Book Notification

Donovan Cook Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Charlemagne's Cross Books

Odin's Betrayal (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Loki's Destiny (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Thor's Revenge (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Ormstunga Saga Books

Son of Anger (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Raid of the Wolves (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Chaos of the God (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Donovan Cook
Donovan Cook was born in South Africa and grew up in England, where his fascination with Medieval History, particularly the Norse and Vikings Mythology, took root.

Even as a young child, he enjoyed reading stories about Vikings and other medieval warriors battling it out to defend their homeland or raiding some distant lands. He’d often be found running around outside without anything more than just a wooden sword and his imagination. Now that he’s older, he spends him time writing about them.

During his free time, he loves to watch rugby, reading, and going for walks with his wife and Joey, their French Bulldog.

For “Son of Anger”, the idea came from Donovan not being able to find nearly enough Viking stories out there. He has been reading historical fiction for quite a long time and became enthralled by Vikings by reading authors like Giles Kristian and Bernard Cornwell. His problem was that he struggled to find even more viking stories out there. This was the primary reason that he decided to write about Vikings. Another reason is that Donovan really enjoys Norse mythology and this gave him a good excuse to learn even more about it.

“Son of Anger” is the first novel in the “Ormstunga” series and was released in 2020. Ulf is like a storm, one that slowly builds up to its power, growing more dangerous with every passing moment. And just like all storms, he’ll eventually break. And when he does, he will destroy everything that is in his path. Ulf comes from a long line of famous Norse warriors. Tyr, his ancestor, wasn’t just an ordinary man, but the Norse God of War. Ulf knows nothing at all about being a warrior.

It all changes when this stranger arrives on Ulf’s small farm in Vikenfjord. The only family that he has ever known get slaughtered and the only reminder of his dad gets stolen: Ulf’s dad’s sword, Ormstunga.

Right then and there, Ulf’s destiny gets decided. Is this the gods punishing him? All that Ulf knows is that he must avenge his family. He sets off on this adventure which will take him across oceans, right into the eye of danger, on a quest to reclaim the honor of his family. The gods have been roused. Only one warrior can answer to them. The Son of Anger.

Gods, Norse warriors, and all things epic. This story of vengeance is nothing short of exciting.

“Raid of the Wolves” is the second novel in the “Ormstunga” series and was released in 2021. The one thing that kept him going were the voices of his ancestors in his head, screaming out for blood.

Ulf and his shield brothers get sent on this raid against an old enemy: Francia, which is a mighty kingdom to the south, which is now ravaged by a civil war. Ulf, during a rather perilous sea voyage, can just focus on a single thing. He demands closure: to find Griml, the man that butchered his whole family.

There’s a hidden enemy that is stalking Ulf and his warriors and his warriors through Francia, striking ruthlessly when they are least expecting it. Before long, the hunters have become the hunted. The Norse warriors have to make the ultimate decision between angering the gods or defying the king. Either could end with fury. However there’s another threat that is lurking in the shadows. One which Ulf could never anticipate. Ulf’s not the only one seeking vengeance.

“Odin’s Betrayal” is the first novel in the “Charlemagne” series and was released in 2023. Two kingdoms are destined for war. One boy is caught in the eye of the storm.

Francia AD 853. After one failed Viking raid on the Frankish coast more than 20 years ago, Jarl Sven the Boar has been forced to leave Torkel, his only son, as a hostage and is warned never to raid Francia again or his son is going to die. In Hugelburg, one small town in East Francia, Torkel and Charles (his nine year old son) get ambushed while at home.

Torkel, before dying, thrusts a package into young Charles’ hands and tells him he needs to flee Francia for Denmark seeking the protection of his grandpa Sven the Boar. However the man that Charles eventually finds isn’t who he was expecting, and Charles has to put his fate into the hands of a guy betrayed by Odin. And together they have to uncover the package’s significance and why the Kings of Francia want Charles dead.

Readers found this to be an action packed scintillating thriller. It’s raw, pacy, violent fare, with this cast of characters that you will either swiftly admire or loathe, you will think that you are in the shield wall. This is a fabulous Norse story of family secrets, conflict, and betrayal right up to the very last page.

“Loki’s Betrayal” is the second novel in the “Charlemagne” series and was released in 2023. A king that is frail and old. A challenger that is full of vengeance. And a kingdom’s fate is at stake. Sven the Boar is Jarl of Ribe yet again. He and Charles attempt to settle into their new lives, however treachery and trouble are never all that far away.

Charles, who is tormented by recent events, struggles to adapt to life among all the heathens that mock his Christian God and the arrival of this priest from the southern just makes things that much worse. At the same time, Sven is burdened with the responsibilities of being Jarl again and keeping his grandson safe from those that are hunting them.

When he’s forced into an alliance with King Horik’s nephew who’s raising up an army to challenge his uncle for the throne of Denmark, Sven makes quite an important choice. While the threat of war becomes real, Sven rides in order to fight a battle which is going to change the destiny of Denmark. However as he fights, is Charles going to stay safe or are other games in play which threaten him?

Book Series In Order » Authors » Donovan Cook

Leave a Reply