Book Notification

Dinah Jefferies Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Daughters Of War Books

Daughters of War (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Hidden Palace (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Night Train to Marrakech (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Separation (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Tea Planter's Wife (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Silk Merchant's Daughter (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Before the Rains (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Sapphire Widow (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Missing Sister (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Tuscan Contessa (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Dinah Jefferies is a Malaysian historical and romance author known for her 2021 book series, Daughters of War. She was born in Malacca in 1948, but her parents moved to England when she was nine years. The death of her 14-year-old son in 1985 profoundly influenced her writing as she drew on that experience as a mother and some of her childhood memories in Malacca in the 1950s. From the two memories, she published her debut novel, The Separation.

Dinah is a resident of Gloucestershire with her husband and their overweight Norfolk terrier. When not writing, you will find her making dinosaurs and tiaras with her grandchildren.

In her 2015 novel, The Tea Planters Wife, Dinah Jefferies introduces us to her main character, Gwendolyn Hooper. At the age of 19, Gwendolyn was happy but young to leave home and venture into a new country worldwide. But her recent engagement to Laurence meant leaving her home in London and joining her husband in Ceylon where he owned a fertile plantation. The voyage by the sea was long and tiresome, but the excitement she experienced was real. Her arrival was filled with worry and concern when her husband never showed up. Instead, a young man of color named Savi Ravasinghe came to her aid and took her to the hotel, and Gwendolyn never thought that the man would feature again in her future life.

Over time, Gwen was able to adapt to a life on a tea plantation with Verity, Laurence’s sister ever on her side. Gwen never seemed comforting to Verity even when Verity had a clinging habit with her brother. And soon some strange things began happening- a grave was discovered in bushes near the house, a car trunk full of musty old clothing and a nearby waterfall where Gwen was never allowed to visit. But besides all these, the worst was that Laurence would never allow any questions by Gwen about his previous wife, Caroline. What dark secrets did Lawrence keep that he never wanted to share with Gwen or anyone else?

Life moved on with Gwen loving Ceylon and her marriage to Laurence moving on swiftly, with the occasional family problems quickly sorted out. But could she continue keeping the secret? What would happen if she let the secret out? Is she capable of keeping a secret that would mean the end of everything for her?

The Tea Planters Wife is a thought-provoking and atmospheric story that will have any reader captivated from the beginning to the last page. Dinah Jefferies did an excellent job in world-building, creating a beautiful Ceylon landscape with all the hustle and bustle of the city, its people, and its colors. Everything is vividly detailed, and that helps the readers connect deeply with the characters. The women’s fashion described in the give help gives an authentic feel of the time period 1925-1934. The resentments, unique cultures, racial prejudices, and political unrest all add to the element of danger and unease to the tale.

Dinah Jefferies created a unique yet captivating drama of deception, jealousy, guilt, and a fateful decision that will impact the lives of Gwendolyn and her husband and everyone around them. Additionally, all the characters in the story are well drawn, especially the heroine, who matures fast and finds her inner strength. The book explores some serious themes of British colonialism, racism, and the working conditions of the time.

In Sapphire Widow, we meet Louisa Reeve, who had married her husband, Elliot, for over a decade. The only problems the two ever experienced in their lives were miscarriages and a stillbirth she had eight years ago. Elliot was always absent from their marriage and home, being busy with work-related meetings in Colombo and working at a nearby cinnamon plantation where he had some shares. But Louisa always missed her husband, and even though she tried not to worry about it, she was deeply worried about a reoccurrence of their problems a few months before.

While Louisa’s husband’s sudden and unexpected death took her by surprise and took her to deep holes of grief she had never experienced before, the discoveries that she would later make about her husband’s life would tear her to the very last bit. Did Louisa ever know her husband at all? She visits Cinnamon Hill to learn more about her husband’s shares, which becomes an eye-opener for her. Will she be able to unravel Elliot’s complexity and betrayals? Will she withstand all the answers she’s about to get?

Dinah does a fantastic job of creating vivid imagery to allow the reader to quickly understand how the place may have looked at the time. An exquisite sense of time and place is well evoked with the vividly detailed passages. As a reader, you will be able to visualize the markets where Louisa explores, constant chatter, laughter, and noise hum, and the port wall where she walks. It is evident that the author loves the places she writes about, and you, as the reader, can sense that through this brilliant writing on every page. Each of Dinah Jefferies’s books often features women who experience hardship and trauma. Through all that they endure, they try to battle on; they finally emerge as changed and stronger characters, which is attained through courage, belief, and tenacity.

It’s no different in this book, as Louisa is a woman with so many injustices. She and Elliot are entirely the opposite. While Elliot is charming and doesn’t have to try too much, she creates friendship easily, and people flock around him. On the other hand, Louisa is more of a closed book. Even though she loves her life in the house she lives with her husband, she is sad she’s not had any kids for over 12 years. Once again, Dinah Jefferies has woven an evocative story that will sweep in all the intrigue, mystery and betrayal that oozes from every pages. It shows how a sudden event in a person’s life can ultimately change the course of one’s life forever.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Dinah Jefferies

2 Responses to “Dinah Jefferies”

  1. Sylvia Mary Robbins: 1 year ago

    At last I have had my first cataract successfuully removed last week, after waiting over a year, and have a backlog of books to catch up on. Your 3 last ones but not The Hidden Palace as it was for sale at the Hospital. Your name was nice and big on the cover. Bye for now. xxx

  2. June simpson: 1 year ago

    I have read all but two of your books. Enjoyed every one of them. I feel I AM THERE IN THE DIFFERENT PLACES YOU TAKE US, EVEN SMELL THE SMELLS. THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR SO MANY HAPPY READING HOURS


Leave a Reply