Book Notification

Donald Wigboldy Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Tales of Alus Books

The High King (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Emperor's Shadow War (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Battle Mage (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Winter’s Edge (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The King (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dragon Mage (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dark Mage (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Hero’s Welcome (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Forging New Steel (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
White Hall (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Winds of Change (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Battle Mage Visions (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Unexpected Heir (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Battle Mage Bonds (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Battle Mage Broken Empire (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Caves of Time (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Slave to Magic Books

Slaves to Magic (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Hunter's Path (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Smart Alec Books

Smart Alec in the Dark Lands (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Vorans and Vampires Books

Voran the Night Guardian (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Standing Before Monsters (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Mermaid's Chest (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Technomancer: Beyond the Nebula (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Choose Your Class (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Author Donald L. Wigboldy, Jr. writes the “Tales of Alus” series, which began publication in the year 2011, when “The High King”. The series features the “Blood Mage” stories, which focus on Sebastian and the wizards. The series is high fantasy. He also writes the “Vorans and Vampires” series, which is also fantasy.

“The High King” is the first novel in the “Tales of Alus” series, which was released in the year 2011. King of Marshalla’s greed makes sorcerers bring in dragons and gargoyles to his world. He puts together an untouchable army of doom and destruction to conquer the North Continent’s countries. His people are not immune from his brutality and harshness either.

Gerid Aramathea and Simon (Gerid’s brother) find that their home in ruins and friends and family are killed. It is all due to a simple duel between the king’s guards and a sixteen year old kid. They flee the country and promise to come back one day to make sure King Merrick pays for his crimes.

They take a flight on board a merchant vessel goes wrong when pirates attack. They get separate and get sold into slavery. Will they be able to figure out a way to save themselves, find each other and make good on their promise?

Fans of the novel found this to be a great start to the series. Readers enjoyed each and every moment of the book. It is well written and holds the attention until the final page. Each of the characters in this are well developed and help to hook the reader into this.

“The Emperor’s Shadow War” is the second novel in the “Tales of Alus” series, which was released in the year 2011. Dante awakens on a battlefield surrounded by his fellow dead countrymen, and he retraces the steps the path the dark army that came out of nowhere. The shadow army vanishes again, and the soldier goes back to his king. He is sent on a mission that becomes an epic quest to stop this Dark Emperor, which is a being that comes from another world that is using Alus to move his armies without anyone seeing in this world.

Darius, the apprentice wizard, joins a mission of his own to close up all the new portals that appear with no warning and randomly. There is rumor of some monstrous armies that terrorize Alus’ innocent people, and it has reached wizards of Aerworld’s ears. These wizards are there to defend against any and all portals opened between worlds.

Two men, who are going on their own quests, must find strength and a way to make sure the Dark Emperor does not destroy either their world or the one of dwarves and elves. The Dark Emperor’s creatures, one dragon, elves, and dwarves are standing in these two men’s way and both worlds being saved. Will these two men, and those they travel with, figure out a way to save these two worlds from a foe that is impossible to defeat?

Fans of the novel find that this is another great story that was written by Donald Wigboldy, who always delivers a great book. These are well told stories and set in a world that is complete. The story shows the unrest and wars involving these characters and their efforts to stop the evil forces threatening them.

“Battle Mage” is the third novel in the “Tales of Alus” series, which was released in the year 2011. Sebastian was only a child when those wizards came to take him off to the magic school. He does not have the magical power to be a full wizard, and spent years training with a soldier’s weapons. Sebastian also got training in a battle mage’s lesser magic.

He is thought to be inferior by all the wizards, and found that his days were ruined by Magnus and his wizard friends. His days were followed by all of the magical pranks they sent his way. All while he trained harder and harder so that he could prove himself.

The Dark Emperor’s hordes are threatening the Great Wall again and Sebastian finds he is on his first journey to the Wall’s guardian forts. His trip to Windmeer is made all the more tougher when Magnus comes along for the ride. Friendship starts to bloom with Yara (a woman wizard) that has the eye of Magnus. Is Sebastian going to be fighting more than just the hordes of the Dark One?

Fans of the novel enjoyed reading about the flawed Sebastian. The book is enjoyable and fun to read. Even though it might be obvious how things are going to turn out, it is still interesting to see him, as he gets out of whatever predicament he is in.

“Battle Mage: Winter’s Edge” is the fourth novel in the “Tales of Alus” series, which was released in the year 2013. Sebastian has gone back to Falcon’s Keep to run patrols whenever he and his team have to save an ambassador and their caravan from the dark wolves that come from north of the wall. He is drawn into a man’s need to go to the capital, Sebastian and his allies are pulled into some dangerous winter travel through mountain terrain and beyond.

Evidence that their enemy is south of the wall is found, and they all quickly are in a fight for their very lives.

All the while, the king chose to hold a grand tournament for all of the wizards that come from around the world. With this battle mage last in the battle, which is on a Wizard’s terms? Is he going to be able to even survive to go off to the capital?

Readers enjoy the books from this series with Sebastian the most. Fans of the novel found themselves enjoying the tournament in the book, which captivated them quite a bit. Sebastian is a smart and creative hero who, despite being a mage, is able to stand toe to toe with wizards, that readers enjoyed reading about.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Donald Wigboldy

Leave a Reply