Book Notification

Dog Lover’s Mysteries Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Dog Lover's Mysteries Books

A New Leash on Death (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dead and Doggone (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Bite of Death (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon
Paws Before Dying (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon
Gone to the Dogs (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bloodlines (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ruffly Speaking (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
Black Ribbon (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
Stud Rites (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Animal Appetite (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Evil Breeding (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Barker Street Regulars (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Creature Discomforts (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Wicked Flea (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dogfather (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bride & Groom (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Gaits of Heaven (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
All Shots (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Brute Strength (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sire and Damn (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Dog Lover's Mysteries Collections

Two Vintage Holly Winter Stories (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Dog Lover’s Mysteries series is a series of highly popular cozy mysteries written by one of the renowned authors from The United States named Susan Conant. This series consists of a total of 19 books, which were published between the years 1990 and 2011. All the books of the mystery series are set in Cambridge, Massachusetts, U.S. Author Susan has described the lead character of this series in the role of Holly Winter. She is described as a woman in her thirties, who works as a magazine writer and fog trainer. Throughout the course of the series, Holly Winter is shown as a feisty trainer. She is seen along with several of her recurring animal characters called as Lady, Rowdy, India, Willie, Tracker, Kimi, Groucho, and Sammy. Author Susan began writing this mystery series in the year 1990 and in the same year she also published its debut book. It is known as A New Leash on Death. This book also marked the debut of the writing career of author Susan. No other book has been released in the series for a few years after the publication of the 19th book, but author Susan maintains that she is working on the plot development of a new book in the series. She is expected to release it very soon in the coming days. This novel series features a story collection called Two Vintage Holly Winter Stories, which consists of two stories written by author Susan. These two stories also feature the main protagonist as Holly Winter. In the year 1991, author Susan was commissioned by the Dog World publication for writing these couple of stories for their popular magazine. Subsequently, she ended up writing the books titled Murder in Ring 19 and Murder Well-Groomed, which appeared in the 1991 and 1992 editions of the magazine.

One of the famous books written in the Dog Lover’s Mysteries series by Susan Conant is titled as ‘Dead and Doggone’. It was released by the Berkeley Books in the year 1990. The story takes place in Cambridge, Massachusetts. At the beginning of the book, Holly Winter is introduced as a columnist for the Dog’s Life magazine. She has a huge pack of wolves at her house, whom she finds it very difficult and tiring to control and train. Particularly, her beautiful and big malamute named Rowdy causes the most troubling experience for her while training the pack. To add to her burden of work, Holly Winter comes to know that a wolf-dog is roaming freely in the Cambridge streets. The mystery of this missing wolf-dog is one of the problems that dog her heels. Later, Holly learns about the murder of a dog trainer. The gossipy trainer’s dead body is discovered with stuck with a pair of high class grooming shears. Holly comes to know about one more mysterious situation when she gains information about a scam. She believes that this scam will leave blood of all the dog trainers in the town frozen. In order to prevent such a situation from happening, Holly Winter decides to begin her detective work and find more information about the scam. But, by doing so, she begins to get hunted by a deadly beast. With this book, author Susan has come up with a mystery involving dogs for the second time. Along with the mysteries, author Susan has described the pet stores in a harsh way. She has fully criticized the stores that sell the pets. Overall, the book is filled with plenty of action scenes and some twisty mystery sequences. Holly Winter is described giving some wise words about how to train the pet dogs and treat them to make them turn into a companion and friend. Holly herself is shown training her lovely Siberian malamute. The expertise of author Susan in providing information about dogs, dog training, dog care, dog behavior, etc., can be clearly seen in the plot of this book. She has also provided a strong message against the torture of pet animals in the name of research.

One of the other books released initially in the series is titled as ‘Bloodlines’. The Crimeline publication published this book in the year 1993, after it was first released in 1992. In this book, author Susan has described the main characters as Holly Winter, Diane Sweet, and a malamute named Missy. The book opens up by describing a small pet shop called Puppy Luv, which serves as an outlet for the mill industry of puppies. This shop is owned by Diane Sweet and is known to be a hot place for forging the papers, mistreating animals, and breaking the promises. Normally, Holly Winter hates to visit such a place because she knows very well what sort of business is carried out there. But, when she gets a tip regarding the mistreatment of a malamute puppy at Puppy Luv, she could not stop herself from going there. Holly intends to rescue the innocent malamute and make sure that Diane Sweet gets punished for the cruelty to the innocent animals. She also makes up her mind to make Puppy Luv go out of business as a measure to prevent any more mistreatment of the animals. But, when Holly reaches the pet shop of Diane Sweet, she finds her gruesomely murdered by someone. Apparently, it becomes quite clear that Diane Sweet had made angry many other people with her actions.

As Holly Winter begins to investigate the murder case, she is able to establish a link between the killing and the disappearance of a malamute. This puppy is later found to be an adorable and beautiful live wire called Missy. With further investigation into the matter, Holly Winter successfully digs up important evidence related to the deadly and fiercely competitive underworld of breeding dogs. When enters such a place, she is made to realize the greatest fears of her life. The only thing that she has on her side to save her are the animal instincts. In spite of the huge difficulties that come in her path, Holly Winter does not lose hope and moves ahead with great determination. Holly vows not to stop or rest until she has destroyed the deadly dog breeding underworld. She gets help from her pet wolf-dogs, who prove very useful during the investigation.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Dog Lover’s Mysteries

Leave a Reply