Book Notification

Divine Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Partholon Books

Divine by Mistake / Goddess by Mistake (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Elphame's Choice (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Brighid's Quest (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Divine by Choice (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Divine by Blood (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Divine Beginnings (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon

Chronological Order of Partholon Books

Divine Beginnings(2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Divine by Mistake / Goddess by Mistake(2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Divine by Choice(2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Divine by Blood(2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Elphame's Choice(2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Brighid's Quest(2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Divine Beginnings is a prequel in the series.

Divine is a trilogy of fantasy novels written by an American author of romance, young adult and fantasy novels, P.C. Cast. Cast began publication of Divine series in 2001 when Divine By Mistake the first book in the series was published. The series consists of four novels, one of which is a short story/prequel entitled Divine Beginnings. The series narrates the story of a school teacher from Oklahoma by the name Shannon Parker. When an unusual antique beauty catches her eye at an auction, she decides to buy it, however before she gets home, she is transported to another world known as Partholon. Earth is the mirror of Partholon, and there is a doppelganger of everyone even though they have distinct personalities.

Partholon is well stocked with nymphs, gods, goddesses, and other magical creatures that are both good and bad.

Divine By Mistake

Divine by Mistake is the debut novel in a series set in our alternate world featuring a heroine named Shannon Parker and hero named Clanfintan. First published in 2001, the Divine series is the adult companion to P.C. Cast’s Young Adult Partholon series including Brighid’s Quest and Elphame’s Choice.

In Divine by Mistake, we are introduced to Shannon Parker, an English teacher in her early 30’s from Tulsa, Oklahoma as she sets out on the last day of the school year to attend an estate auction featuring beautiful, classic and strange antiquities. However, little does she know that she is about to be transported into a magical world full of goddesses, centaurs, shamans, muse nymphs, and evil Fomorians.

With her sights only set on a strange Celtic vase carved with her image, Shannon bids for the urn that seems to possess an intriguing force- and she emerges the winner. However, while driving back home; she suddenly becomes ill when the vase she bought emits a powerful energy field causing her to crash her car. Upon waking up, she finds herself in a world of mirror images of everyone she knows.

The world she finds herself is known as Partholon, where she plays the role of Lady Rhiannon High Priestess and the lover of Goddess Epona, and engaged to Clanfintan, a shape-shifting, and Shaman centaur. Alanna, a slave, explains to her that she is the identical likeness of Lady Rhiannon who has crossed the divide between worlds using a magic wall of fire to avoid her handfasting with Clanfintan.

Shannon later discovers that Lady Rhiannon was no good woman, but she was a self-centered, sexually promiscuous who detested and ill-treated everyone around her except her father. She was not escaping from Clanfintan but fleeing from an escalating battle between the people of Partholon and an evil force, unlike anything seen by humankind.

Shannon’s magic sleep gift sends her dreaming of worlds and the events all around her that will send her on a mission to rescue Rhiannon’s father and bring salvation to the people of Partholon from the wrath of Fomorians. Along the way, Shannon must indemnify for Rhiannon’s past bad behavior including her ill-treatment of Clanfintan, which allows both Shannon and Clanfintan to fall in love finally. However, their love journey is not without several challenges. However, Clanfintan’s ability to shapeshift into a human is affected by time and energy, and so the new couple must adapt to each other’s needs.

Shannon’s modern-day Oklahoma English, as well as her allure to narrate stories of love and adventures, adds to the allure of the Lady Rhiannon. However, a case of mistrust between Alanna’s fiancé Carolan and Lady Rhiannon results into her confessing her true identity to her closest friends.

Acceptance of his new mate and the discovery of that their world is much better without Rhiannon; the centaurs embark on a mission to stop the Fomorians and prevent the end of the world. The outbreak of smallpox renders many humans weak to fight, and thus Shannon must Carolan helping the sick and the dying. Moreover, since Shannon had been vaccinated against Smallpox, she is immune to the disease, and so she becomes a valuable asset in the battle against the outbreaks.

The war between the Fomorians and the Nuada fast approaches, and to avoid the tide of this invasion, Clanfintan and his warriors escort Shannon and human army far from Partholon to Muses Temple but only to find another smallpox outbreak. Luckily the invading Fomorians are not also immune to the disease, and soon their numbers drop and weakened. In order save the life of his beloved Shannon, Clanfintan must engage in a battle to the death- one that could end with him being the dead man.

Divine By Choice

Divine by Choice is book two in P.C. Cast Divine series. It is a continuation of Shannon’s and Clanfintan story, but in this book, we find Shannon returned to her own period.

Shannon also was known as the Lady Rhiannon to the people of Partholon is sick with a mysterious stomach ailment, and her shapeshifting husband is away with his troops. Shannon fights a battle with nausea, lethargy, and weight loss, and when her husband returns and discovers that she is sick, a healer is called in for a diagnosis. It is discovered that the couple are expecting this first born.

A series of events finds Shannon send back to the 21st century alone, pregnant and surrounded by mysterious people. When she wakes up, she finds herself with a man who is a mirror image of her husband named Clint.

As time passes by, Clint finds himself falling for Shannon, but he is quickly dismissed after Shannon discovers that the man was involved with Rhiannon. As Shannon finds a loyal alliance in Clint, she realizes that there is darkness aiming for everyone she ever cared for, and if she does not act soon enough, she might end up losing them.

The second installment in Divine series is an exciting read featuring lots of new characters, and it is in this installment that we get to meet Shannon’s father. The story is filled with evil monsters and magical creatures- and the love story between Shannon and the two men in her life will melt your heart when she must make a choice and decide where he heart belongs.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Divine

Leave a Reply