Book Notification

Don Winslow Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Boone Daniels Books

The Dawn Patrol (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Gentlemen's Hour (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Danny Ryan Books

Publication Order of Neal Carey Books

A Cool Breeze on the Underground (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Trail to Buddha's Mirror (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
Way Down on the High Lonely (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Long Walk Up the Water Slide (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
While Drowning in the Desert (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Savages Books

Chronological Order of Savages Books

Publication Order of Power Of The Dog Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Isle of Joy (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Death and Life of Bobby Z (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
California Fire and Life (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Winter of Frankie Machine (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Satori (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Missing: New York (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Force (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Looking for a Hero (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Publication Order of Anthologies

Don Winslow is a novelist from America whose writings are based on crime and investigations. Five of his books have a character called Neal who plays the roles of a detective. He has been featured in the Undercover television program and written movies such as the Savages in which Oliver Stone is the director and Life of Bobby Z. Don has received several awards for his writing such as the Shamus Award for producing the most excellent P.I. book. He was born in New York on 1953 to parents who were also fond of literature. His mom was a librarian and his dad was an officer all of whom played a great role in nurturing Don towards reading books. He pursued his high education in the University of Nebraska where he specialized in the African history. He further pursued masters in military history. He resides in California together with his spouse, Jean and a son, Thomas. .

Before venturing in the writing career he had earlier on engaged in other types of occupations. He has ever worked as an administrator for several theaters in New York and as a personal detective in film theaters. Additionally he has gotten involved in hiking in Sichuan province located in China and as a safari rally driver in Africa, Kenya. During his hiking in China, he was able to publish his first book which was in turn nominated for the Edgar Award. His investigatory professional would lead him to travel to California most of the time due to the arson litigations. Don would use his storytelling ability to best present himself to the judges. Apart from writing his other hobby includes hiking in which he treks for almost seven miles daily. He mainly spends the morning hours on editing and confesses that he cannot go for more than five days without writing.

Don is able to edit two novels at the same time with each book taking different writing durations.One of the earliest novels from Don Winslow is The Cartel which is composed of power struggle, vengeance and fraud in the war against drug trade.Adan Barrera is the leader of the most powerful cartel in the world and who was involved in the killings of Keller’s colleague. He is the chief leader of this cartel which is a great drug dealer. Keller is an agent from the DEA and is fighting against drug trade for a period of more than thirty years in a terrible war in which Adan is the main culprit. As Keller wages war against Adan, he is almost losing his woman in turn. Adan is also determined to reconstruct the kingdom that Keller had demolished .Keller on the other hand is not ready to live together with Adan in the same kingdom. Thus, he wanders for an odyssey of ten years on how he will crush him. The tale begins when Adan escapes from jail through the assistance of a corrupt officer. The author is able to resemble the incidents in real Mexico to the novel in such a way that they look authentic.

The incident where the prisoner is able to escape looks alike to the one when a Mexican drug leader was able to escape through a tunnel. It is shocking that the tunnel was constructed with hardly any police officer taking note of that. This is where the whole disaster begins when Keller commences the hunt for Adan. The Zetas cartel is composed of persons who have been coached on military tactics which gives them the ability to dominate the drug marketplace whereby they murder anybody they come across. With all these executions, there is lots of bloodshed, rape and all sorts of depressing incidents.Another remarkable novel from Don Winslow is the Savages which is a tale of two friends, Ben and Chon. Ben is an intelligent and open-minded person who enjoys spending time in developing countries and establishing health centers and learning institutions. His friend’s actual name is John since Chon is a nick-name.

On the other hand, Chon possesses negative thoughts and believes that most individuals are only pretending to be enlightened. Nevertheless, both Chon and Ben are close comrades and even go ahead to share one girlfriend by the name Ophelia. Ophelia is just another weird girl who is fond of going for shopping and having fun with both men.Apart from being close comrades, they also engage in business together whereby they are the leading distributors of pot in the region of south California. Both play a critical role in preserving the name of their business. Ben is a pro in growing weed whereas Chon is responsible for safeguarding their territory in case it faces a certain threat. They have over the years reaped massive profits from these drug herbs. Unfortunately, some people also want to have it but they cannot let go. It happens that the two men receive a film record from a certain Mexican drug alliance that shows people being beheaded.

The record continues to state that the beheading will happen to them if they also refuse to join the alliance. They are however not interested in joining the association so they decide to turn down the offer and then escape abroad. Unluckily, the drug alliance abducts Ophelia as a revenge tactic.The two men are aware that if they do not abide by the alliance’s wishes, Ophelia might be the next victim to be decapitated. They therefore wage war against them at the same time making sure the alliance is not aware of who is fighting them. They have to do everything they can to save Ophelia from danger. This book is also available in a movie version. The plotting is still intact and similar to the book writings. Generally, the story is amazing and shows what happens when people do anything to safe their loved ones. Although Chon has an unwelcoming attitude he portrays an interesting observance of various individuals. Even though the book is full of dark parts the stories presented from this country are somehow humorous.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Don Winslow

One Response to “Don Winslow”

  1. Arlene S Lancelot: 3 years ago

    Excellent story line and writing; first reading was Gentlemen’s Hour and now reading Dawn Patrol. If anything close to the characters in these books ring true, what a even better So Cal it would be.


Leave a Reply