Book Notification

Donis Casey Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Alafair Tucker Books

The Old Buzzard Had It Coming (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hornswoggled (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Drop Edge of Yonder (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Sky Took Him (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Crying Blood (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Wrong Hill to Die On (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hell with the Lid Blown Off (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
All Men Fear Me (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Return of the Raven Mocker (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Forty Dead Men (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Adventures of Bianca Dangereuse Books

The Wrong Girl (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Valentino Will Die / The Death of Valentino (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Bound by Mystery(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Donis Casey is an American author of fiction.

Donis Casey was born in Tulsa, a well known city in Oklahoma where she grew up. She is the third generation of her family to live in Oklahoma and as a result she grew up among her extended family in small towns and on farms. Their independent spirit is still something that is a characteristic of the pioneering people and history of the state.

Casey attended the University of Tulsa, where she studied English and graduated with her degree. She also attended Oklahoma University and studied Library Science, graduating with a Master’s degree.

Donis was not always a professional writer for a living. She first spent a short amount of time teaching school and then went on to use her Library Science degree to become an academic librarian. She worked at the University of Oklahoma as well as Arizona State University.

She left working in academic libraries to start her own business in downtown Tempe, a gift shop that sells Scottish imported goods, in 1988. She spent over ten years working as an entrepreneur before deciding that she would commit herself to writing full time. She resides in Arizona in Tempe along with her loving husband.

Donis Casey is the creator and author of the Alafair Tucker Mystery series. The series kicked off officially in 2005 with the publication of the first book. Hornswoggled was the name of the sequel and it came out shortly after in 2006. The tenth book was released in 2018 and is titled Forty Dead Men.

The Old Buzzard Had It Coming is the debut novel in the Tucker series by Donis Casey. The first book in this engaging fictional series takes the reader all the way back to 1912 to an evening in the middle of winter in the woods located close to Boynton, a town in Oklahoma.

It is there that Harley Day comes and surprises his son and the neighbor in a tryst together. He’s drunk at the time and has a reputation and pattern of being abusive. When his son walks his lover home an hour later, Phoebe’s mother thinks that something is out of place. But there is no way that she could ever suspect that her daughter was caught up in violent confrontations that will end up making she and her boyfriend suspects in murder.

Alafair and her husband as well as their children discuss the topics of the day. They eat over buttered cornbread and beans and talk about the amusing fact that Phoebe is seeing someone. They then bring up the Day family, where the Days are known to be under the reign and wrath of their evil father. He mistreats the children, beats the wife, and does not allocate money to take care of them properly.

The mother is known not to do anything and is too terrified or weak to stand up against them. Their oldest daughter has fled the home and that leaves just Naomi and John Lee to take care of the younger kids and do their best to keep the family from falling apart.

Can John Lee handle everything or will the family fall under the weight of the pressure? Read this interesting first book in the series to find out for yourself.

Hornswoggled is the second book in the Alafair Tucker mystery series by Donis Casey. If you really enjoyed reading the first novel, then definitely check out this engaging sequel from Casey and see what the fuss is all about!

This story is set a little later than the first one. It is 1913 and the spring season, when Alice Tucker’s world is coming alive. Love is in the air, and Alice is finding out the virtues of seeing someone new. Walter Kelley is her new beau and he has everything going for him.

Walter is wealthy and handsome, and popular on top of all of that (although the looks and the money do help). He’s from Oklahoma and everyone in town seems to like him a lot, with the exception of one person. That would be Alice’s mother. Alafair doesn’t enjoy the fact that he seems to be a ladies’ man and loves to get along with women socially.

If he has a preference for women, then it could just as easily be said that the ladies also have a preference for him as well. The only thing is that he is made all the more suspicious because of what happened to his wife. His wife Louise had passed away, and not from natural causes.

When her body was found it was soon clear that she had been killed. She could not survive being stabbed in her heart and had died soon. Her body had callously been ditched in the local Cane Creek just months previous, and since then the killer has not been caught.

There have been no clues, and Walter certainly did look like a suspect. However, his alibi means that the sheriff has been able to eliminate him from the list of possible suspects. When it comes to the situation, nothing about it looks good– and nothing about it seems kosher to Alice’s mother either.

Alafair has no idea whether he was actually responsible for his wife’s murder. She has no idea what could be off, but she is thinking that this guy has gotten away with something. Walter may not have been the killer, but she has no idea what she is picking up on. She could be picking up a link to this crime or maybe it’s even the spirit of Louise calling to her from the other side.

Alafair thinks that he probably was a bad husband regardless– even if he didn’t actually kill his wife. She’s going to work with Sally McBride to try and show Alice that this guy might not be the one like she thinks that he is. Can Alice accept what her mother has to say or will she become defensive?

She tries to figure out who killed Louise, but can Alafair survive the investigation? Lies and deceit are everywhere– find out what happens by picking up this novel!

Book Series In Order » Authors » Donis Casey

Leave a Reply