Book Notification

Domenic Stansberry Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of North Beach Mystery Books

Chasing the Dragon (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Big Boom (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Ancient Rain (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Naked Moon (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Spoiler (1987)Description / Buy at Amazon
In the 1st Degree (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Last Days of Il Duce (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Manifesto for the Dead (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Confession (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
The White Devil (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Labyrinths: The Art of Interactive Writing and Design, Content Development for New Media (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Exit Paradise: Stories (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Domenic Stansberry is a published American author of fiction.

He was born in 1952 in Washington D.C. and grew up in California. He was the oldest of six children that his parents had. His mother Avincenza Rose Musolino was born to Italian immigrants, and his father Chadwick Leroy Stansberry was an aerospace engineer. The family moved to California in 1966.

The author went to UC Santa Cruz for two years before deciding to spend some time in Portland, Oregon. He then got his graduate degree after attending the University of Massachusetts. He worked for a large part of his early career as a reporter and wrote for several small and large newspapers and for UPI, covering sports and politics. Around this time, he penned his first novel The Spoiler. It came out in 1987 and was nominated for an Edgar Allan Poe Award for its story of a reporter who is covering a minor baseball team in a small town in Massachusetts that has to keep dealing with arson.

He returned to California after some time in Spokane and New Orleans in 1989. There he worked in the multimedia industry for some time, writing for video games, documentary films, and doing avatar-based computer training. His Exit Paradise collection of short stories was first published in 1992. It would be a decade after The Spoiler came out before another crime novel was published. His 1997 book The Days of Il Duce is told from the view of Niccolo Jones, a former lawyer that has a fixation on his brother’s wife. It was nominated for the Hammett Prize and an Edgar Award. This was followed by the 1999 novel Manifesto for the Dead, which tells about the last days of a pulp novelist.

His next novel was The Confession, a book which sat for years before being published. It won the Edgar Award in 2005 for best paperback original.

His 2016 novel The White Devil tells the tale of a young woman in Rome who finds herself accused of several murders that go back to when she was young. It was awarded the Hammett Prize in 2017 for the category literary excellence in crime fiction. He was awarded the Edgar Allan Poe Award for The Confession.

The author is married to Gillian Conoley, a poet. They have a daughter together named Gillis and reside in a small town somewhere to the north of San Francisco. He also continues to write novels and for film and video. He also teaches the MFA program at Vermont College.

Domenic Stansberry is also the author of the North Beach Mystery series. They are also known as The Pelican Novels. The series got started in 2004 with the publication of Chasing the Dragon. This was followed by The Big Boom in 2006, the third novel The Ancient Rain in 2008, and the fourth novel Naked Moon in 2010. The novels feature the character Dante Mancuso, an investigator who also goes by the name ‘The Pelican’. The Ancient Rain and Naked Moon were finalists for the Shamus Award, and The Ancient Rain was named one of the top crime novels of the decade by Booklist.

Chasing the Dragon is the first novel in the North Beach mystery series by Domenic Stansberry. This novel is where readers are introduced to the character of Dante Mancuso, an investigator, for the first time.

Dante is a complicated man, the type that sticks to the shadows. He has a double life, but the line he’s been walking has become increasingly thin. He’s employed by The Company, a security organization that appears to operate on the right side of the law. He wants to leave the situation as soon as possible, but it’s difficult. This way of life has its own type of attraction.

Now he has a new assignment that is taking him to San Francisco, in his old neighborhood in North Beach. His first order of business is going to the funeral of his father in Little Italy. They were estranged, but now all that they have gone through is a glimmer of the past. Being back there helps him pick back up where his old life left off.

Soon he’s playing a game far more elaborate. One that involves his family, his former fiancée, and even people he used to work with in the San Francisco Police Department. It’s a new game that can’t go on forever.

Meanwhile, Dante’s being chased by a Chinese detective named Frank Ying. who wants to know what secrets he is hiding. Still dealing with being at the service of The Company and now having to deal with ghosts from the path. Dante is walking a tightrope to the end of the rails– and what he finds might surprise him.

Pick up a copy of Chasing the Dragon to find out what happens with Dante Mancuso!

The Big Boom is the second novel in the North Beach mystery series by Domenic Stansberry. Dante Mancuso is back again in the follow up to the debut novel in this series.

San Francisco is once again the setting for this novel. right before all of the tech markets and Californian economy is about to go down. Mancuso is still a private investigator working in San Francisco.

The melancholic man still looks good, even if he feels older than he appears. He’s known as The Pelican among his family, partly based on his Sicilian nose. He’s still dealing with demons but trying to put them behind him.

With a new North Beach apartment, Mancuso is trying to put the past away and start over with Marilyn Visconte, his lover. But a new case comes to him when a family comes to him hoping he’ll find their daughter. She also happens to be a former flame.

He’s searching for Angela Antonelli, but then a young woman’s dead body is taken up from the bay. He keeps looking for her, worried that the body and Angela are the same. Even after being called off the case, he keeps hunting for her. Marilyn is all the more distant due to this new case.

Dante’s on the trail, but will he find good news or bad when it comes to Angela? Read this mystery novel to find out!

Book Series In Order » Authors » Domenic Stansberry

Leave a Reply