Book Notification

Doomsday Brethren Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Doomsday Brethren Books

By: Shayla Black, Jeaniene Frost, Sharie Kohler
Tempt Me with Darkness (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Seduce Me in Shadow (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Possess Me at Midnight (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Haunted by Your Touch (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Entice Me at Twilight (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Embrace Me at Dawn (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Doomsday Brethren Short Stories Books

Doomsday Brethren is a series of urban fantasy novels written by Shayla Black. The books pit a group of magic users against a powerful force that is hellbent on destroying the world.

+The Story

The Doomsday Brethren series began publication in 2008 with ‘Tempt Me with Darkness’. The first book in the series, ‘Tempt Me with Darkness’ introduces readers to Marrok, an immortal knight from the courts of King Arthur himself.

Marrok was cursed by the evil Morganna la Fey because he spurned her advances. After eons of anguish Marrok’s chance at redemption manifests when he meets Olivia, a seemingly ordinary woman who, it turns out, has the power to break Marrok’s curse and give him the sweet release he desires.

Marrok and Olivia’s storyline does not progress significantly past ‘Tempt Me with Darkness’. However, it introduces concepts that continue to play a role throughout the rest of the Doomsday Brethren series.

A long time ago, Merlin and Morganna le Fey fought one another for the fate of the world. Their tale was eventually dismissed as myth and legend and the sacrifices they both made to achieve their respective goals were lost through times.

‘Tempt Me with Darkness’ reveals that Morganna and Merlin were actual historical figures. It also reveals that magic is real and that magical beings walk the earth. More important is the fact that Merlin’s battle with Morganna never ended.

Morganna might have been defeated but her will lived on, nurtured in the minds and hearts of those wizards who sought to complete her work and bring the world to ruin.

To match their strengths, the Doomsday Brethren were created. Starting with ‘Seduce me in Shadow’, the second novel in the Doomsday books, the Doomsday Brethren are further explored, revealed to be wizards of considerable power who use their gifts to keep the world safe from Morganna’s forces.

On the whole, the Doomsday Brethren protect the world from magical threats. Their goal is to extinguish any supernatural forces that arise with the intention of causing havoc.

However, their singular purpose has always been to bring Morganna and her kind to a definite end. Governed by a council of notable witches and wizards and led by a descendant of Merlin, the Brethren’s primary foe is a wizard of considerable Malice called Mathias.

Mathias has two primary objectives in mind. On the one hand, he wants to locate Morganna’s tomb and bring her back to life. On the other hand, Mathias wants to get his hands on the Doomsday Diary, a book that belonged to Morganna and within which is contained considerable power.

The diary is introduced to readers in ‘Tempt Me with Darkness’. The diary is initially used as a tool to bring Marrok and Olivia, the hero and the heroine, together. Over time, it is revealed that the diary poses a considerable threat and, in the wrong hands, it could bring even magickind to its knees.

In that first book, Marrok needs the diary to break his curse. He must decide whether he is willing to risk magickind to achieve his own personal desires. As the series progresses, Mathias makes a concerted effort to acquire the dairy, with the Doomsday Brethren then stepping up to stop him.

The premise of the Doomsday Brethren series normally creates the notion of an action/adventure thrill ride. In truth, these books are more erotic romance than anything else.

Shayla Black’s heroes are smolderingly attractive alpha males with a tragic past, dark secrets, and a broken heart. They struggle to connect and, in some cases, shun romance.

Shayla’s heroines are strong, independent but vulnerable women that have a yearning to understand the hero.

There’s always a case of instant attraction between the protagonists. Neither can stop thinking about the other. Though, the heroes usually take the more aggressive route in their efforts to resolve their obsession here.

Like most paranormal romance series, the Doomsday Brethren novels emphasize the importance of mating. Every magical male in Shayla Black’s world yearns to find their soul mate.

And once they discover that ‘one’, the two of them undertake a bonding process that knits them together so thoroughly that a breaking of that bond can leave one or both of them overcome with illness and despair.

Sex plays a central role in the stories that unfold, and not just because the physical act is a source of energy for Shayla Black’s witches and wizards.

+The Author

Shayla Black is an American Author that has dominated the New York Times and USA Today Bestseller lists on a number of occasions. With dozens of novels under her belt, Shayla has imputed some of her success as an author to the fact that she was raised an only child.

Because she spent so much time by herself, Shayla couldn’t stop daydreaming. That was how she kept busy. By the time she got to college, Shayla was an avid reader. She began to dream about a future in publishing. And after a few years spent in the corporate arena, she finally achieved that dream.

+Tempt Me with Darkness

Marrok is an immortal knight that served under King Arthur. And because he spurned the witch Morganna, Marrok has been in anguish for eons, cursed to suffer for what Morganna perceived as his shortcomings. When Marrok sees Olivia Gray, he realizes that his centuries of torment might finally be at an end.

Olivia couldn’t get the brooding Marrok out of her mind. As far as she knew, she was just a normal girl. Yet she could tell that her connection to him was almost mystical. Olivia’s life changes when she learns that she is actually a descendant of Morganna le Fay and she might hold the key to breaking Marrok’s curse.

+Seduce Me in Shadow

Caden MacTavish is an ex-marine with supernatural origins. A long time ago, Caden chose to shun his magical heritage. His resolve is tested when his brother, a Doomsday Brethren Warrior, loses his mate and falls ill as a result.

To secure his future, Caden sets his sights on Sydney Blair, a resourceful reporter with a lot of insight into the magical community. Caden needs to identify Sydney’s source of information. That is the only way he can save his brother.

Sydney, on her part, has no idea what she just walked into. She has no idea that the diary on her bedside has the power to destroy the world.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Doomsday Brethren

Leave a Reply