Mired in her quest for justice for the growing victim list, Kelly starts to find some security in her family, in Johnny, and the dad that she’s just now found. However right when she begins drawing close to unearthing the dark truth right at the core of her investigation, one moment on a cold winter’s night destroys the idea that anything in Kelly’s life could ever really be safe.

“Bold Lies” is the fifth novel in the “DI Kelly Porter” series and was released in the year 2019. One investigation takes DI Kelly Porter back to her old command as well as to the ex that betrayed her.

A double assassination in one secret lab in London’s West End and a savage murder in the Lake District. Apparently unconnected, some unexpected links between these gruesome crimes emerge and Kelly’s job is to follow this trail, all the way to the capital.

Back among some of her old colleagues and required to work with DCI Matt Carter, her calculating ex, she has to untangle a web of deceit that stretches up into the highest reaches of power. A place where lies and secrets are used as currency and no obstacle is too insurmountable.

Book Series In Order » Characters » DI Kelly Porter

Leave a Reply