Book Notification

Diane Moody Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Moody Blue Books

Blue Christmas (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blue Like Elvis / Memphis & Me (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Braxton Mystery Books

Publication Order of The Teacup Novellas Books

Tea with Emma (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Strike the Match (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Home to Walnut Ridge (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
At Legend's End (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Christmas Peril (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Of Windmills & War/The War Trilogy Books

Of Windmills and War (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Beyond the Shadow of War (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
From the Ashes of War (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Journey from War (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Runaway Pastor's Wife (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Confessions of a Prayer Slacker (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Don't Ever Look Down (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

Diane Hale Moody is an established author who was born in Fort Worth Texas. She is the second born daughter of Glenn and Anita Hale. During her childhood, the family moved to Tulsa Oklahoma. She then enrolled in Memorial High School where she completed her education and graduated. For her advanced education, Diane Moody joined Oklahoma State University where she pursued a degree in sociology until graduation.

After a successful completion of her college education, Diane joined the Baptist Memorial Hospital, Memphis Tennessee where she worked as a patient representative.
In the year 1980, Diane decided to move back to her hometown, Tulsa, where she studied court reporting. She made this career choice because she simply wanted a decent pay and an interesting career as a single woman.

Marriage Life
It would be true to state that it was religion that brought Diane to meet her soul mate, Ken. While at Tulsa, Diane decided to go back to her home church, First Baptist Church. Amidst the singles group, Diane spotted a tall guy who was quite funny. Little did she know that he was the love of her life. However, it was during the Christmas season that her heart started beating for him. In a Living Christmas Tree play, Diane played the role of one of the turtle dove while Ken played the role of the partridge in the pear tree. Being as tall as he is, he was wearing a rooster costume that came with yellow tights. Of course, he looked ridiculously funny and that’s when Diane fell in love with him despite what she terms as his ‘chicken legs’.
It was in the year 1981 when the turtle dove got married to her tall Patridge in the pear tree making her Mrs. Ken Moody. In January the following year, the newly-wed couple moved to Fortworth, Texas. Coincidentally, he enrolled at Southwestern Baptist Seminary which was literally two blocks from where Diane lived after birth.

They then moved to Maples, Florida after his graduation in the year 1984. He served as staff at the First Baptist Church. A year later, the couple was blessed with their first child Hannah in the year 1985. Their son Benjamin was born two years later in the year 1987. During this period, Diane was proud to be a full-time mother to both their children.

In the year 1989, the family moved to Largo Florida. This move presented Ken with the opportunity to join the staff at First Baptist Church of Indian Rocks. Coincidentally, this church is where Ken grew up in. They lived there for 10 more years where they cemented a lot of friendships and built life long memories.

In the year 1999, the Diane and her family moved to a small town just outside of Nashville. At this time, their kids were older and Diane found herself often thinking about her purpose besides being a mom and a wife.In this small town, Ken established himself as the CEO of a Christian Internet Filtering Company known as Hedgebuilders.

Writing Journey
Just like any other successful professional, Diane’s journey took gradual baby steps. In her 50’s Diane thought long and hard about how she wanted to spend the rest of her life. In the 12th grade during a creative writing class, Diane recalled a moment whereby her teacher commended her on her exceptional talent in writing. She was quite impressed as she had never really stood out in anything before then. She wondered why it’d taken her too long to invest in this talent. Besides her self-confidence issues, procrastination caused the delay.

She first exercised her professional writing skills writing for local newspaper column for a period of 5 years. This was paired up with numerous magazine articles and of course, blog articles.

She decided to take her writing seriously and that’s when she wrote her first non-fictional book ‘Confessions of a Prayer Slacker’ which was published in the year 2010. It was then that she felt qualified enough to add ‘published author’ to her resume after the release of her first nonfictional book ‘Confessions of a Prayer Slacker’.

This inspired her husband Ken to publish his first book ‘Ordained Irreverence’. This was a book about the ministry journey of a young seminary graduate called Elmo Jenkins. This was the beginning of a comical series of Elmo’s ministry adventure.

Book collection- Her First Two Publications
(a) Confessions of a prayer slacker- First Non-Fictional Book
Published in the year 2010, this book is about her personal journey to discover and establish a close relationship with God through prayer. She uses the term ‘slacker’ to describe everyone who hasn’t formed a habitual prayer routine. The book is aimed at helping her readers create time for a meaningful conversation (Through prayer) with God.

(b) The runaway Pastor’s Wife- The First Fictional Book
With the success of her first nonfictional book, Diane was encouraged to keep writing. Although this was her second book, it was her very first fictional publication. She got positive feedback from her fellow pastor’s wives and her fans at large. She refers to it as therapeutic. The story is about a fictional character called Anne Mc Gregor who’s tired of the church life. She decided to run away from it all for a private retreat in Colorado. All she leaves behind is a brief note to her husband. The story goes on about her encounters and adventures.

It was the response she got from her fans after publishing this book that greatly boosted her confidence in writing. The positive feedback was not only overwhelming but encouraging as well. It assured her that writing was indeed her calling/purpose. Diane is certain and grateful that she found her purpose and calling before it got too late. She continues to indulge and dedicate herself towards writing more to keep her fans entertained and inspired. It would be true to say that her books are diverse as they speak to her readers on a personal level as well as for pure entertainment. This way, you never really know of what she’s going to come up with next.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Diane Moody

2 Responses to “Diane Moody”

  1. Yavonda Lincoln: 6 months ago

    I just finished Blue Christmas and thoroughly enjoyed it!
    What are the titles of the two books that go with Blye Christmas in the Moody Blue Trilogy?

    • Graeme: 6 months ago

      There’s only two books in that series at this time. Blue Christmas, and Blue Like Elvis / Memphis & Me as listed above.


Leave a Reply