Book Notification

Donovans (A.C. Arthur) Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Donovans Books

Love Me Like No Other (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Cinderella Affair (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Defying Desire (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Full House Seduction (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Touch of Fate (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Holiday Hearts (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Desire a Donovan (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Surrender to a Donovan (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Pleasured by a Donovan (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Heart of a Donovan (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Embraced By A Donovan (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Wrapped In A Donovan (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Donovans: Uncovered (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
In The Arms of a Donovan (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Falling for a Donovan (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Destiny Of A Donovan (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Legacy Is Born (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

The name ‘Donovans’ refers to a series of novels written by A.C. Arthur. The books follow a powerful family as they struggle with everyday problems.

+The Story

The Donovans stand at the center of A.C. Arthur’s romance series. The powerful African-American family seems to have everything, not only fame but fortune and everything in between.

However, life is no fairer for the Donovans than it is for everyone else. The men of the Donovan clan struggle with love and life just like everyone else, with Arthur’s stories chronicling the sizzling relationships that blossom when these powerful men encounter explosively enticing women.

The Donovans books are supposed to be connected. But some of the earlier books can be read as standalone stories. A.C. Arthur uses each book to delve into the life of a different member of the Donovan family.

Each new protagonist is designed to shed light on a new and previously explored corner of the Donovan Empire. Each newly introduced member of the Donovan clan is designed to stand out in some way, following a path that might differ from the rest of the Donovans and dealing with their own unique set of demons.

The women that the different Donovans encounter are also quite unique, crafted to match the nature of each Donovan and, thus, making certain that each book stands on its own as a unique piece of literature.

There are more than a dozen books in the Donovans series. While earlier books are loosely connected, with Arthur allowing the different Donovans to appear in one another’s books, a plotline known as ‘The Secret Son’ appears in later books and it begins to run throughout the series even as it winds up.

The plot was introduced, not to give the novels a more solid connection but to allow the series to end more on a bang than a whimper. The storyline creates conflict amongst the Donovans when it is revealed that one of them might have sired a son and then abandoned him.

A.C. Arthur’s books might belong to the romance genre, but her stories tend to transcend all the electricity and sexual chemistry between her characters. The author makes an effort to use her novels to tackle difficult subjects like domestic violence and eating disorders, not mention body shaming.

Arthur’s goal is to show that wealth does not necessarily make a family immune to the problems of the world, and that even the rich protagonists in her fictional world struggle with everyday problems.

The biggest draw of the books is the characters. Many of Arthur’s readers have come to love and care for the Donovans, primarily because of Arthur’s ability to make them relatable so much so that readers feel like they have been invited to join the Donovan family.

Arthur always aims to touch her readers. She wants them to walk away from her novels feeling hopeful in some way. Her objective in writing the Donovans series isn’t to deliver a happy ending but to craft a thrilling and enticing journey of love towards that expected end.

+The Author

Before Artist C. Arthur was touching hearts with her romance novels, she was making a living in the legal field. The Wife and Mother spent more than a decade watching terrible things happen.

Arthur found that romance novels were a great escape from all that she encountered in the legal field, and it wasn’t long before she realized that she could bring the same comfort to some other tired soul.

Arthur’s goal as a writer is to deliver edgy romance to readers. She knows how to create racy characters and describe sensual love scenes.

For her efforts, Arthur has received a number of accolades, this including nominations for the EMMA Awards and Romantic Times Reviewers Choice awards.

Arthur has admitted that finding the time to write is a difficult task. The author works for a judge full-time. Add that to the stress of raising her family, and Arthur has more than enough on her plate.

However, Arthur is determined to keep her dream for writing alive. Though, that doesn’t mean she has any intention of ignoring her family. A.C. Arthur is one of those women that are determined to do it all.

+Defying Desire

Tia St. Claire doesn’t want any strings. She is happy to jump from fling to fling, and she doesn’t feel like explaining her reasons to the men she comes across.

Of course, keeping to that mantra was only easy because she hadn’t met Trent Donovan. Not only is the last of successful Donovan brothers unattached but he is wildly sexy. Tia didn’t think much of their one-night stand until she realized that she couldn’t quite get Trent out of her system.

With her longings starting to surface, Tia must decide whether she will surrender or fight the fire for Trent that threatens to consume her.

Not that Trent understands the situation either. Despite a career filled with danger, Trend Donovan cannot help but flinch at the power of his attraction for Tia. But, can he afford to follow his heart?

This is the third book in the Donovans books. The first two saw Trent’s siblings find love in unexpected places. Now it is his turn. However, Tia isn’t an easy catch. There are ghosts haunting the girl, demons that have driven her to seek isolation and seclusion above all else.

But it looks like Trent just might have what it takes to bring her walls down.

+Full House Seduction

Noelle Vincent thinks she has seen it all. However, the former party girl isn’t prepared when she first lays eyes on Brock Remington, the developer of a new casino.

The fourth book in the Donovans novels strays away from the core members of the family and shines the spotlight on the wider circle of their friends and extended family.

When Noelle first meets Brock, she is determined to keep their relationship professional, but she only makes this decision after the two enjoy a steamy encounter by which time she has ignited a fire she has no hopes of controlling.

Noelle is afraid to return to her old ways. The idea of another broken heart scares her but she finds that Brock might be worth the risk.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Donovans (A.C. Arthur)

Leave a Reply